We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Perimeter Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #126 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Modern hotel next to college and hospital complex. Stayed for a business convention. Upscale rooms with dark decor theme, large showers, dressing area, comfortable slightly firm beds, a few design quirks here and there. Showers can run hot and cold. Restaurant food and service were good. Fitness club has reasonable workout equipment, adjacent to hotel and requires daily E14 fee, sandals and swim cap for pool and is age restricted. Elevators were unable to keep up with demand when hotel was full. Nice place to stay, very close to airport but not particularly close to city center. Metro stop is 5 minute walk but takes roughly 30 minutes to reach center destinations. Not much of anything within walking distance. Taxis always available at door. Overall I would stay here again for meetings at the hotel but elsewhere for tourist agenda.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here one night after a cruise, So we could tour Barcelona. Very nice upscale hotel with friendly helpful staff. Our stay was on a Sunday so only one of the three restaurants was open. However it was very, very good! Nice views from the room, could see the airport but was still a €25 cab ride to the terminal. Our room had a full body shower, only Spanish tv ( go figure) and Dont forget your electrical adapters. Would definitely stay their again.

Room Tip: Near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWeaver54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I would describe the hotel as a mix of excellent one minute and surprisingly floppy the next. We stayed in the "Fira Suites" part of the hotel, which is not in the main tower but in the small building nearby. The overall impression is that the hotel management is learning the art of 5-star service while trying to be thrifty on every little thing. To their credit, they definitely got some things right. The hotel features a cool ambiance with artfully implemented contemporary design and quiet lounge music playing in the background in the lobby area and in the restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious with big windows. The floors (ceramic tile everywhere including the room) are spotless. The staff are very polite and helpful. The food is fantastic! My warmest compliments to the chef. However, our "view" was of the backside structures. Our shower door didn't close tightly. The pedal on our bathroom trash can didn't work. In the corridors I noticed peeling paint. Our small kitchen had no kitchen towels or dish detergent provided. Shampoo didn't come in cute-looking plastic bottles, the way you would expect of a 5-star hotel, but instead in packets you had to rip open like those in a cheap motel. The room rate (which looked very reasonable at the moment of booking) didn't include breakfast or swimming pool or exercise facility or parking. All of that is extra (and a lot), which you don't realize until you check in. Now, the location of the property deserves special discussion. We rented a car so didn't have to use the hotel shuttle bus. But we did try to find a place to eat and to buy groceries nearby and the nearest grocery store is either a 30-minute walk or a 45-minute car ride (I'm counting the time you spend looking for a parking spot). Almost same (a bit better) goes for eating locations. Unless you love walking (which luckily we do) you're pretty much confined to the restaurants in the hotel, which serve amazing food but at a premium price. The "15 minutes from downtown" tale is simply not true unless you take the hotel bus I guess, but that means your timing can't be flexible. The center of Barcelona is a good 40-minute ride by metro (parking there is difficult and expensive). In fact the hotel is located at the terminal metro station, pretty much as far from the city center as it gets. The overall area of the hotel's location looks somewhat run-down and I would be uncomfortable walking there by myself after dark. Little things, one would say, but they add up. My overall experience was not bad due to a lot of good elements of service mentioned earlier. But it was definitely a negative surprise relative to my "5-star" - conditioned expectations.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the "Fira Suites" part of the hotel. Stay in the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evgenia480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a very nice and very modern hotel. The front desk is VERY helpful. Everyone speaks English well. The dining room is pricey but the food is good. We took the Metro (subway) everywhere and it was easy. Much cheaper than taxis!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sbartrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice place.A lot of modern facilities.Easy access to airport.I would suggest taking the plan which includes breakfast.Bus takes you to airport or downtown at different intervals.Bus driver Carmen very helpful.I would recommend to fiends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I arrived to Barcelona with my family and had a great time at this hotel. swimming pool area was 14 Euro extra which I thought it should of been within the hotel price and not extra.

Room was very nice.
View was very nice from window.
Lounge area was very good and chilled out.
Was PRICEY but what can you do these days, everything is becoming expensive!
Swimming pool, Sauna and steam room area was very nice.
Staff are helpful.
Internet connection WASN'T great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ValmirXhambazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel is off the beaten path the cost is approx. 30 euro via taxi to get into town. Use of the pool is an additional charge The staff are very courteous.
Shuttle service is very limited confirm B4 U go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#249 of 515 in Barcelona
461 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#72 of 515 in Barcelona
2,027 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#185 of 515 in Barcelona
601 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#143 of 515 in Barcelona
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Tower Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing