We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and stylish in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nisia Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nisia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Small and stylish in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Nisia BnB. The walk from Placa de Cataluyna after alighting from the airport bus, along the cosmopolitan Passeig de Gracia to the quieter Carrer Gran de Gracia (No. 44) on a warm summer’s day was pleasant after being cooped up in Airport Lounges and an Airbus from Australia for nearly 30 hours. We took our time and stretched it to 30mins, with water stops.

We subsequently did parts of this walk to the Metro Stations, Diagonal and Fontana several times, but we were glad we didn’t take the metro the first morning and gained some orientation in this attractive, vibrant city.

I don’t think I can add much to others descriptions of the Nisia and our hosts, but for the record….

Some Impressions.

Nice area with take-aways and cafes and restaurants near by. A feeling that people actually live in this neighbourhood although it is not too far from the tourist attractions….. It is worth a walk around the back streets here! Have a Paella for lunch or a dinner at a local restaurant.

Good public transport, including metro and bus.

Very narrow, steep dark entrance stairway from street. Awkward with heavy luggage.

Pleasant welcoming modern communal area with kitchen and dining room with small balcony window over Gran de Gracia.

Small but clean and well lit bedroom with futon mattress. Very firm but we found it comfortable.

Reasonable size, clean ensuite bathroom.

Generally quiet and we slept well although the air con did not work one night so I opened our window. Apparently a fault that could have been easily addressed at a switch.
.
Typical Spanish BnB breakfast… Simple but as good as we had at some more expensive hotels.

Relaxed and friendly hosts.

Lots of chatting with other guests, exchanging info at breakfast. This is what makes BnBs enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    95
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
242
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I agree with all reviewers here that the hosts Alex and Carina are wonderful and very helpful. The property is located very close to the metro in a nice location and the breakfast is decent with cereal, fruit, pastries, ham & cheese, bread and coffee. The rooms are very clean although very small.

We reached at the property at around 10 pm and Alex let us in. He gave us a tour of the B&B and also explained us about Barcelona touristic sites and how to remain safe within the city. However, we decided to move from the B&B in the morning.

We spent a very sleepless night - the beds and pillows are very uncomfortable and the air conditioning was virtually non-existent (the a/c is set at 24C which we found to be quite hot for us,esp since it was 21C outside). We also agree with a previous reviewer that the towels are extremely scratchy. Also, there is only a limited amount of water supply for showers which we didn't know about before we went there (we didn't actually take a shower).

We met Carina in the morning and she was very understanding about us leaving abruptly since we were uncomfortable and nothing could really be done about it. All in all its mostly a hostel level accommodation which might be okay for the price, but we did get a 4* hotel on Las Ramblas for not significantly higher than the rates at Nisia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasorcerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caseal, Propietario at Nisia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are very sorry that you had such a bad night here, but in our defense we have to say that we are not a 4-star hotel, and we don’t believe that we have misrepresented ourselves on the Website, neither regarding the services that we offer nor the price.
With regards to the air conditioning, we only follow the EU recommendations (24ªC in summer, 22ªC in winter), however if you had told to us, it wouldn’t have been a problem to lower the temperature, and actually you had the temperature control in your room.
Finally, there is not a restriction on water, we only say that each room has its own hot water with 50 liters of capacity, enough for two people, and in fact until this moment no one has complained that the quantity was not sufficient.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your days in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I echo all of the reviews that talk about the fantastic location. Nisia is very close walking distance to the subway, which will take you anywhere in the city, and Placa de Cataluyna is only about 15 minutes away by foot. As others have said, the bed and breakfast is not fancy, but it was very comfortable and clean, and it served my needs perfectly for my five days in Barcelona. Alex and Carrina are charming hosts, and I really appreciated that on two days when I had to leave early to take tours outside of the city that they had a place set for me at the table in the morning along with access to all of the food that I needed. They could not have been more accommodating. The Gracia neighborhood is extremely charming with many outdoor places to eat within the several nearby plazas. I would caution potential travelers about two things. First, there is a bit of street noise, especially on the weekends. It didn't keep me from sleeping, but I did use ear plugs a couple of times. Second, as others have commented, the establishment is two floors above the street with no elevator access. The staircase is very narrow. It didn't cause any problems for me, but it certainly could be an issue for anyone with limited mobility. I encourage anyone to check out check Nisia who is looking for comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeantownProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a wonderful spot in Gracia. Alex and Carina are excellent hosts. We found the room comfortable and the location excellent: close to 2 metro stops, multiple restaurants, a comfortable neighborhood to call home.

Room Tip: Our room was the first on on the hallway and we found it to be quite warm, we needed to open the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheWorld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nisia is in a great situation. Handy for the "diagonal " metro station for going north-south and east-west. Also for some really nice bars and restaurants. The rooms, although small, are very clean and the breakfast/communal area is ideal. Carina and Alex could not be more helpful. Just be careful going up and down the access stairs - 4 flights - very narrow. If we return to Barcelona we will certainly go back to Nisia

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Nisia last week, and enjoyed very much. The room is clean and comfortable, includes a double bed and shower area. The best thing is the living area, where you share breakfast with the other guests, and relax at evening. Karina and Alex are wonderfull hosts, and are happy to assist in everything, from directions, to bookings. We will certainly return there, giveen the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyclare
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our hosts carina and alex made us very welcome and were friendly and helpful.
Our room and the shared kitchen/lounge were kept very clean. We were able to relax and to use everything as we wish (look at the internet on our pc, watch TV, listen to a CD, drink wine, etc) which was good.
It is very well situated for the gaudi buildings/shops/restaurants/transport links
The stairway access (there is no lift) to the rooms is 'interesting' (dark/narrow/damaged tiles) and could be a problem for some people.
Our bedroom, shower and toilet were compact but enough for us.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallyclareLeonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B&B Quadrat d'Or
B&B Quadrat d'Or
#30 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#127 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Casa Mathilda
Casa Mathilda
#51 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Balkonis
Hostal Balkonis
#37 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#8 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Nisia Bed & Breakfast
Address: C / Gran de Gracia No 44 1o, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisia Bed & Breakfast is located in the neighborhood of Gracia, 15 minutes walking distance from Plaza Catalunya. Gracia is one of the most lovely and traditional areas of the city. We have three nice double bedrooms with private bathroom with shower and air conditioning. We can help you get to know the real Barcelona and we'll do everything possible to give you a fabulous memory of your stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nisia Hotel Barcelona
Nisia Bed And Breakfast
Nisia Bed & Breakfast Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing