We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalonian modernity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Ranked #122 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Catalonian modernity”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hesperia Tower is an excellent and extremely modern hotel. The building itself is fantastic. Rooms are big, windows are enormous and the views from the city are astonishing. The black-mirrored bathroom is utterly an attraction. You can feel a little bit dizzy while facing so many mirrors in a total black space, but is difficult to deny this bathroom is unique. There is a excellent gym close outside the hotel, accessible for 14 euros per day to be payed at the reception. There's a big pool and an excellent sauna. As an advice, especially suitable for city's first time visitors: it is not the ideal place for you to stay. This hotel fits best those that have visited Barcelona several times before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    876
    249
    104
    52
See reviews for
266
1,262
88
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is situated 15-20 minutes from airport and costs 20 euros in a taxi. On arrival you are greeted by a pleasant looking reception with a very modern look. Check in was easy and efficient though you could not check in early. Getting to your room was an experience as you need to swipe your room card then select your floor before you can enter the lift. I was in room 2108 which faced the city and I was afforded very scenic views and a great view at night with all the lights. The room was modern though somewhat disorienting when first entering as you enter straight into the closet and the en-suite area surrounded by modern tiling, glass doors and mirrors. A glass door leads into the bedroom and residing area with all mod cons available except for beverage making facilities. There is a fridge stocked with drinks however they are over priced as are customary in hotels. There were twin beds with fresh linen and extra pillows if required. The TV was flat screen and modern and the room had an efficient A/C unit keeping the room at the required temp. I had a good sleep on all nights that I stayed.

The en-suite was modern with a great shower that afforded plenty of room. A nice touch was the travel sets of tooth brush with paste and shaving sets replenished daily. Also a free safe, bathroom slippers and bath robes were supplied. Wifi was free as well but kept dropping out.

Breakfast was served on the 4th floor and consisted of a variety favoured on the continent. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast and the toaster was very slow considering the volume of people using it.

I had one meal in the restaurant situated on the second floor and though the food was ok it was not inspiring. The staff were pleasant even if the service was slow to be seated, and attended to as the bistro/restaurant was not excessively busy in my opinion. from entering to eating took over 40 minutes for what was a burger and chips with a beer.

The bar was typically priced though I was disappointed that it tended to close at 1am. I don't expect a 4 star hotel bar to do so when many residents are still in attendance.

Room Tip: I was on 21st floor and enjoyed the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our company chose to stay here for VMworld Europe. The rooms are updated, modern and clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. There is a convention center at the back of the hotel but that is not where VMworld was held as it was in the main convention center for the city. The subway was about 10 minute or less walk away from hotel and there were some convenient grocery and food locations nearby the hotel about 5 minutes walk away. The hotel was about 10 minutes from the airport via cab. Overall it was a great experience and would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubears-sicem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great business hotel, great accomodation, food, exibition space. It's all top notch.
I'd definately recomend this to anyone going on business or organising an event.

I was there for a business conference and the carering, support and facilities were amongst the best I've seen in all my travels.

Now the one bad thing - OMG the elevators! I'm going to have a bit of a rant because it's quite funny.
They have 4 beautiful elavators to the rooms and restaurants, all 4 are controlled by a software system driven by a touch screen console - NO UP DOWN BUTTONS.
So you push where you want to go on the screen and it is meant to summon an elevator and then send it there - if you're lucky.
The wait is tedious and when the ting does arrive, you need to toss a coin if it goes the right way. From reception it's easy up is the only way, but if you want to go from restaurant on floor 4 to anywhere else - you just gotta hope it works, otherwise you go on a lovely scenic tour of the rest of the floors and eventually get there.
In 2 days going from floor 4 to reception on ground floor I didn't once manage to go direct - 3 times it sent me round the other floors, once up to top ffloor (25) and alll the way back down.

BRING BACK UP/DOWN BUTTONS !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a weekend got to reception they wanted a credit card I for have one so had to leave a large cash deposit which I was not happy about !! The rooms looked lovely apart from a big crack in one of the mirrors !!! It's also very expensive but the rest was nice untill we came to eat in the restaurant how awful the food was !!! Would not recommend at all !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited this hotel with my Partner as part of a 10-day stay in Barcelona. We decided to take a taxi from the airport, which was a nice short trip from the hotel, but the driver insisted we pay him a minimum fare of 25 euros. The hotel was very impressively decorated, even from the outside. The staff spoke very good English and pleasantly offered my Partner a Hugo Boss sample set (though nothing was offered to me!).

The interior is seriously impressive, a must for people who like modern design. We were given a room facing the city and quite high up. The room was spacious and we had a full length window spanning one side which gave spectacular views, especially at night. The bathroom (which you met as you entered the hotel room) was stylish and had an amazing walk-in shower.

This hotel offers a mini bus service, but if you are like me, i.e. like a lie in and dislike having to follow a timetable on holiday you will find this service not very useful. The nearest metro stop is less than 5 minutes walk away, so I would recommend taking the metro into the city centre instead- eventhough it is roughly a 20/25 minute ride (no changes to Catalunya).

My main issue with this hotel is that if you do not fancy making the journey into the city centre, you are basically stuck with very few shops (e.g. supermarkets) and even fewer local restaurants. The staff were not very helpful in suggesting local places and it can be intimidating exploring yourself, especially after dark, as the area is largely residential and not very well lit.

Finally, if the 'spa' attribute of this hotel is what is making you want to stay then I would say STOP don't be fooled. This Hotel has an attached (but external) gym which is roughly 15 euros to enter. The gym has a swimming pool but this is functional not for relaxing (e.g. you are required to wear a swimming cap) and a health sauna which is heavily used by the locals who come for the gym. It is not a relaxing spa and for the extra money once was enough- definitely a let down as I love my spa getaways!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view as the other side is a let down. Ask for higher floors (unless you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_A_Fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had a look at some reviews on here before I booked this hotel and really worried about the location. It did not affect our day whatsoever and was worthy getting such a beautiful hotel slightly out of town. Only takes 15 minutes on the tube which is very cheap. The hotel is absolutely stunning and the rooms meet these standards too. The bar in the hotel is overpriced but that would be my only negative!! Such brilliant value for money and very close to the airport. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
#216 of 512 in Barcelona
456 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,742 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#76 of 512 in Barcelona
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
2,297 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#185 of 512 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Tower

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Tower
Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Barcelona Tower hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Tower, is in Barcelona’s new business and financial district, between the airport and the city center. It’s just minutes from the fairgrounds too. As for the building itself, it’s a real city landmark, complete with a fabulous glass-roof cupola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Tower Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing