We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, chic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ranked #111 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chiavenna, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location, chic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Ayre Hotel Gran Via is a contemporary 4 stars hotel with great interiors and nice young staff. The location was great to visit Bacelona, since it is just 2 mins from Plaça de Espanya, where you can get almost all the metro lines. Our room was not too big but really nice and the bed was so comfortable! We enjoyed the breakfast just once, it cost extra but it's an absolutely rich buffet! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    662
    147
    24
    16
See reviews for
207
645
87
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Convenient location for airport bus to Barcelona, first stop with a 5min walk to hotel, bus stop is right after the hotel, so walk back a block. Quick and efficient check in, English spoken. Rooms modern design, clean and comfortable. Room service quick and the best Club sandwich,even with a fried egg on top! Walking distance to center of Barcelona, leisure walk 45 min. Public transport at doorstep, metro and buses. If taking a cruise, taxi ride is €20 and 10 min away. I recommend this hotel if looking to save $ and you don't mind Not being in the center of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms in a modern-looking hotel with nice bathrooms and a giant shower. The hotel isn't exactly located in the center of Barcelona, but it's on 2 main subway lines (which are 4 stops from the center) so it's not difficult to get around. Furthermore, because it is a little removed, they have underground parking at a reasonable (by Barcelona standards) price of 17 euros per night. Staff were very friendly and helped us with any questions we had (and their restaurant recommendations corresponded with high TripAdvisor rankings, so it seemed unlikely that it was just collaboration).

There were a few negatives that kept this from being a perfect score: you are provided a free water bottle per person in the mini-bar with check-in, but it's never replaced. We stayed for 5 days and only getting one small water bottle was a little absurd; it would actually reward you for NOT staying a long time, which is counter-intuitive. During our stay the elevators had some problems consistently working. Our room opened into an enclosed atrium, and while the lack of a view isn't really a problem, not being able to open your window to get fresh air in was sometimes stifling (although the air conditioning worked just fine). And the breakfast (as most hotel breakfasts are) was too expensive at 15 euros (or 12 euros if you order it from the front desk the night before). Lastly, the internet was abysmally slow, because they give you free Wifi, but you have the option to pay for a better connection (which they're obviously trying to encourage). All of these were pretty much minor inconveniences and overall, for the low price we paid to stay here, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very happy with my stay here. Although Gran Via is a walk away from La Rambla and the built up areas of Barcelona, it is right beside the central train station and it is just so easy to get around everywhere. The rooms are furnished very nicely, with big bathrooms and an extra large shower. This was just so good. We stayed here 6 nights and I did enjoy the hotel.

A few gripes would have been that the bed was a little bit hard (though I have had worse) and the air-conditioning was constantly turned off, both as we checked into the room and every day on our return. This was a bit annoying in the middle of Barcelona's summer as it is quite normal for me to leave a second swipe card in the room slot so the air-con is constantly on. The rooms were hot and musty without this and it was not a welcoming return. There is also no pool at this hotel.

Despite this, the service was mostly very good and as I was an English speaker, this was not a problem with all the staff there. Overall I enjoyed my stay, especially as I had scored a terrific rate to stay here. I would stay again at this place, as I would in Barcelona as it is an amazing place to be, especially mid-summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joefra129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a second time as I am a travel agent and hosted a wine cruise departing out of Barcelona. It is on a corner,a 1 block walk to a plaza with all the public transportation to get you anywhere you need to go in this big and beautiful city. The rooms are very modern and sleek. There is plenty of space in the room and has a very large slate shower. Electric blinds that come down for the night. We added the breakfast for everyone which is a wonderful buffet with a large variety of foods to choose from including meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, etc. Something for everyone. The lobby is comfortable too especially since we were in a group, a great place to hang out or even go into their little bar off the lobby for glass of wine or cocktail and people watch until you need to leave. This hotel is only about 10-15 minutes from the cruise pier. I would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamItToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I made the mistake of booking this hotel, the room was too cold and tiny. I would have appreciated one double bed.

I can hear every little noise coming from outside and bed was not comfortable to sleep on.

I will NEVER stay here again. The only thing we liked was the location.

As an overal this is a disappointing experience. There is a lot more offer in Barcelona and it is a beautiful place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyaan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marioayre, Mario Rosado. Web Manager at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear costumer:
First of all we want to apoligize for that bad experience that you had on our hotel.
Your opinion is a gift for us.
On one hand, regarding the double bed, we cannot assure all the requests. In the other hand, all the rooms are soundproof, but maybe the window of the room where you stayed had a small closing problem, that we will proceed to fix.
Looking forward that the next stay with us will be better.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location of the Ayre Gran Via is brilliant, just a 10 minute stroll from the central train station where you can get a train to direct from the airport (Euro3.60) or almost directly on the roundabout where the airport bus drops you off.

Not only are you at the end of the grand entrance to the National Museum/Olympic park, there is a new shopping mall across the road with some great eateries and a supermarket. The Metro is just 2 mins walk from the hotel although I walked almost everywhere.

The staff are friendly and the hotel has a modern vibe, although the room I stayed in looked a little tired and could do with a lick of paint. Having said that, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was rather smart looking.

The hotel was pricey as I was travelling on my own but it would work out great value for a couple and is definitely worth considering. Having been to Barcelona, I would consider some cheaper options as most of the Hotels look decent and as public transport is cheap and easy, travelling a little further for a higher standard cheaper hotel wouldn't bother me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank VKMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#65 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#216 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Hotel
BCN Montjuic Hotel
#314 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
#119 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Property: Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing