We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean reasonably priced hotel but service a little hit and miss”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #213 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located just off the Las Ramblas and a couple of minutes walk to the sea this small family run hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was small but very clean and fitted with new and modern amenities. The small television provided in the room was great; didn't watch any of it! but the usb port on the telly was great to charge my iphone and sony walkman!.

Air-con worked very well, and also had no problems with the shower and running hot water.

The reception can be slow however when the owners(?) were working, but there was a rotation of staff throughout our stay at the hotel with the other reception staff being very friendly and helpful.

Free wi-fi in the hotel rooms and free beach towels were also available for rental.

Also the hotel is walking distance (15minutes) to the Franca Train Station which will take you to the airport. (1 interchange on the same platform)

Breakfast is worth skipping at the hotel however, and go to the Boquieria market instead.
(5-10 Mins walk)

Would stay again. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly stay this is your stop. The desk clerks were all helpful in a handful of languages and even warning for bad deals on display in their own lobby.

The location is perfect if you, like we did, love strolling through the cosy alleys of old town. A walk to the beach is no more the five to ten minutes and if Las Ramblas is your goal they are within crawling distance.

Several nice cafés and restaurants in the neighbourhood warrants a pleasant experience for the gourmet and gourmand both. We had breakfast at the nearby plaza every morning and discovered new dinner places every night.

Rooms were clean and comfortable although the cheaper variant lacked air condition. This weren't a problem for us but if you are heat sensitive it might be worth investing the extra €5 for the superior rooms. The spacious fridge allows for groceries for the economical traveler. There are bathing towels to borrow for the beach as an extra kindness to the guests. Do bring soap though as that seems to be something spanish hotels are reluctant to provide.

All in all a great stay and the one star feels like three.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Magnus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here on a budget for two nights. The rooms are small but adequate and modern with TV, en-suite and good bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great. I had a room on the street and am a light sleeper so had a couple of disruptions sleeping but would definitely recommend this hotel!! For 40 euro a night it was ideal!

Room Tip: If travelling alone. Single rooms are great. Maybe ask for a room not on the street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEA1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As stated in previous reviews this property was exactly as described. Spent 8 nights. Breakfast good value for 5 euros. Close to everything. Staff very nice.Enjoyed being close La Rambla and Placa Reial. Street was not dark, and no fear of walking to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel only for 2 nights, and it was a good cheap price with nice staff. It was a bit harder to find than we first thought as it is up a little side street. However the location is fabulous, just a few minutes walk to the Columbus monument on La Rambla. The hotel was small and basic but you get what you pay for! We had 2 major complaints: the heat and the street noise. There was no air con and it was hot the 2 days we were there, being summer. The room was uncomfortable due to the heat, and we couldn't leave the window open because of the
extreme noise on the street. There must have been a number of pubs/clubs right under us, and there was a lot of loud music and drunken yelling literally until after 6am! The beds were also uncomfortable so we didn't sleep well. But as it was only 2 nights it wasn't too much of a downer, a longer stay would've been different!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelsterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place identified as 1 star hotel but i would give it more. For little money you can get comfortable and spacious room right in center of Barcelona in 3-5 minutes of walk from Columbus monument where is the La Rambla street is starting. The steert where this hotel is located a little and quiete, no noise in night time ( for me it is important momemt after 7 sleepless nights in terrible Lloret de mar hotel's) In room you can find all the amenities: bath and tolite, climate control, comfortable beds. Everything is new and clean.
Service in hotel was very helpful and friendly with us.
I can't say i find bad sides there, 2 days what i spent in this hotel were only positive. Just no breakfast but for me is not most importants moment if i see the 1 star place no worse than 3 stars=)
So if you are looking for economy variant in center of Barcelona, this place for you=)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

a simple and pleasant hotel away from the main streets of barcelona, but just a few minutes away from them.

room was nice and clean and the breakfast (5euro extra) had a good selection of sweets and savory things.
I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restlessclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#338 of 513 in Barcelona
824 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#283 of 513 in Barcelona
1,281 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#350 of 513 in Barcelona
491 reviews
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#198 of 513 in Barcelona
385 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#395 of 513 in Barcelona
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Address: Nou de Sant Francesc 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $55 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canton 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canton is a familiar and modern hotel, with comfortable and well equipied rooms. Located in the city center, next to the famous Ramblas and the Harbour of Barcelona. You can get walking in a few minutes to the most significative tourist atractions of the city, such as Picasso Museum, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the church of Santa Maria del Mar, the Barceloneta quarter and the beach. Well conected to public transport, with direct metro line to the train station that goes to the airport. Also within walking distance to the Cruise Port Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Canton Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing