We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Ranked #104 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent customer care”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Before I start, I should say that this review is written mostly regarding the staff at this hotel and also based upon my parents comments. My parents recently stayed at the Petit Palace Museum Hotel (21.01 - 26.01.2013). The day they arrived was one of their birthdays and as I was unable to go with them I contacted the hotel and asked if they could arrange for a bottle of bubbly and flowers to be placed in the room when they arrived. I communicated with them via e-mail and I was very impressed with their ability to communicate clearly with me and efficiently. I was able to arrange and pay for chocolates and champagne to be in the room via e-mail and they supplied me with the website for a local florist which i used to order a bouquet which was put in the room prior to their arrival. The hotel staff e-mailed me the morning of their arrival to say that everything i had ordered was in the room.

My parents were very pleased with this, and surprised. When they came home, they commented on how helpful the hotel staff were throughout the week. As my parents are vegetarian they inquired where they could go to eat and the hotel staff got them the name and address of a vegetarian restaurant and gave them a copy of the menu in English prior to making a booking there. They were also very helpful in pointing out the local tourist attractions and making suggestions etc of other things they could see and do throughout the week of their stay.

They said that the hotel was very modern and their room was clean and in good decorative condition. They liked the sofa's which were in the shape of lips as well! There is no restaurant at the hotel but as they were right on top of the main road in Barcelona, this was not a problem for them.

Overall, they would recommend this, and so would i even though i haven't stayed there!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeJ853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read a comment as wonderful as yours and your parents enjoyed an amazing stay at the hotel and Barcelona. The customer service is one of the most important things for us, as we strive every day to make our guests feel at home. Thanks for recommending us. We hope your parents come back soon at any of our hotels, and of course to welcoming to you, remembering that besides Barcelona, we are in Madrid, Seville, Malaga, Valencia, Salamanca, Bilbao and Getxo.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    379
    109
    34
    23
See reviews for
347
349
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed with our two children ages 12 and 8 , and chose this hotel for the family room , kids were excited about the bunk beds with televisions. Hotel looked stylish on the web. The lobby was great, check in easy and after dumping the bags at 10.45 we were straight out into Barca and only five minutes to the Ramblas and 2 minutes to Passeig de Gracia. Unfortunately room not brilliant, bunk beds a little exposed and the ladder was uncomfortable to climb in bare feet and got in the way. The room was tight for space and I injured myself more than once manoeuvring around the bed. Very dark room which seems to be a feature of Barcelona hotel rooms, and the window opened out to views of a very dirty internal well with views of a very dirty flat and air conditioning. Did have wifi and a laptop if a little ifficult to get going after getting codes from desk.
Finally don't bother with 10 euro breakfast, go across the road to Ramblas 31 for excellent pastries and savouries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodychester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your feedback. We have noted all your comments to establish improvements in our facilities and services. We welcome your suggestions for breakfast. We hope you give us another chance to show these improvements. I guarantee you that we will strive to ensure that your stay feel like at home.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here with family and friends this past December and I'd say it was just okay. Design is beautiful and modern but could definitely use improvements.
1. Couch in lobby was all stained and dirty (really dirty). Lighting is beautiful, sleek/modern, but quite dim so you don't see right away. Makes you wonder how clean (or dirty) the rest of hotel is.
2. Room and bathroom are spacious, modern and nice-looking. Again, lighting was dim (other lights not working -- clock and fridge not working). In room, bunk bed is a good idea but person assigned to upper bunk needs to be really careful. No guard rail, even an adult can roll over, and if you do, you'll hit the slanted ladder and your head will hit corner of bedside table.
3. Bathroom towel hanger: careful with hanging in lower rung, a little pressure and it comes off! Beautiful modern bathroom though. Btw, design has swinging glass entry door with smoky design, so no lock. About an inch of door frame is clear so you can be seen from outside -- just saying.
4. A little wary with safety: anyone can walk in lobby and as we were checking in, total of 8 (2 families), 2 men were lingering -- need to watch luggage even at lobby. Friend had someone knock at their door claiming to be from next room, asking they open door so they can talk about supposed noise from previous night. Family has 2 older kids and they are far from loud. We feel this could have been anyone walking up from the street.
5. One gentleman at front desk was very helpful and nice but others not too much; another lady was also very helpful (but just talked to her towards our last day) and would go ahead and check/call restaurant if open w/o asking her to do this. Another lady will give answers but felt like it was a burden; didn't bother to make sure her info was correct so we ended up arriving for Christmas day mass 1/2 an hour late.

Note: family we traveled with loved their hotel room. Theirs was extra spacious with a separate seating/dining room. Their bathroom was so positioned that you can't be seen from outside even with the swinging glass door. All their lights and fridge were working. But, of course, there was the issue of knocking asking they open their door.

Also, a bakery, Pans & Company, right next door is very convenient for quick good breakfast. Right around corner is a really fantastic tapas bar, Ciutat Contal.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a seating area as it has better lay-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for helping us to improve our facilities and services with your comments. We have taken note of all of them to remedy all as soon as possible. I should comment that we have all the security services and you can rest easy with us. We trust that our front desk staff do their best because we have never had complaints about it.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Be warned: my favourite dress was taken from our room and another of our party is missing 3 packets of expensive unopened tights. Our key card lock was checked and the only entries were ourselves and housekeeping! The hotel wouldn't take any responsibility as I hadn't kept my dress in the safe. Interesting concept as the safe was tiny and you couldn't even get a sizeable camera in it.

We all agreed the rooms were tired and smelt musty. Searching for my dress we moved the couch and found previous guests dirty underwear, food wrappers and inches of dust so that probably didn't help. The hotel also takes pets so this may contribute to the smell. We changed rooms originally as we were next door to a barking dog.

Otherwise we found the staff friendly and the location is good and we would definitely look for an alternative hotel in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank linda123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest

I would first like to thank you for your feedback. It saddens me very much that we don't met your expectations. I deeply regret the incident with your dress but this is an isolated incident because we never had problems about it. In this case, I must say that the hotel offers safe luggage at frontdesk for guests keep everything of value that doesn't fit in the safe.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our two teenage daughters. Spacious room, very good facilities. Good, modern space design inside 19rh century building.

Great location, centric but quiet. Staff friendly and very helpful.

Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona as well as provide your feedback. We are glad to read that the hotel was to your liking and keep us in mind for next stays.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would highlight the location of this hotel. It's located 5 minutes from Plaça Catalunya which is the commercial heart of Barcelona. You have everything at reach, metro stops, restaurants, theatres. The location is superb and so is the design.
You get a PC in your room with a strange Operating system, but worked perfectly to check e-mails and search for travel infos.

The shower is also great with jets coming from everywhere.

I can't rate the breakfast since we didn't use it (we thought it was pretty expensive and there are hundreds of options near the hotel).

The drawbacks were that the room had some damaged furniture which is quite unusual for a 4-star hotel. We also had to request for slippers and amenities since they were only provided for 1 guest. However, when we asked for them they brought them in inmediately.

Nice and friendly service.

Room Tip: The rooms with views on the street might be nicer than the rooms with views in the interior patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oconeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona as well as for your feedback. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations but certain details were not to your liking. We hope to meet you soon.

Wishing you a happy new year,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was located within walking distance to Las Ramblas.The hotel lobby was interesting with a grand piano and plenty of modern art to view.Room was bigger than expected.Amenities limited. We had a triple.Bathroom was quite modern.Check in was easy.
Check out was poor.There was only 1 person at desk and the process was long.There was NO express check out.Multiple people trying to check out and catch planes or get in their taxis while the people trying to check in early just continued trying to get into rooms early.The man behind the desk just kept talking and not making any attempt to speed up the process.
Would we stay again?...if the price was right yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Museum Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Your contribution helps us to improve our services. We are pleased that the hotel meet your expectations in location, design and space. We deeply regret the wait at the check-out, it is an isolated incident due to a computer problem.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
506 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,411 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Museum Hotel

Property: Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Address: C/ Diputacion 250, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#163 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#205 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Museum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Museum Barcelona Hotel is a hotel near the Plaza Cataluña square in Barcelona, devised especially for business, couples and family holidays, and specially designed for our guests to enjoy Barcelona as much as possible. Our hotel is located in the Garriga Nogués House, which is a beautiful modernist building characterised by its eclecticism and by the services if offers, such as free iPad & wifi, gifts for children, free bikes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Petit Palace Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Museum Barcelona
Hotel Petit Palace Museum
Petit Palace Museum Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing