We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nisia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What this B&B lacks in five-star design and decoration it certainly makes up for in homely charm, friendliness and location.

The B&B is on the main road between Diagonal and Fontana metro stations, but despite this you don't hear any noise. The three double rooms are located towards the back of the B&B, and there is a shared kitchen and living room. Rooms are somewhat basic but certainly provide everything you need, and the price is hard to beat. Breakfast is good.

Because the B&B is small you get lots of privacy, and Carina was very accommodating about our desire to sleep in in the mornings and have breakfast a bit later!

Alex and Carina are really helpful hosts and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Barcelona the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but the one at the back on the left doesn't have very thick curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    97
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
247
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thank you to the TA reviewers who helped me choose this B&B. It is perfect for a stay in Barcelona, and Alex and Carina are such friendly and helpful hosts. Nisia is on a busy avenue, but the rooms are double-glazed, and certainly my room which was at the back, was very quiet. There were plenty of clothes hangers and a low shelf which you could store luggage under, and a higher shelf for lighter luggage.
Breakfast is cereal, kiwi and yoghurt, with meats, cheese and bread/toast and jam/marmalade with tea/coffee. I found it plenty, and didn't need to eat till late afternoon. It was nice to meet and sit with the other guests each morning, to share our experiences of the city.
There is a fridge and use of microwave and kettle anytime. The lounge is large and comfortable with a TV, DVD player and plenty of travel guides.
It is a 20 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya, but only 5 -10 minutes from either Fontana or Diagonal metro stops; although Fontana is slightly farther, it is downhill from there, if you have a lot of luggage. Nisia is next door to the tapas bar, and directly opposite DIR. It does have a very narrow entrance and stairs, but Carina and Alex helped me up and down with my luggage.
Nisia is on the same road as La Pedrera and Casa Battlo, which are also both near metro stops. La Sagrada is probably a 20 minute walk, but also at a metro.
So you have all the benefits of staying in a great city, without being in the busy centre, and it's like being in a home away from home. I hope to come back to Barcelona and stay at Nisia
again. Thank you Alex and Carina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186273Liverbird49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Look no further! This is a great location in a fabulous city. The rooms were simple, clean, and quiet, and the hosts were warm and friendly. It is a short walk to the main tourist attractions, so if you are looking at a map and thinking it might be a bit far, it is not at all!

The only "problem" we had was that the curtains weren't that dark and it got light in the room fairly early. If you are a light sleeper, bring your eyemask.

All in all, great value! We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Traveling alone for my first trip to Europe I was pleased to read the reviews of Nisia Bed and Breakfast on tripadvisor and booked part of my stay with Alex and Carina. Nisia looks exactly like the pictures show, large community living room with dining area and kitchen, bedroom with ensuite bath. The location was excellent, many local shops nearby, close to 2 stops on the green metro line and a tourist information office (TI).
After some miscommunication with my son, I followed the directions given for public transportation from the airport to Nisia and found it no problem (I do not speak Spanish) and did not have a phone. Carina graciously let me leave my bag there (I had arrived early) while I walked to my son's apartment. The local area (off the main street) is quiet, quaint, with neighborhood plazas and all around there was superb architecture to stroll and see. There are many small shops and restaurants nearby. I always felt very safe in the Gracia area and in Barcelona and spent my days sightseeing by myself while my son was in class. Alex and Carina had some very useful books and offered the use of their computer to research or to print admission tickets. The free WIFI worked great!
The breakfast serve each morning was very filling and I often did not even think about food until mid afternoon. I enjoyed visiting with Alex and Carina in the mornings and with the other guests (a couple from France, we overlapped 1 day, and a family from England, sharing the apartment for 3 days). It was fun exchanging tourist information each day on what we had visited or done and how we got there. Alex and Carina always had suggestions and advice which was helpful.
The bedrooms are located in the back of the flat so they are not right on the street (much quieter). It is on the second floor with no elevator, if that is an issue for someone (the stairs are steep) - not a problem for me. This has got to be one of the best values in Barcelona and I am afraid it will not be kept secret for too long with all the awesome reviews it gets! I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Nisia and would not hesitate to stay there again if I am ever lucky enough to come back to Barcelona. Thank you Alex and Carina.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermomAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I’m living in Barcelona, in Gracia neighborhood, my parents came to visit me and they stayed in Nisia B&B, it is a lovely and friendly place and the situation is perfect to move around the center of the city and to live the atmosphere of Gracia, very different to the crowed center ..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a place where you can feel at home when travelling. The hosts, Alex and Carina, were extremely friendly and welcoming from the first moment we set foot in Nisia. They also had good tips on what to do and see in Barcelona. In addition to this there were travel guide books and maps available in the B&B as well.

The room was small but it was nice and clean with an en suite bathroom. The simple but sufficient breakfast was served every morning from 8.30 to 9.30 (working days) and it carried us well until lunchtime.

We didn't use the facilities of the common room very much since the weather was superb and we were out exploring and enjoying the city, but there are lots of options in the common room as well. There are books and games, a tv and a stereo. Also the free wifi is excellent.

The location is good along the metro L3 (green line), about halfway between the stops Fontana and Diagonal. Also the buses 22, 24 and 28 run right next to the building, but since the street is a one-way street, we only used the buses when travelling from the city center back to the hotel. The stops for the buses running in the other direction are located one block off of the hotel building, so when going to the city, we usually walked to the Diagonal metro station (5 minutes).

There are numerous little shops (grocery and other) in the vicinity. Also ATMs can be found effortlessly and there is a post office as well. The neighbourhood (Gracia) is very lively with numerous little plazas and nice bars and restaurants that are mainly filled with locals, so you can taste the real Barcelona very easily.

Travelled with girlfriend in April 2013, stayed for five nights. Excellent spring / summer weather during the whole stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onion_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is a bedroom with ensuite, and use of the kitchen to make drinks and the living room to play games or watch DVDs is all included. The breakfast is plentiful, and the couple who run the apartments have travelled extensively, and are very friendly and helpful, and booked us tickets for places using their laptop.
Its about a mile from the city centre and close to Parc Gruel. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large window, facing out the back of the block.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#129 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Eixample
Ally's Guest House
Ally's Guest House
#88 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Balkonis
Hostal Balkonis
#40 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Eixample
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
#103 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Nisia Bed & Breakfast
Address: C / Gran de Gracia No 44 1o, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisia Bed & Breakfast is located in the neighborhood of Gracia, 15 minutes walking distance from Plaza Catalunya. Gracia is one of the most lovely and traditional areas of the city. We have three nice double bedrooms with private bathroom with shower and air conditioning. We can help you get to know the real Barcelona and we'll do everything possible to give you a fabulous memory of your stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nisia Hotel Barcelona
Nisia Bed And Breakfast
Nisia Bed & Breakfast Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing