We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Ranked #101 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wonderful location, spacious room, very nice staff (Maria helped us over and over again!). We went to Paris for a few days before we checked in and they offered to keep our excess luggage. Lovely ambiance, good breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online sales department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all comments and truly believe that that they help us to improve our services.

That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay will be pleasant and enjoyable.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon to our establishment.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    360
    104
    33
    21
See reviews for
326
328
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scone, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location just off La Ramblas, the hotel was modern but the high tech tag isn't that accurate, the wi fi in the Ron we stayed in was unuseable at best. We reported the issue but got told that no one else had ever had a problem and it must be our phones, they did send a guy up to have a look and he had every excuse you could think of and when we asked if he had any service on his phone he pulled it out of his pocket and said no, that was pretty much the end of conversation. The beds were easily the worst we've slept on in all of our travels across Europe, America and the Asia Pacific region. That being said, most of the staff were very helpful apart from a couple. I hate giving bad reviews but there's a few issues need addressing before we'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffynKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I am sitting a the computer at 1am on my last night at the Petit Palace Hotel and occasionally spraying aftershave around the room to mask the smell of damp carpets. We booked this hotel through the GALA HOTELS web site and what we reserved and paid for was a 5 star hotel, what we are actually staying in is equivalent to a 2 star Blackpool guest house. The impressive art and fancy reception led us into a false sense of security despite the two weeks worth of dust on top of the baby grand piano. Our room on the 4th floor (15) was a big disappointment, first and foremost he room STINKS !! Yes, It sinks like a wet cloth which has been left festering for weeks. This is probably due to the fact that both the shower and he hand basin flood the floor which then seeps out onto the stained, old rotting carpet. In an attempt to hide my fat white body from the neighbors i drew the curtains revealing a large hole. The Sofa beneath the window is covered in stains and he chipboard laminated furniture is old, damaged and houses 4 scruffy coat hangers. The Heating in the room sounds like there is an old car has been left with its engine running. The ceiling is painted a fetching shade of black which gives the illusion that the room is only 5 feet high and the walls are covered in dirty marks. There is NO loo brush in the loo, No evidence that anyone has EVER attempted to remove the mildew from around the shower and on three occasions we have had no water for up to an hour. On requesting an Iron we were given a tatty old iron with burnt residue on the underside and a plank of wood covered with some old cloth. A list was supplied as to the cost of he contents of the mini bar which was great had there been anything listed IN the mini bar. Our bedding was not changed in 4 days, No Tea, Coffee or complimentary ANYTHING in he room apart from a Shoe Horn !!! Breakfast is served in a dingy cellar while you perch on uncomfortable metal cushion less chairs and is served with cold coffee by a waitress who never spoke a word to us in 4 days. The toast machine took 6 times......yes 6 times of passing my sale bread through it to give it the slightest hint of colour ONE Salt and Pepper set for the entire restaurant. All in all a horrible experience, NOT a 5 star hotel, I personally blame he Manager who should take the time to go to each of he rooms and actually CHECK what the cleaner is doing and smell for himself what we are expected to tolerate. I have taken 24 photograph's that i will upload when I get home since the usb socket on the hotel PC does not work. If you want to slum it in Barcelona then this is he hotel for you, If you want a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel then look elsewhere this hotel is a product of clever marketing and creative web design and photography...........We will NOT return here !!

Room Tip: Try Somewhere else !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownscampello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Gerente at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations/ complaints/ suggestions/comments always with the aim of improving.
We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced as a result.

Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Where to begin. My first few hours in Barcelona were extremely difficult. The hostel I had planned on staying in was basically a frat house, and I don't roll that way... So at 11pm I was running around from one booked hotel to another trying to find a safe, clean place to sleep. Petit Palace Museum Hotel to the rescue. One of two hotels with room for the weekend, they were so kind in understanding how exhausted and stressed I was (I had been traveling for 13 hours from Santorini and been awake for about 36 [Santorini was just too much fun for sleep]). They even allowed me to have a room for a night before worrying about accepting payment.

The room's were SO comfortable and clean. I had free internet access, a little balcony over a quiet street. Fantastic location for walking around the city center and easy access to public transportation. I'd give the included breakfast a 4 out of 5. Beds and pillows were amazing. One of the best showers I'd ever had.

Really, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I was traveling through Europe and Northern Africa for 8 weeks between home stays, hostels, family, and B&Bs, and hotels, and this place one definitely my favorite. Maybe that's because it was a little luxurious break from "roughing it", but I LOVED it. I will definitely consider it one my return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Gerente at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
To our esteemed guest,
It was such a pleasure reading your comment. Without doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Second stay at this hotel. A great hotel in a very convenient location 5 minutes walk from catalunya square. The staff were very pleasant and helpful directing us to shops or transport. Thank you Alex for helping us book tickets for the sagrada famillia. The rooms are clean and toiletries topped up daily. Breakfast was more than adequate having a selection of hot and cold foods. The bar is closed on Sunday and Monday but staff directed us to a bar nearby.

Room Tip: We had rooms 104 201 and 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviajane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Gerente at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
To our esteemed guest,
It was such a pleasure reading your comment. Without doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

VALUE FOR MONEY

Last summer my family of five members went on a 7-day short vacation to some countries in Europe. Amongst the places we visited was Barcelona in Spain where we stayed for 2 nights in Petit Palace Museum Hotel .

When we arrived, the check-in staff told us that due to their error by overbooking the hotel and thus not having a vacant room for us, they informed us that they had arranged a sister hotel of theirs about 3km away which was closer to the city. Transport was arranged by the hotel to the other hotel which was Petit Palace Museum Hotel. Although the new hotel that we arrived in was much more exclusive and a 4-star we did not have to pay any difference in costing.

Here , the check-in staff was efficient in checking us in fast and also giving us added information about the local attractions, opening times and the means of transportation to and from the sights. The hotel had free wifi and was in a very convenient location especially for the train service which we depended on. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was good with fluent English speaking staff to our assistance when we needed it. They even had a variety of breakfast menus to cater to different people from different regions .


Overall I would recommend this hotel as it’s value for money .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurpreet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Gerente at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech Hotels. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and services.
I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Facilities in room were fine for a biz trip - and laptop provided for use too, so could have saved myself the job of carrying mine with me [had I known].

Didn't do breakfast there so can't comment on that, but facilities in the lobby etc were not much in evidence; you wouldn't bother arranging to meet people there.

Location reasonably central, to the north-west of Plaça de Catalunya which was equally handy for work and play with good bars and restaurants in the area . No view, but wasn't in the room much anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-N-Alibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Angli
#328 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Eixample
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Museum Hotel

Property: Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Address: C/ Diputacion 250, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#163 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#205 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Museum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Museum Barcelona Hotel is a hotel near the Plaza Cataluña square in Barcelona, devised especially for business, couples and family holidays, and specially designed for our guests to enjoy Barcelona as much as possible. Our hotel is located in the Garriga Nogués House, which is a beautiful modernist building characterised by its eclecticism and by the services if offers, such as free iPad & wifi, gifts for children, free bikes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Museum Barcelona
Hotel Petit Palace Museum
Petit Palace Museum Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing