We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, staff, price :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ranked #111 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I guess I was lucky enough to catch a last-minute deal so I only payed 30 euros for two night in the start of July :) Even without that the hostel is amazing and quite cozy. The common room is a great place to meet fellow travelers and the staff is realllllly helpful about anything you ask :) The location is the best part (even if you arriving late in the night like I did the bus will take to the street where the hostel is located :) ) - it's just a minute away from the center of the city - Placa Catalunya and Rambla street :)

Room Tip: I think all three rooms were the same (8 beds in each of them).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zengaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hostel has a very good location! It's not too big, but it has all the things you need. The staff is extremely helpful, and they really took their time to guide me! The highlights of my week were the times when me and few other residents cooked a dinner together with one of the staff members and ate sharing thoughts about life!
Facilities were clean and everything was held in order, good value of the money! Breakfast is not included though, but there is a place nearby where you can have such a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maksim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was easily the nicest staff we came across in all the hostels we stayed in during our time in Europe. They were extremely helpful and knowledgable and had great suggestions. They also went out of their way to ship me my iPod I left. The bathrooms, bedrooms, and common room were also very clean and accessible. Great price too! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesDM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Its located in the center of barcelona, right next to la Rambla and many other restaurants, Tapas bars and cafes, so with only a few steps you can jump into the life of this beautiful city. But that doesn't means that this Hostel is place for party! It waa all the time realy quiet and stuffs ensures that it stays like that.
The Stuff People are realy friendly and as I arrived they showes me everthing on a map, drawed some specific routs, time, Metro/ Bus infos on it. What a wonderful piece of art, I still have it. Byside that they regularly ask I
somebody would like to come on a visit to different point of interessting, means they realy want to show you there beatiful city. On top of all, you can get some new really good friends.

Off course all the rooms are realy clean, means once a day staff take care about bath, showers, floors,etc.
WiFi is available and there are also enought sockets for all devices like smartphones, notebooks, etc.
There is also a small kitchen which you can use, of course you cant cook for a football team, but for 2-3 people its enough. Could be bigger, but for that price you can't say anything.
I would take it again if I should ever come again to Barcelona

Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have to say that when I come back to Barcelona, I will definitely be staying here again! Everyone was so welcoming and gave suggestions on where to go and what to do. Even things to watch out for. The place was clean, lockers and internet available. The metro was a close walk if you had to go somewhere further but most attractions were in walking distance which was really nice. I highly recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigI2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my second stay at the Alternative Creative Youth Home and it was even better than the first time :)
As a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe there. The staff is very caring, the place is cleaned daily and the atmosphere is very relaxed. They play good music and above all the hostel is right in the center of Barcelona so you can walk to most tourist attractions. Las Ramblas are just two minutes away. Thumps up for this great youth hostel. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A friend recommend me this place and It was not just good was a great place, quiet, safe, clean, free internet, great location besides plaza catalunya. Friendly people and good prices. We are already planning this summer to visit Barcelona again thanks to this great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#77 of 732 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#83 of 732 in Barcelona
231 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#37 of 732 in Barcelona
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Eixample
Serennia Exclusive Rooms
Serennia Exclusive Rooms
#91 of 308 in Barcelona
49 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#46 of 732 in Barcelona
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring One of the Green Bells on the Bottom Row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $30 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Hostel is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing