We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acta BCN 40

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Ranked #202 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is down a funky little alley which we loved as it meant we had plenty of cool bars right on our doorstep.

The staff were friendly and helpful, although I wasn't impressed that when we arrIved, months after we'd booked, they still weren't able to say if our request for a late check-out was possible.

The rooms were clean but small. The beds are on wheels which meant they kept moving, which was fairly irritating. The brown bed covers do nothing to help the room look nice; a change in colour would go a long way!

The bathroom was a decent size - more towels would be good - and came equipped with complimentary shampoo and conditioner, and also had a hairdryer.

There is free wi-fi, and wheelchair access also. Overall we were happy with the hotel and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyboo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you to share with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Hotel acta BCN 40.

As you mentioned, we are strategically located, right in the centre of the city where all the shops, restaurants and bars are. The hotel is well-connected with the mean main transport, lets you go to the center and to the most emblematic touristic sites of the city easily.

In reference to your request, we are really sorry if we didn’t have your request at time.
Referring to the room, we are greatly apologize if the room size and the bed doesn't pleased you. However, the rooms are in keeping with the rules for 2 stars hotels in town.

Once again, we would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users. We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Acta Bcn40
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    361
    114
    23
    26
See reviews for
101
367
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A nice 2 star hotel with pretty much all you need for a 2-3 night stay. Price was good at 75 euro a night, breakfast at 7 euro was worth the money. the coffee was fine just go for 2 shots of espresso and add milk taste. The location is good 5 mins from the ramblas and a metro station. Noise not a problem as we stayed on the 6th floor, maybe more problematic lower down. There are 3 great bars within 20 meters of the reception, one the oldest in Barcelona. All in all an enjoyable stay and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpiperpickedapec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel Acta Bcn40 for your last stay in Barcelona.
We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise
We are strategically located, right in the centre of the city where all the shops, restaurants and bars are. Also, you can take many of public transport stations near to the hotel for going to the other remote touristic sites.
We would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users and we expect see you again in the next visit to the city.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Bcn40, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. For what we wanted it was just ok. Very basic, small hard bed. The shower/tub had leaks everywhere so after a bath we had to use the hand towels to dry the floor.
It was ok for the price and location, but it was uncomfortable. Clean, small even for Europe, large leaky bathroom, good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona, and for sharing your experience. We regret any inconvenience that the bathroom maintenance may have caused you. We will check this matter specifically.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Bcn40
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was there with my family on 2 rooms. Mine got street view that was awesome when I saw it.. but when getting late the noise was terrible.. I could not have any rest in all nights I was there.

In the other hand, breakfast was cheap about 6.00 euros + tax and was great. Rooms were new, clean.. not really big but will worth it. Price is average for location and rooms.

Staff was friendly and helpfull.

TIP !!! If get this hotel ask for a non-street view.

Room Tip: If get this hotel ask for a non-street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we want to thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
We regret to hear that you could not rest in all nights. All our rooms are soundproof and if you could contact us with the room number you stayed in, we would be able to check the windows in case there is some maintenance problem.
If you ever come back to Barcelona, please don't hesitate to contact us again and give us the chance to offer you any particular request.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Bcn40
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Acta BCN 40 is located glose to Barcelonas lively center in a not-so-nice street.
The Hotel itself is clean and welcoming but the buffet is sparse and the tea/coffee/juice is from an automat and therefore nor worth to mention.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Thyge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city. We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments; your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. we will consider your comments about the teas, coffees and juices for upcoming improvements. We hope to have you back with us soon.

King Regards,
Hotel Acta Bcn40, Barcelona
Bcn40@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room I stayed was small but it was clean and had everything you need. The location was great. 5 min walk to Rambla!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rezzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.


Kind regards,
Hotel Acta BCN 40, Barcelona
40@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

It all started when we arrived to the hotel, the elevator didn't work and our room was on 5th floor.
Later, we had to sit in the dark for I don't know how much time because there was electric problem in the hotel and there was no backup system.
Our room (number 505) was facing to the main street which is full of noise at no matter what time it is. From some strange reason the hotels alley is VERY dodgy (found out it's a scary immigrants neighborhood) and favorite on drunk homeless people making noise all night, and the trek of garbage is visiting the area at 2 AM each night. The hotels reception itself is keeping entry doors locked during the night hours... I believe they know why.
I could not close the window to stop the noise because it was hot in the room and the air-conditioning in the hotel didn't work despite what they present at their website.
According to the website, the hotel suppose to be air conditioned (I checked before booking), and that could be a good solution to close the window and turn on the air conditioner unless the fact that I discovered when arrived, the hotel doesn't operate the cooling system at spring.
when I asked to move to another room which is less noisy or to turn on the cooling system, the hotel couldn't approve any of this.
I couldn't get sleep at all for 3 nights untill I was moved to another room (303) which was less noisy.
On the second day after moving to the new room, there were noisy fixing works at the room next to us (breaking glass noises , etc) for couple of hours, and yes - the walls are very thin.
Also, The "double bed" is actually two single beds set together on wheels. the beds keep moving across the room nonstop without any option to settle them together with every light body movement.
All this is not understanble and not acceptable as there were lots of cheaper hotels I could book and as I picked that hotel, which was much more expensive hotel I thought I would have at least 2* level hostage but was very wrong.
The "adventures" I've been through during my stay at the hotel completely ruined my vacation as I couldn't get any sleep.
Customer service of the hotel is bad as well as they don't care about complains at all.
The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that our room was perfectly clean during all our stay.

Room Tip: if you book there anyway and plan to get some sleep, don't agree to accept the room facing to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpongaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta BCN 40, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the following travelers in tripadvisor and for taking a few minutes posting it. We are glad you liked the perfectly clean room you had, also we really apologize about the elevator, unluckily we had a small problem on the ground of reception by a water leak and for that reason we have prioritized the safety of our clients and we had to disable the elevator for an hour, once solved everything returned to normal operation, we always listen to the clients complains, in this case we assigned a twin double room as customers were two men did not specify whether you wanted a Double bed with 1 bed or twin beds. This type of bed has wheels which do not move easily due to a security system. Anyway the maintenance person will check it out.

We greatly apologize for that noise, but the hotel is in the middle of the city, full of bars, restaurants and yes sometimes it can be noisy. We realize it must have been quite a bother. We will make sure to assign rooms on the opposite side of the hotel.

Even when the neighborhood is safe, the hotel door close during the night for our security clients, this is a common practice in the hotels downtown.

Your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day.

Kind regards,
Acta BCN 40 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Acta Mimic
Hotel Acta Mimic
#218 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#207 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#211 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#61 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#373 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#225 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta BCN 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta BCN 40

Property: Hotel Acta BCN 40
Address: Joaquin Costa, 40, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acta BCN 40 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acta BCN40 is a 2 star hotel, located in the emblematic Gothic quarter, 1 minute walk from Plaza de la Universidad and within walking distance from Plaza Catalunya, offering easy access to many of the tourist attractions of the city.It has 42 rooms decorated in a modern and functional style as the other hotels Acta. Equipped with bathroom, flat screen television, individual climate control and free safe.Our customers will enjoy the breakfast room and Internet WIFI access throughout the hotel. In addition the Acta BCN40 is pet friendly. Animals with no weight limit, 5 € per day per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Acta BCN 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Bcn 40 Barcelona
Acta Bcn 40 Hotel
Hotel Acta BCN 40 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing