We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for solo female traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ranked #95 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I stayed here for four nights on a solo trip through Europe and it was probably one of the best European hotels I've encountered in the past 10 years. I travel frequently (on my own dime - not on an expense account) so in the US I stay at Motel 6 and Days Inn level places; in Europe I pay more to be in a safe area and avoid the hostels. Hotel Gran Via was perfect for many reasons: quiet, inexpensive (I paid less than 90/night USD including taxes which did not include the breakfast charge), very clean, upscale and convenient to public transportation and shopping. The room had a small refrigerator stocked with mineral and still waters (at no charge) which allowed me to shop at local markets and keep food cold in my room so I wasn't paying to eat out every meal. The staff was friendly and courteous and the neighborhood felt safe, even late at night. The hotel is situated next to a convention center so it definately had a business hotel feel. The Aerobus from the airport drops off and picks up less than one block from the hotel and the metro, city buses and the two Barcelona hop on/hop off tour buses stop about 1 block away. I found the hotel breakfast to be ample compared to what is offered at hotels in other European cities, the offerings include hot eggs, breakfast meats, fruit, cheeses, breads, juices and champagne. If you book the breakfasts when you check in you are charged less than if you pay later or day-by-day. I did not have my laptop with me and thought the internet/computer use fee was a little high; however, there are several local internet shops within a few blocks of the hotel that offer access for about half the price.

If you are used to staying at Fairmounts, Grand Hyatts or 5 star hotels Ayre Gran Via may not impress you as much; however I thought it was great and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a wonderful stay, I highly recommend it and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWSurfGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in Barcelona for two nights before getting on a cruise. Wonderful city, very glad that I got to see as much as I did! We stayed at the Ayre Hotel - Gran Via. We took the airport bus right to the hotel, 2ne stop on the bus, it is an easy and inexpensive way to go! Very nice hotel, staff was helpful, overlooked the city, and perfect location to get anywhere! The rooms were large, beds comfortable, ansolutely no complaints! The Magic Fountain was just behind the hotel, a must see! We used public transportation, and the Hop On Hop Off bus for everything! HOHO was well worth the price to see as much as possible, in a short time! Must Sees are Parc Guell, Sagrada Família , and Las Ramblas! The architecture in the city is just amazing! Check out the McDonalds in Passeig de Gràcia. They had table service, wonderful cappuccino and amazing desserts! Nothing like our McDonalds! I would like to go back and explore more of the city!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Great location, nr Metro and bus lines. Easy to/frm ariport. Staff a bit lost when they get busy, service could be better at front desk. Although some were OK, a few were a bit obnoxious. Management take note !
Breakfast was ok, but the restaurant a la carte can be quite good surprisingly, often overlooked in hotel but selection sadly wasnt great. Room Aircondioning was inadequate and rooms a bit warm, Complained but nothing much done.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Ayre hotel is very well located right by the Plaza Englesia. The Metro, airport bus, La Fontena Magica are all almost right at the doorstep. The service is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable and roomy. Bathrooms are big and have a huge shower! Free waterbottles in the fridge. Our teenagers were also very much impressed with their junior suite for 3 with large flat screen TV, slippers and bathrobes, tub in addition to the big shower, extra toilettaries, and lots of space. Great view from our rooms at the 8th floor. Did not get the Wi-fi in room to work, though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S70Kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Big shower and good bed.
Well located.
The breakfast is poor, the restaurant service is terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkhamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The Ayre Gran Via is placed 3 minutes walk from Plaza Espanya, which is really well placed for the bus to/from airport. Furthermore the underground L3 line takes you to the Rambla in 10 minutes.
We stayed 4 nights in room 624 to the courtyard - very quiet and nice room in a modern style. Large bathroom. Good firm beds and pillows and carpets if you need. The rooms have individual aircon - which means you can turn it of, if you think it makes too much noise or the draft is too heavy.
The staff are all very nice. Reception is highly professional and speaks good english compared to spanish standards. We chose a quiet moment and they made our internet-check in with seat reservation and print out of the boarding cards without any problems. (Business center costs 4 Euro 1/2 hour). At arrival they gave us - witout asking - a very fine free map of Barcelona and a whats-on pamplet.
The only complaint is the breakfast - it is expensive, but was included in our package. Most south-europeans and americans would think it is fine - at a nice motel level and with more fruit and pastry - but to a north-european you thinks pastry and a lot of sugar-stuff is not good in the morning - the quality of cereals (only sugar flakes and choco-) and bread (the soft type frozen bake off) is extremely low considering the high quality of bread in Spain.
But you can just walk a little down the Gran Via and find a bakery with good quality bread and bring it along or you can go to the supermarket and buy some better ceareals.
Totally we think it was a very nice stay at the Ayre Gran Via - and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniortraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

It was an awesome experience close to heart of the city. Metro, bus and walking.. either way we were too close to attractions. Hotel was very clean, it had open buffet with delicious breakfast. Staff knew English (Which is rare in Barcelona) and they were really trying to help. Overall, I LOVED the hotel.

Stayed: May 2010
Thank MerveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
#93 of 515 in Barcelona
1,296 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 515 in Barcelona
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#158 of 515 in Barcelona
554 reviews
Eixample
Ayre Hotel Caspe
Ayre Hotel Caspe
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
1,213 reviews
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
#330 of 515 in Barcelona
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $93 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ayre Hoteles, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing