We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for the price of it, i think its great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Ranked #86 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“for the price of it, i think its great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

i have stayed in this hostel twice and also recommended it to friends who were also quite satisfied. both times i stayed were generally fine. the bedrooms i had were clean, the breakfast was really nice, the hostel was full of people and we met nice people, there were lockers in the bedroom and also a room where we could leave our suitcases.
and there are certain things that i always expect in a hostel,
a bit noisy- i shared a room with quite a few others so when they came in at 5 am drunk its hard not to be woken up,
a bit cold or too hot- in February when i stayed i only had my sleeping bag and i was too cold but then when i stayed again in April i had my sleeping bag and rented another blanket from them.
shared bathroom not always clean and full of people- this is what i expected and this is what i got at certain times of the day, when everyone was getting ready to go out for example. early in the morning though it was more relaxed and clean.
overall, great hostel, cheap, in the center of Barcelona!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawabanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    329
    149
    63
    47
See reviews for
33
49
257
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We booked a 6 bed room for the first 3 nights. The location of the hostel is great, right in the centre of all the action in Barcelona and about 3 metro stops to the beach. The room was quite small - there was an en suite shower room with a toilet and sink. The air conditioning worked well which was great as the weather in July was scorching! It was good that we were sharing a room where we all knew each other or it would have been quite invasive sharing with strangers. There were lockers in the room (we brought our own locks) and a bottom sheet and pillow case were provided. We paid 2 euros to hire a top sheet.

For the last 2 nights we booked 2 x 4 bed rooms and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were interconnected with each other and there was an en suite with separate sinks, shower and separate toilet. The views were nicer but the air conditioning didn’t work as well. The rooms were cleaned every day.

There are 2 lifts in the building, but it’s usually quicker to use the stairs! There’s a nice roof terrace where you can buy some cheap drinks (2 euros for a small sangria or small beer) and enjoy the view overlooking Barcelona.

We only made it to breakfast twice during our stay. It was quite nice, serving tea/coffee and a continental breakfast of a selection of cereal, toast, fruit and fruit juices. Make sure you get there early though – as soon as it reaches 10am everything is cleared and closed straight away!

We bought a 10 pass metro ticket to do our sightseeing. The metro is really nice and easy to use (compared to the London tubes) so would definitely recommend this rather than the sightseeing buses.

We joined in on one of the hostels bar crawl/party but we were following them for ages and the offer of cheaper drinks or a free mojito didn’t exist when we got to the first bar. We ended up just staying at this bar with some other people from the hostel instead of following the group. Bring some smart clothes as most bars/clubs require men to wear jeans/trousers and shoes.

The wireless didn’t work during our stay but everyone is given 20 mins free to use one of their computers in the common room. They were always really busy though.

The reception checked our room passes every time we entered the hostel so we felt safe that they were not letting in random people. Each floor also required a key card in the hallways to get to the rooms.

All in all the hostel is great if you are on a budget and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This place has quite a few things going for it.
1. Great location. Its near all the major sites, and a metro station, so nothings ever too far away.
2. Really social. We made some really good friends while we were here, and its got a lot of young people (under 25), so there always someone to go out with at night.
3. As far as hostels go, its fairly clean.

But then there are some major annoyances... Firstly, the wireless was never working. When we asked reception about it, they kept assuring us that it was getting fixed "today"... But we stayed there for 6 day, and it never got fixed.
There were also 5 long blackouts (one more than an hour). They always occured at night, so getting ready to go out etc became a pretty hard task.
Also, we booked an 8 bed dorm, and it was seriously cramped. It should have been a 4 bed dorm at most. But I don't think all the rooms were like that, I think we were just unlucky.

Oh and the showers are the most annoying things ever! They are timed, push-button ones, and so its impossible to have a good shower.

Would probably stay somewhere else if I ever came back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastrostoplove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Barcelona is an amazing city, and in this hostel you are right next to Gaudi's modernisme route. The hostel is in a trendy part of town, where you avoid the horror stories of pickpockets at La Ramblas and Raval. It's easy to meet people here, and nightly activities mean that you going out with new firends is easy - not necessarily cheap though. The terrace has great views, but isn't open all day. Internet is free for 30 mins, then you pay. I loved the hostel when I first stayed, but after travelling around Spain I realised that there are lots of other hostels equally as good that are cheaper. Still, this is Barcelona and I will stay there again next time I visit the city!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ77England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend getaway to Barcelona. The hostel is located next to a major train stop (only four station from the airport) and is a pleasant 20 minute walk down to the beach area.

We had a four person room. The first two nights the room was really much better than the last night. We had our own private bathroom. The last night we had to change room because a third person was joining us. This room did not have a private bathroom but rather we had to share it with another four person room and much dirtier naturally. It was also very noisy since it was facing the main street. We could not close the windows either since it was hot.

Pros:
Breakfast (basic)
Free wifi
if don't have computer, you have 20 min of internet for free using their computer
location
rather clean for a hostel
friendly staff

Cons:
Noisy at night even if room is not facing the main street
All the doors slam close even if you shut them gently
There is only one lift and it takes forever (the hostel has 6 floors)
Rather pricey for a hostel I would say

Tip:
Get a 10 ride ticket while at the airport (about 7 Euros); you can use it to get to the city center and ride it all around Barcelona. We got one and after four days still had 3 rides left. The ticket could be used with their regional trains as well as subway and buses.

Important
Watch out for the Tapas and finger foods at La Boqueria. They made my travel companions and I very sick =( Especially I suspect the fried seafood there as the culprit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paym01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

The hotel position is the best thing, I can't imagine an hotel with a better position: It is near the Passeig de Gracia metro which is the central metro of Barcelone (http://paoicirco.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/barcelona_metro_map.jpg) So we were near everything and we almost visited everything without even using the metro!
The bad thing is that we were a group of students (60 persons) so they reserved us 4 rooms with an average of 15 persons per room with just one bathroom per room!
But overall I recommend this hotel (It has a free wi-fi access :D)

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank assaad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Everything OK, The hostel was the best one i have been during my trip around europe.
Recomend it to everybody

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PedroR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#160 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#66 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#73 of 759 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Eixample
Primavera Hostel
Primavera Hostel
#63 of 759 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Centric Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Centric Hostel

Property: Equity Point Centric Hostel
Address: C/ Passeig de Gracia, 33, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 759 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point Centric Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Equity Point Centric Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Centric Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Centric Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing