We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient, perfect for a brief stay in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chic & Basic Tallers
Ranked #234 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very convenient, perfect for a brief stay in Barcelona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I have spent 2 nights at the hotel with my mum and young sister...and it was perfect! You cannot get a room more central than that and more convenient - the hotel is literally 2 minutes from the Ramblas! The rooms are basic but okay, I have to say though that we had the smallest bathroom I have even see - literally 50cmx50cm! but this was the only downside really because at this price the room was good and the huge breakfast too!
I would definately stay here if I go back to Barcelona, it is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    98
    54
    25
    21
See reviews for
18
156
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Of corse, not for a romantic or sexy weekend, but if you want to see Barcelona, or if you want to enjoy yourself in the ramblas, it's a perfect place. You can stop a while and have a drink or a sandwich (or a fruit) free at any hour of the day. The position it's very near to Placa Cataluna, but the rooms are quite, cause are in the middle of the building. As someone else says here, the bathroom is in the room, divided from the sleeping zone just by a glass, but, of course, is not a place to stay a long time, and for few days I think is tolerable. The receptionist was very kind. Internet always available free.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We went to Barcelona for shopping purposes only, and we're not spending all day in our room. We needed a well located place to place our belongings and shoppingbags,and to sleep -and that what it is. Located near La Rambla, we could easily walk to everything we needed.
The place is not a regular hotel, it's in an apartmentbuilding and you get your own room -and your share a fancy, clean, dining area with the others. The stay included breakfast, and the breakfast was 24/7 -'cause it meant helping yourself to a small snack, in the kitchen.
The room was small, beds could have been better -the shower and toilet is actually behind a glass door in the room, but it is clean.
I would recommend to stay here, 'cause it's so uncomplicated and relaxed. You walk in and out as you please, eat whenever you want to and the place is not crowded. The staff is present from 9 to 9, and seemed very helpful, and the rooms were cleaned every day. We also felt safe walking to the hotel -which I think is very important.
We'll be looking for the same concept other places.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisendegenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in this B&B three nights and figuered out, that it needs some imagination.
If youu see they pictures on their webside, just imagine how it could look like, after 200 guests without refurbishment. Having breakfast all toghether in the kitchen is a nice idea, as long as you have more than two bottles of juice, 10 slices of bread, 3 knives, 4 plates and 8 seats (the hostel has 15 rooms)...
I stylisch rooms loses some poshness, when you sleep with you head rights next to the toilet which is not really seperated (by the way, we had a large room)
Hip people who work at a place like this loose a lot of attraction, when they turn out to be lazy and dopey.
Other guest thoght the same, which is easy to catch since to walls are quite thin.
Dont even try to spend a romatic holiday there!
However the location is good!
Don_t

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luis7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Frankfurt
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Hello Hotel-Seekers,

found this chic hostel trough the internet. The pictures you can see at the Chic&Basic website are real! It´s very nice, clean and the stuff is helpful and speaks good english, cause my spanish is really poor ;-) The rooms are small and basic but that was what we were searching for. There is a good cheap cafe next to the hostel where you can take your second coffee or have a good last drink at night. And don´t forget to bring your Ipod with you and connet it to the stereo - otherwise there´s a good hostel-own-radio-channel with good electronic music. But why reading so much - get on your trip. Now.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SledgeCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

clean rooms, nice cosy decor, took a large room with balcony and enjoy the view. dislike the toilet and bathroom sharing one door so you cant you both at the same time! also have to be prepare for poor ventilation if you use the toilet! ha ha. Would be embarassing if you are sharing with someone. Good location, still need a 10min walk to La ramblas, 2 min to Univeritat station so not too bad, Plus point is the 24hour snack and refreshement available in the kitchen. great coffee making machine that churn out good quality coffee, earn many plus point from me. Enjoyed the fruit juice/yogurt and fruits coming back in the evening...Staff is helpful but not intrusive. feel safe in area here, near main street, saw some nice eateries surrounding this areas that opens till late nite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We started our search for a hotel with soem things in mind, it should be not too expensive but on the other hand it's supposed to be modern and fully equipped. So we found this mixture in hotel chic & basic Tallers. The rooms look (and are) very modern and stylish. The designers have well thought about the concept. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff is very devoted and helpful. So if you're searching for a modern hotel in barcelona, don't hesitate and book your room at the chic and basic hotels!

Kind regards from belgium

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#338 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#372 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#228 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#270 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Tallers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Tallers

Property: Chic & Basic Tallers
Address: Calle Tallers, 82, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chic & Basic Tallers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chic & Basic Tallers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Tallers Hotel Barcelona
Chic And Basic Tallers
Chic & Basic Tallers Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing