We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“100% brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ranked #113 of 744 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“100% brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was incredibly impressed with this hostel, it was clean, homely and a perfect size for people travelling alone. The location couldn't be more ideal (less than 100m from Plaza de Catlaunya). I stayed in a few hostels in the same week in Barcelona central but none compared to this. Staff are friendly and help with anything including their own favourite places to go in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm usually very critical but this hostel exceeded all expectations. Very friendly staff, perfect location near Las Ramblas and the bus/metro, very clean, extremely safe, and great accommodations. I would recommend it to anyone. We had an unusual request to house 8 students in the same room and they were very helpful in providing what we asked for. Overall a fantastic experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0ung_W0rld_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had a great time staying at Alternative Creative youth hostel in Barcelona Spain. Location is superb. There is 24 hours free WiFi, free lockers and sheets, staff were helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this youth hostel and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms were great and mattresses were new and comfortable! We stayed in the 8 beds dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Getting to ACYH Hostel was very easy when coming from the airport, we just hopped on the Aerobus and were dropped off very close by. The location feels very safe, no matter what time of day or night. Staff waited up late to check us in after our late flight, but we were placed in an odd room. Doors did not have locks on them, and we were staying in one of two rooms that have opaque glass walls, which didn't keep out a lot of noise or light. The hostel makes an effort to keep it quiet at night, but in the mornings they aren't as strict. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, beds were comfortable (some of the best I've slept in), and staff were very friendly and helpful. In order to use wifi, you have to connect through facebook and do things such as like their facebook page or check-in there, which was pretty annoying. (I would immediately undo them on my page immediately afterwards). If it weren't for the glass rooms and wifi, I would stay there again. No breakfast included, and you may want to bring a towel because there aren't any in the restrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyt757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at the ACYH Hostel two nights during Easter 2014. Located in a grand residential building, it's less than 3 minutes from Plaça de Catalunya (central shopping plaza and focal point for all modes of transport). The staff is extremely helpful, they're always ready to assist you. Lots and lots of information brochures & discount vouchers available (make use of them). Clean dorms and toilets and overall a very cosy ambiance. Bathrooms are a little small, but I bet hostelers can deal with that. Had a comfortable stay, definitely recommended for the relaxed type.
خیلی خوشوقتم الوند آقا. امیدوارم یک روز دوباره شما را دیدن.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirvick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with 7 friends in November 2013. From pre-arrival to departure from this hostel, everything went smoothly. The staffs are great, friendly and very helpful on giving good recommendations for dinner and visits around BCN.

The hostel is clean, quiet (not a party hostel) and about 2-3 minutes walking to Plaza Catalunya and major department store - el corte ingles.

The only downside - the shower water will automatically turn off every 10-15 seconds (for water conservation?), so you have to think of way to continuously press the water knob so the water would not stop (especially when you shampoo-ing your hair).

Not to forget - it's extremely safe location with plenty of good restaurant and supermarket around the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hostel is the kind I like... pretty small and appears to just be a converted apartment unit. The location was great, right near Placa de Catalunya. The girl who checked me in was so awesome! She asked me what I wanted to do during my stay in Barcelona, and based on that, she showed me an itinerary that I might be interested in on a map. Also gave me advice on where to get some yummy tapas! I will definitely return when I go back to Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#79 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Eixample
Backpacker's House Bcn
Backpacker's House Bcn
#369 of 744 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
El Raval
Pars Tailor's Hostel
Pars Tailor's Hostel
#64 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#61 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#23 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Property: Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring One of the Green Bells on the Bottom Row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 744 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Hostel is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing