We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barcelona Beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcino 147

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcino 147
Ranked #2 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barcelona Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wow!

This past June I had the opportunity to stay in beautiful Barcelona for several days.

The timing was such that our visit fell during the French rail strike and because of the many stranded tourists in Barcelona, we found our reservations at the Barcino 147 B & B upgraded.
While initially concerned that we would not be 'getting what we had paid for', our worries were immediately replaced by a sense of gratitude and good fortune.

The charming owner of Barcino 147, Ferran Font, had welcomed us into his home, or should I say palace... There we had been upgraded to an exquisite suite with private bath and sitting room. The apartment was architecturally a true example of Catalan Modernisme at it's finest, from the spectacular tiled floors to the floor to ceiling french doors which opened onto a square across the way.

Barcino 147 and his home are just blocks away from La Boqueria Market, Las Rambla and the Gothic Quarter). And Ferran could not have been more helpful, with dinner suggestions, arranging transport for us when necessary, and drawing maps for us to local sites.
I think however my favorite part about our stay was sharing conversation, while sitting in the kitchen each morning, drinking delicious coffee and eating some of Ferran's 'secret ingredient' breakfast cereal... I need that recipe!

Overall a delightful stay, I simply can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    70
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
115
235
69
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location for walking EVERYWHERE or jumping on public transport. A super clean and well maintained property with an elevator (rooms are on floors 5 or 6). One final shout out to the Barcino 147: we arrived in the early AM from a US flight; our room was unoccupied from the night before and the management had NO hesitation at letting us check-in early. And, it was so nice to nap before exploring the city on foot.

Room Tip: If you'd like a en suite room reserve early since many of the rooms share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staying at Barcino 147 made me feel like I lived in Barcelona - and if you're a frequent traveler, you'll understand the value of this. It's very difficult to find accommodation that hints at decadence and yet is unobtrusive, where the staff are helpful but not intrusive, and where you feel the excitement as a visitor but relaxed enough that it almost feels like home - a very well decorated one. The decor is warm and inviting, the rooms spacious and clean, and the staff very friendly and welcoming.

And location! location! location! you have several options in terms of metro stations and everything from the major shopping strip of Passeig de Gracia, to the central Plaza de Catalunya, the famous area of Las Ramblas, to Gaudi's amazing Casa Batllo & La Pedrera - are all in walking distance. I bought a 3-day transport ticket on arrival and barely used it as I didn't have to. As a female solo traveler, I had also picked Barcino based on other reviews of the area it was in. I didn't want to stay too close to Las Ramblas given the theft that area seems to attract, but wanted to be close to everything. Here, I felt safe walking home late at night alone. So if this is what you're looking for, it's a perfect spot.

And if you're a lazy traveler who has done little research prior to arrival - ever helpful Ferran and his team will give you a very good map, with plenty of suggestions on what to do, where to go and what to eat. You'll be seen in the scene, and you'll fall in love with Barcelona. I promise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the Gran Via, a fantastic view, but can be a little noisy - but it is a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelbugVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This b&b gives you a lot of spanish character, more than you could get from a hotel, and for a relatively cheaper price! I love how the place is decorated and if you stay in one of the bigger rooms, you will absolutely love the comfort and ease of staying there! I love the facade of the building, the old style elevator, the one i see in movies that is made of wrought iron, it's so dreamy! The whole apartment is always clean! Ferran, the owner is always very helpful, and he wants your stay in Barcelona a very memorable one, so you could ask him for suggestions on places to see and things to do!

This is also a quick walk to the placa catalunya, 3mins, where you have your metro stations and where the famous streets converge. You have La Rambla and Passeig de Gracia, it is also just in front of Via Laeitania, the road that leads you to the Catedral, and The Barri Gotic, which is my favorite place in the city! There is a nice tiny park in front of the building so when you step out of the door, everything looks absolutely pleasant!

This building where i stayed at has a guinness pub and an irish pub at the ground floor, a shabu shabu restaurant, a pharmacy, a convenient store, and almost everything you could possibly need! In other words, the location is PERFECT!

I highly recommend this place and will keep on coming back whenever i'm in Barcelona!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank BlessYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B really made our trip that much more special in Barcelona. Really central, but nice and quite and only a few minutes walk from one of the main shopping strips in Barcelona.

The staff were friendly and knowledgable and gave us helpful tips for places to visit (including good local restaurants without 1000s of tourists).

We stayed in the Goyte (spelling??) the green room anyway, it was comfy and cosy and had a great Spanish feel to it.

I would recommend this place to anyone and would happily stay here again if I return to Barcelona again.
5 Stars from me

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fionacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 7 nites at Barcino B&B while exploring the beautiful and exciting city of Barcelona. The accommodations and staff were great and added to our experience. The owner, Ferran, went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and helped us by suggesting restaurants and sites to see. Would definitely recommend this delightful B&B as a place to stay in Barcelona.
Joan VZ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The B&B completed my experience in Barcelona. The location of the Barcino is amazing, being right in the middle of the city. From the B&B it is easy to walk to nice restaurants and tapas bars, as well as big tourist attractions like the Cathedral in the Gothic quarter and the market La Boqueria. There is also a street only two blocks away nicknamed the Gaudi Trial because of the three amazing buildings Gaudi constructed on it. The rooms are beautiful, and kept clean. The staff and the owner are very kind and helpful. The food served for breakfast was basic yet good. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcino 147? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcino 147

Property: Barcino 147
Address: Gran Via de las Corts Catalanas, Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcino 147 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcino 147 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcino 147 Hotel Barcelona
Barcino 147 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing