We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chic & Basic Tallers
Ranked #266 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    101
    55
    27
    23
See reviews for
19
160
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in a single room that was tiny. I could hardly sit down on the toilet cause my knees banged into the opposite wall. Sure it was pretty cheap but it wasn't worth it, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The staff was really nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Awful place, don't go!!!
I paid for the most expensive room hoping for confort. The bathroom was minimum, had a dirty shower curtain and towels looked all dirty. We had cockroaches and they said they came from the street. Breakfast is really basic.
I believe there are better places in Barcelona for the same rate ir less!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicawonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbtallers, Director de Recepción at Chic & Basic Tallers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to answer and clarify some of your remarks in order to make sure we provide the best quality of service and accommodation in our hostal.

In kind response to your comments, our rooms have different sizes: medium (9m2), large (11m2) and extra-large (13m2) with a balcony. We have installed in all our rooms private showers in order to offer better service and therefore the guest does not need to share. Only two rooms in our property have shower curtains due to the lay out and these curtains have been replaced by new ones and we will keep track of it.

Regarding the towels, we provide now new towels from an extrernal company in order to guarantee better quality and service and we have been receiving very positive comments.

Breakfast is based on a self-service concept and the area is open 24 hours for our guests to make the most out of this service along reading a magazine or listening to our music playlists. We provide all necessary products including cheese, ham, turkey, bread, jam, butter, croissants, juices, cereals, biscuits, yogurts, milk, honey, hot drinks like tea and chocolate and coffee (with an espresso coffee machine).

Regarding insects, we have a control-insect service that they review the building periodically and if there is a case we make sure to solve it straight away.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we see you again in the near future.

Chic&Basic Hostal Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is not very chic and its very basic. The bathroom is so small I could not extend my arms in any direction. The location is handy to all sights but very noisy until all hours if you get a room on the streetside. Only positive were the friendly and helpful staff. It is overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Go somewhere wlse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The plus :
- Clean enough for me (im very fussy to the cleanliness of a place)
- Location, many small cafes/restaurants nearby. Its also 5mins walk to Las Ramblas shopping
area, 8mins walk from/to airport bus stop, 20mins walk to harbour area.
- 24hours self service 'breakfast'. You can have breakfast anytime you like. We really love this
idea because we're not 'an early bird' who always can meet 8-10am breakfast time. All food
(ham, cheese. jam, butter,etc) and drinks (water, juice) are all provided in the fridge. There are
toast makers, sandwich toaster, electric kettle, koffie machines, bread, tea, koffie, sugar,
cookies in the kitchen. You can make everything by yourself.
- 24hours one computer with internet access.
- After checking out, we forgot that we must check in online for our next flight. So we walked
back to the BB. The BB staff was kind enough to let us borrow the internet and let us print our
boarding pass there.

The minus :
- The bathroom is very very small, it reminds me of bathroom in a boat. Because of this we cut
short our stay from 9 nights to 4 nights. We moved to other BB.
- We stayed in XL room which is actually still a small room. For the price we paid / night, its
considered expensive because we found other BB with clean & spacey room just by adding a
few more Euros.
- Its quite noisy in the evening if you stayed in a room nearby street.

Room Tip: Choose XL room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asa343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The only plus is the address, next to the university. All the rest is to discard. The badly lit street entrance, with broken steps and graffiti, is a forewarning. Cramped, noisy room, soviet decor, shower room so small it's hard to stand in it. Cracked, rusty paint. Worst of all is the value - abysmal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Chic & Basic Lemon
Chic & Basic Lemon
#323 of 513 in Barcelona
390 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 513 in Barcelona
1,065 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#366 of 513 in Barcelona
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#166 of 513 in Barcelona
663 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
751 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Tallers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Tallers

Property: Chic & Basic Tallers
Address: Calle Tallers, 82, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chic & Basic Tallers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Chic & Basic Tallers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Tallers Hotel Barcelona
Chic And Basic Tallers
Chic & Basic Tallers Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing