We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic...”
Review of Hotel Fornos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fornos
Ranked #426 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Bottom line- PROS: Location and Price is Reasonable
CONS: Noise level, Staff
NEUTRAL OPINION: Leaving key with front desk every time you leave

We stayed at this hotel after our group of five decided they couldn't spend another night in the hostel we originally booked. Since it was a last minute expense we were trying to keep the price as reasonable as possible.

Three of us initially ventured to the hotel to make the booking. We were greeted by a comically crotchety front desk concierge. After much back and forth we booked a room with 3 twin beds for 120€. In our minds a fairly decent set up and price for the one night we needed it for.

When we came back with the rest of our group, (two additional people) we were basically reprimanded on how it was against policy to have more than three people in the room. We quickly agreed to simply get another room in order to resolve the situation. At which point the Crotchety Concierge presented us with room options she completely neglected to mention when we first booked. We would have never even booked the 3 twins if she told us about the other more appropriate options for our group.

The night we stayed was the night of the World Cup Final. The windows in the room that open to the street do nothing to damper the street noise. You hear everything; car horns, conversations, everything! This brings me to my next complaint. After coming in relatively early (2am) considering how things go in Barcelona, we were reprimanded AGAIN by yet another Crotchety Concierge about watching our noise level as we entered. Was he SERIOUS? Has he not been in the rooms to hear the hundreds of Germany fans screaming/singing literally until the sun comes out? That was part of the reason we went out, because there was no point in staying in our hotel room with all of the pandemonium going on outside.

My final complaint is no late check-out. Our train back to Madrid didn't leave until 5 pm. Hotel check out was noon, so we were at least trying to extend it until 2 pm. Neither of the Crotchety Concierges could let us know if the hotel actually provided a late check-out and referred me to the manager. The next morning I did meet with the manager who promptly gave me a “No” on the late check-out. To her credit she did allow us to store our luggage in the lobby and pick it up later on our way to the train.

Long story short, the location is nice. The hotel is right in Plaça Reial, which is a great reference point when you’re a bit drunk and trying to give directions to a taxi. The hotel is surrounded by clubs restaurants and markets. The hotel is about a 20 min walk to the beach. The rooms were basic but clean. It is noisy…the World Cup Celebration may have been an anomaly but there is always plenty of people and noise in the plaza, so I imagine it’s always an issue. The other thing that struck everybody as odd was the fact that you would have to leave you key at the front desk whenever you leave. Never quite understood the logic, but it ended up working out because no one in our group ever needed to rely on anyone to get back in the room.

It wasn't the worse experience and for the price, I might even give it another try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shootin4-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We wanted to stay the week end in Barcelona, and found this hotel via the web. As it was situated on the Ramblas it suited us perfectly .The price was reasonable, the rooms were clean and had all the facillities needed and the booking and reception was direct and easy. Very helpful staff. All in all a pleasant experience. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a break in Barcelona, as it is so conveniently positioned for all the sighttseeing attractions.

Room Tip: If people watching is your thing ask for 2nd floor rooms, see the crowds on the Ramblas just below y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

For the price the location can't be beaten. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room though basic was clean and spacious. The only downside was because of it's very central location, it was a little noisy at night. Breakfast was ok, fresh croissants, fruit, cereal, fruit juice.....as much as you want.

Good value, ideally located!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sarajane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Located at the Rambla very close to Plaza Real. If you are looking for location, this is a good hotel. But this is all. The reception people are not helpful at all, the room is small and the noise of the street can destroy your night. And no breakfast!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is very centrical but the area and the square next to it are unsafe! Someone entrered in the hotel room and stole my staff (camera & computer)!!! Maybe they entered from the window or it was someone from inside the hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eirini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel Fornos biggest advantage is the l-o-c-a-t-i-o-n. Situtated 10 m. from the Rambla and 10 m. from the clasy and cool Plaza Real I wouldn't swith Fornos for another hotel. The interior of the room is a bit old, looks like from the 80's or so but who cares as long as you are in the middle of the action. The receptionists are cool, kind and fun. Breakfast a bit dull but still maximum points for Fornos from me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What are positive features?
1. Location in the very center of the city, you can easily reach port and Guell Palace by walking. There are many caffes around and small shops. Great flamenco show is given at the first floor in the same building (the entrance is from the side of the Roal Square)
2. Nice personnel.
3. Room cleaning is daily
What are negative features?
1. Poor sound isolation
2. Some parts of room are broken. For example, the door into bathroom didn't close, so we have to use chair to press it.
3. The price could be more low (compare with the prices for the hotels of the same type).

As for breakfast, it is very simple: croissants, coffee, butter, jogurt, omlet, etc.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for those who likes sleeping in the night. During my staying there in summer in front of my windows the stage was installed and loud music was played till 1 a.m.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#334 of 515 in Barcelona
377 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
2,496 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#237 of 515 in Barcelona
1,616 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#213 of 515 in Barcelona
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fornos

Address: La Rambla 44, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $105 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fornos 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fornos Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Fornos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing