We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel, excellently placed for Fira de Barcelona convention centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ranked #115 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel, excellently placed for Fira de Barcelona convention centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be excellent value, with attentive service from staff. My room was quietly located and immaculate in cleanliness. Plenty of information was present in the room with details of local attractions.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a very good variety, even offering Cava as a drinks choice!
For those interested in working out there was no gym or swimming pool, but this did not detract from the quality otherwise. The hotel is less than 3 minutes from the Catalunya underground station and has very easy access from the airport. it is also well connected by bus routes into the city.
This is not a city centre hotel, so for those wanting to be able to walk to all the attractions I would look elsewhere, but for access to the Fira de Barcelona conference centre and Montjuic Park it is hard to beat. Gran Via deteriorates as one heads west from the Placa de Catalunya, so the hotel, being to the west of this roundabout, is slightly towards the less attractive end of Gran Via, which is why I only scored it as 3/5 for location (but make that 5/5 if you are at a convention at the Fira).
In summary an excellent hotel for convention goers and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuicegirlSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    674
    148
    24
    17
See reviews for
214
652
88
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

İf it wasNt rain,like cats &dogs ,ıt would be a great accomadation.There were two people in the restaurant who coudn't reach dinning inside people because of rain so we had to wait so long.That was ext condition.Other things were incredibly ....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yagizmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This is a good hotel in a really fantastic location, right along the Gran Via (main street) with the Plaza de Espana right nearby (with good metro/bus access). The rooms were simple but clean. They have a couple of cheap internet workstations with a working printer (a minor miracle). This hotel is all about location, you are near a number of great attractions all within walking distance. They also have free wifi internet throughout the hotel which was a nice change. I would stay here again... if only for the fantastic location!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Modern clean hotel with good quality room and service. Excellen location close to metro
and within walking distance of good bars and restaurants. You will be fine here

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsTraveller1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Perfect location! Near tourist attraction: Montjuic Castle only 500 m.
Close to Bus station and underground station.
Room is nice and modern furniture. Very recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen_yulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

I booked this hotel online as a surprise weekend break for my Husband's 40th Birthday. Based on the reviews from other travellers it more than met with our expectations.
I emailed the Hotel in advance to request a high floor, non-smoking room and recieved a prompt reply to say they would do their best.

Our journey to the hotel wasn't the best (3 hours delay from BMI Baby and a taxi driver who ripped us off), so we were glad to arrive at the hotel in one piece, if not later than expected. We had been allocated a room on the 8th floor, however upon entering the room, we found it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. We were so tired though we went to sleep and thanks to the wonderful air conditioning, by morning the smell had disappeared.
The room was well eqiupped - we especially loved the electric blind, total blackout! The bathroom facilities were also good, though as others have mentioned the shower is slow to drain so watch out for flooding.
Breakfast was included in our booking - again it was sufficient but not worth 12euros per person if you have to pay for it separately.
We had to check out at noon, and were not flying home until late evening. This was not a problem as the reception staff kept our luggage locked away until we collected it later in the day. We found the reception staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel's location seems to divide reviewers on this site - we found it ideally placed. Plaza d'Espanya is literally at the other end of the block, a couple of minutes walk away and from there you can continue up the hill to the Magic Fountains and the Montjiuc region. There is a metro station and several bus stops around Plaza d'Espana and you can also catch the open top bus from there too. We did this on our last day and it was well worth the 21 euros per person. The buses run 3 routes; red, blue & green, we managed the red and blue which cover all the main sights in the city. The beauty of the buses is that you can hop on and off all day to see the sights you want, rather than a general tour where you may have to spend time somewhere that really doesn't interest you.
We had no problems with pickpockets, but we were extra vigilant and took care when walking in busy places, and especially down Las Ramblas in the evenings!

All in all we had a great time. The only downside was the weekend was not long enough! We are planning to come again in the near future and would more than likely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The stay at this hotel was a combination of business and pleasure. The location was just right for what we wanted - not too far from the airport & pretty easy to get into the centre of Barcelona. Room was a decent size, as was the bathroom. A fridge in the room with a couple of free bottles of water was very welcome. Only had breakfast once - but there was platny of choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#213 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
#293 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Property: Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ayre Hoteles, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing