We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 star plus hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Barcelona
Ranked #277 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in a high tech room. No hotel information supplied. Rooms small and pokey and looking tired. Carpet had a big stain and a hole. Curtain hanging off the rails. Whilst room had a promised lap top no sight of the promised dvd and CD player unless you use the laptop perhaps but then only one person can watch. Also no trouser press and exercise bike as per the company´s website. Staff friendly. Overall disappointed as part of our visit to Barcelona was to have a good quality hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JMayers2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Petit Palace Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2008

This hotel has a great location and friendly staff, but these are really the only positive comments I can give it. I stayed with my husband and two kids for two nights as a follow on to a med cruise. The hotel looked great and ultra modern in the photos but was a disappointment in reality. The children were actually scared of the hotel's creepy atmosphere and dark corridors. Our room was modern, but absolutely tiny and it backed onto a school playground/nursery. With all of our luggage and the children there was not room to swing a cat. The bathroom seemed to be bigger than the living and bedroom space . I lay down on the bottom of two bunk beds and bashed my head on some kind of hook protruding from the wall - very child friendly! When I considered the top bunk, I realised that there was no safety rail for my 12 year old - nothing to stop her from falling out in her sleep. I phoned reception and they sent up a porter who demonstrated that the ladder could be removed and turned sideways along the bed to create a makeshift safety rail. The lad seemed quite pleased with himself until I pointed out that she could now not get down to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, and that she would have to wake us all up to get down for any reason. After more phone calls and after being told that the hotel was full, and the absence of another ladder anywhere in the hotel, we were moved to a bigger room, which looked like a converted conference room with twin single beds and a pull down double which was very uncomfortable. The shower had jets, but if you put them on they soaked the floor - stylish but not practical. All in all a bad experience. This is not a family hotel at all, there is no atmosphere to the place and as my daughter says it is a good hotel for Dracula!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Invertea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Me and my partner went to Barcelona for his 30th. Absolutely loved the city and will definately go back. The hotel itself was very modern and clean, the hotel staff were ok never really had a lot to do with them other than checking in/out. They give you a book of barcelona with all the metro lines and places to go which helped us so much! The rooms were nicely decorated but the beds were two twins pushed together that were on wheels? Also mattresses very hard, free internet was nice but i didnt use it. The only english speaking channel with the TV is CNN but with so much to do i dont think that should be a major issue. Was disapointed with the location of the hotel had to walk a fair trek to get to the Ramblas and other attractions but if you like walking or prepared to use the metro then this hotel will be fine, we stayed in room 302 on the third floor at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy in the morning with traffic but i dont think you will escape this in barcelona. Rooms cleaned everyday, new towels, mini bar well stocked but very expensive but isnt it in every hotel? Overall pleased with my stay but when i go back i will definately book a hotel on or near the ramblas.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We (family of four) stayed at the Petit Palace 11 to 14 April. I agree with all the reviews here both good and bad. It is a GREAT location. It's not a four star hotel - 3 at most. The decor is interesting and funky but on closer inspection rather shoddy and done on the cheap (a bit 60 minute make over). The staff were friendly but not much in evidence. The breakfast is completely overpriced so don't bother. You do have a lap top and internet access in your room. The bathroom is wonderful and the jacuzzi bath divine after a hard days sight seeing. The shampoo and bubble bath etc were never replaced after we used it up on the first night. The room was noisy - the plumbing seems to make odd noises all night that sounded like someone throwing up and slopping water over the side of a bath at the same time (may be it was). The beds are comfy. Most of the light fittings were hanging out. There was a big stain on the carpet. That all sounds a bit negative I know but don't be put off. It is probably all worth it for the location and, if you are in Barcelona, how much time do you want to spend in your hotel? Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FamilyHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

This hotel is well-situated, easy walking distance from Placa Catalunya (where the airport Aerobus stops), and central for sightseeing.
Charming receptionist, very modern decor (mostly black).
The bedroom had a very comfortable double bed (2 single bases) and pull-down bunk beds behind a diaphanous curtain. The room was small, and one side of the bed was right up against the shower room (opaque glass) wall, but it was spotlessly clean and well designed, with plenty of storage space, a safe and a fridge.
The shower was state-of-the-art with 3 different sprays including massage jets.
In common with other reviewers, we found the room noisy because it was on the inside overlooking the central square which is a sports and play area, in constant daily use. However, all the players go home eventually, and don't start again until just before 08.00.
The only real downside to this hotel was the breakfast. They charge 15 euros, and after the first day we just gave up on it and went to BraCafe on the next corner, for the best coffee in the world. The hot buffet was cold, they ran out of fresh fruit, and the drinks machine was broken for the entire 3 days we were there. The staff just said "tomorrow" and did not offer to bring coffee from the kitchen.
The receptionist listened to our comments on day 2, but nothing had changed by day 3.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Marylynn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

The Petit Palace turned out to be a great place from which to enjoy Barcelona, located about 5mins walk from Catalunya square (and all the tourist buses) and 15min walk from Sagrada Familia.

We had read a couple of mixed reviews, mainly about the noise generated by the schools that have their play areas behind the hotel, but this didn't represent a problem to us and, if anything, it give our two kids (4 and 7) something else to enjoy from the balcony of the room.

The room itself was big enough and the massive double bed that we had gave us as much enjoyment as the kids got from their bunkbeds. If there was a DVD player we didnt find it.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

The main drawback was the breakfast, which is set in a dark basement floor and cost a ridiculous €50 a day for the family (adults €15 each, kids €10 each) we gave it a miss after day one and just went somewhere local for a quarter of the price. Cant understand why they charge kids €10 each when all they will eat is a bit of toast.

Definitely not a 5/5, but a good solid 4.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NialF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the petit palace, warning, this is not a 4 star hotel. upon arrival we were given room 306 which over looks the back of the building ( having requested a room at the front before hand) the back of the hotel over looks a school playground where roller hockey games take place late into the evening, you could not hear your self think and to top that off the room is tiny and hot beyond belief, we complained about the heat and were told to turn down the air con- how stupid do they think we are, the first thing we did was turn down the air con but it is set to winter and therefor blows warm air!! we were then told we could be moved the following morning to a cooler room this room turned out to be the conference room with a pull down bed that was very uncomfertable and only suitable if you are about 5 feet tall, the pillows are as flat as pancakes and there is nothing welcoming about the rooms.
the internet connection did not work therefor my daughter could not watch her dvd's.
the room service not is 24hrs and the mini bar in the room only had 1 bottle of water, hardley fulfils a familys needs not to dehydrate!!
all in all this was a very basic hotel, the location is good but i would not reccomend this hotel for a comfertable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank S_yorksTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,015 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#135 of 513 in Barcelona
1,633 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#41 of 513 in Barcelona
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,033 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Hotel El Avenida Palace
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Barcelona

Address: C/Roger de Lluria 21, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $109 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Barcelona Hotel is a hotel next to Paseo de Gracia in Barcelona, where families and couples can enjoy unique personalised services and the charm of one of the best areas in Barcelona. Located on Barcelona's main commercial street, this boutique hotel next to Paseo de Gracia offers you unique services. Book now and get all the facilities for your confort like free Wifi, bikes, ipads and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Bcn Barcelona
Petit Palace Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Petit Palace Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing