We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #131 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Miramar in July 2009 with our small children. The hotel is located in Montjuic park above the city and boasts amazing 180+ degree views of the city and the Mediterranean. We stayed for 3 days prior to a cruise with our 3 small children. Our parents and some friends from London also stayed at the hotel so we were able to see several rooms.

The hotel is located just above the city and it is about a 7-10 minute walk down into the center of the city. Our 3 year old was able to walk into the city with ease, but we took a taxi back up the hill. (Tip: Taxi's in Barcelona only hold 4 people so we had to split up and take two unfortunately. It cost us about $10-15 per taxi to get back up to the hotel.) The hotel is located within a large public park with many beautiful walking trails. It is also located right next to the Fenicular (Sky tram) which you can take down to the sea.

The hotel is very neat, clean and modern. I do not think you will find a better bathroom in any hotel in Europe. We were able to get rooms that joined by a short private hallway. The original rooms we had were farily small with lovely balconies that looked over the city and the Mediterranean. Unfortunately the battery on our adjoining door ran out so we had to be moved. We were disappointed to lose our view, but the ground level rooms they gave us did not dissappoint. One had a very large deck that must have been over 700 square feet and the other room was very large- probably 700 square feet as well. All the Superior view rooms are a bit smaller than the "delux" rooms. The hotel is built into the hill and many of the rooms also come with private hot tubs.

There are two pools: one indoor and one out. They have bar and lunch service at the outdoor pool during the day. It is a large pool with lots of grass around it and nice lounge chairs and tables. The have a nice breakfast, but it is $25 Euros. They have a smaller coffee/pastries option for 10 Euros.

The staff was very friendly and English speaking. They made sure that we were taken care of and were very nice to the children. Check in time was later in the afternoon, but when they saw us arrive at 8am with 3 jet lagged kids they put us in a room as soon as one opened so the kids could sleep.

If you want to be in the hussle and bussel of the center of the city, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to be in a position to take in the sheer beauty of the area this hotel is great! We will definately stay here when we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMaMainthe858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

Very short ride between the hotel and the Airport, even closer to the pier the cruis ships have the terminals on.
We did 2 seperate stays, 2 days before the cruise and 2 days after, before returning home- the latter during the Columbus Holiday - ANOTHER STORY!.
Anyway, we had a "Superor Suite" for the start, and once we got past the "She She" accomodations as the wife called them things could not have been better.
Private balcony surounded by green hedges tall enouogh to ensure privacy. Huge bed and sitting area, larger bathroom facility with a shower bnig enough for 3 people. the closets and changing area being in the rear of the suit was a bit odd to us.
The restraunt was devine, even if their hours didnt conform to our US ideas; but room service covered anything we wanted and during our second 2 day stay, was even beter then what we had in the restraunts localy during the day. The view from the restraunt espicaly if your dinning outside is the thing you read about in romance novels.
The staff is not only profesional in their work, they are knowldegable, and helpfull beyond anything I would have expected at some of the finest hotels in the USA; even seeming to want you to be happy and know they are happy working there. Right dwon to the staff member we stumbled onto down on the lower level laundry, whiel we were stumbeling around and got sort of lost outsdie and had to re-enter through a back door.
The cost is a bit high for my taste but in the end it was more then worth it considering the second hotel that the Mirmar staff rescued us from on a Sunday afternoon.
The hotel sits on top of the Miramar mountain, with the rooms in the front overlooking the harbor. The park along the mountain side is quaint and serene - pleasant to walk in the late evening.
The spa, jacuzzi, and indoor pool were excelent, and even if a bt small from what we are normaly used to, they were more then enough for us while we were there. The outdoor pool looked like a prize but it was simply too cold for us to venture out there.
The entrance to the hotel is a bit hidden from the road and the park, but it has a quaint little court yard that was easily acesable. The 2 major tour buses in Barcelona both go right past the hotel but only the Blue line has the city divided into 3 loops with the red loop having a stop right across the street (2 mnute walk if that). The bus ticket allow for free transfers between all 3 loops, and unlimited on and off during the day, making shopping even more fun as well as providing some nice information about the city as you go round about. Having the Miramar to come back to as we came to the end of a given day was almost as good as going home. Everything down to the towels was well portion, prepared and placed to please.
We are planning a return trip for when the Family church (Gaudi) is completed, and we will most definetly stay at the Miramar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aluric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I booked the Miramar after reading many mixed reviews of other Barcelona hotels, and was not disappointed with my choice. The facility was spotless, the rooms spacious with trendy decor, the pool and spa area also pleasant and relaxing (although no 'couples' hot tub). The bed was fabulous (especially by Spain's standards; usually hard beds); I suffer from hip bursitis, so this was a very imporant issue for me. When I inadvertantly left my camera in the room upon a 6:00 am departure, they expedited in forwarding the camera by courier (COD; very affordable) to our next stop in Spain. All staff were kind, friendly and courteous. The only down side was poor allocation to restaurants, the "one down the hill" being closed, as was the one on-site, when we returned back from our day's adventure. However, happily we caught a bar/snack restaurant on the Miramar Park patio that was still open, where the food & drink was excellent and ambiance 'local'. Lastly, I suffer an allergy to perfume/cleaners, and I am happy to say that there was no perfume/chemical odour to our room. A very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I took my partner here for his birthday and honestly couldn't fault this hotel. The room was immaculate with fresh towels everyday, the bed is huge and the minibar was refreshed daily.
The food and drink was abit pricey but nothing more than you would expect. The bus turistic stop is at the front of the hotel offering a hop on hop off service, the cable car station is towards the rear of the hotel so transport wasn't an issue. (the rambles is easily within walking distance) and when all public transport has finished for the day a taxi from downtown back to the hotel was a max of 10 euro. The staff were friendly spoke good english and made us feel very welcome. I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talliehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel seems to have been a severe disappointment to some people, but my experience of staying there was really very good. It is in Montjuic, described as "the lung of Barcelona", so you can expect fresh air, space, and relative tranquility, with only the distant hum of the harbour in the background. It is cool, modern
but comfortable, and the staff were indeed young but very efficient nonetheless. Heard no guns or slamming doors. You need to be intrepid and tackle the funicular which is about a five minute walk away and that takes you down to Parallel metro station and joins you up with the very efficient metro network. It is extremely straightforward. 1.35 euros (or your debit card) in the machine at the funicular station and a single ticket takes you anywhere across Barcelona. Also you can pay on the buses rather than having to organise tickets beforehand, but there are very good deals to be had on books of tickets at the tourist kiosks. We did the Bus Turistica, which takes you on one of two routes around the city (if you want to see the bally football stadium you need the red one, otherwise the blue route is best) and as always it's a great way to get your bearings and see some of the amazing buildings.
Loved it all: beach great, sightseeing sensational, people delightful, food great. Except, I would have to say, the 'menu del dia' in the Miramar hotel which was very dreary indeed.
The a la carte food was very good, except for the sandwiches in the bar which were repellent. Saw the pools, and yes the grouting is a bit grubby in the outdoor one, but if it was 95 degrees I don't suppose I'd care a jot. It's in a very pleasant garden with sea views etc. Had an amazing egg-shaped bath in the bedroom, a huge bed, lovely crispy sheets. So if peace and quite and comfort matter, and you like a bit of fresh air, go for it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreengageHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We arrived after being spoiled on our 12 day Mediterranean cruise. I had booked a room on Expedia, and wasn't sure what kind of room we would get. Alejandra, our check-in clerk was very courteous, professional, and competent. Since we arrived around 10 A. M. after disembarking from our ship, our room was not ready. She did offer the use of the spa and pool, and helped us with additional orientation for sightseeing in the area. The room we had, #407, was exactly like the rooms shown on their website. The room and bathrooms were clean, comfortable and trendy. Sodas and water in their refrigerator were complimentary-- a welcome refreshment after wandering the streets of Barcelona in the summer!

As others have mentioned, the hotel is out of the way, as it is the Montjuc area. Cabs were easy for us to get-- usually no more than a 5 or 10 minute wait. The front desk staff made the calls for us. Occasionally, there is a cab sitting outside the hotel, but note that if you need to have a cab called, the cab charges for the distance it has to travel to get to the hotel. We did not mind having to pay for a cab, since our rate on Expedia was such a good one. You can, if you want, avoid taxis if you take one the double decker tourist buses that stop half a block away from the hotel. Be aware however, that some of these buses go in a single direction on their circuit before they come back toward this hotel.

As mentioned by other TripAdvisor reviewers, the breakfast buffet is expensive-- 25 euros. I would agree that this is not great value if you are traveling and converting back to U.S. dollars. Breakfast was satisfying, however, and had we not enjoyed the food on our cruise so much, we might have enjoyed more of the breakfast buffet. The view from the patio as the sun rises is gorgeous. Our waitress was also kind enough to find us some boxes we could use to pack some of the we knew would not fit in our luggage.

I did go out to use the pool. I was a bit surprised to be told by the pool attendant/bar waiter that if I wanted more than one towel, I would have to pay extra. I looked into the pool and thought the pool grout needed cleaning. I ended up having a drink from the bar and reading the Financial Times instead of going into the pool.

I liked the fact that this hotel was not in the middle of the city. I valued the peace and tranquility the hotel offered. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers who need a respite from the city. I travel on business and thought that this hotel would be good for a senior executive group.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelForever58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed 4-9 July 2009, superior room #502
The hotel has a wonderful setting with a beautiful view of Barcelona and the sea! The décor is magnificent; modern and tasteful with warm colors. Our room was large and modern, tastefully decorated and comfortable with a big terrace overlooking Barcelona and the sea. Bathroom was huge with center bathtub and separate shower. The pool area is great with comfy sun loungers, BUT too few chairs which is very strange since there is plenty of space. The gym was very good with modern equipment. So PHYSICALLY this hotel has all the parameters to be a 5 star luxury hotel, however it fails completely on its poor service and their lack of interest for their guests!!

We had booked a romantic package through SLH which included buffet breakfast, “candle lit” dinner for two, special bubble bath, bottle of Cava and strawberries with chocolate in the room upon arrival and a welcome drink on arrival.
No welcome drink was offered. Nor was there any Cava or strawberries in the room (but was brought up to us later when we asked the reception). When we arrived we requested dinner reservation on the terrace at 10.00 but was told only available time was a 9.00. As we thought it was a busy evening we accepted it but was astonished to see an empty restaurant when we arrived. We didn’t even get a table on the terrace since they claimed it was already fully booked (which we were not told about earlier). Interior of restaurant pretty dull so we had to re-scheduled the dinner for another evening with a guaranteed terrace table. Miramar is not quite in the centre of town and there are no nearby restaurants, so we ended up having our dinner in the hotel bar (which wasn’t an overwhelming experience). The “special” bath in our package was never presented during our stay. Package also included free soft drinks in room mini bar and on arrival we requested it to replenish with water, which never happed despite the promise.

We sent an email to the GM explaining about all these issues and asked why the hotel offered the package when they were unable (unwilling?) to deliver? We never got a reply.

More issues:
- The air-condition didn’t work properly and only after several requests (and promises) we were informed maintenance was only carried out during weekdays. When it was fixed 2 days later we could not put temperature above 16 degrees, so choice was freezing or sweating. When we spoke to reception about this they only laughed.
- The service around the pool was inadequate. Cleanliness much the same. Arrived around 10.00 in the morning to the pool area and towels, bottles and glasses from previous day hadn’t been removed. Astonishing!
- Hotel’s turn down service wasn’t regular.
- To get a taxi was a laugh! The hotel seemed to have some sort of deal with one taxi company and it would take between 15-30 minutes to get a car despite there was a long line of taxis in queue 2 minutes drive down the hill on pl de la Carbonera!
- The service in general was really bad and slow. No smiles, no greeting, no one to take your luggage upon arrival etc. Apart from one very nice and friendly waitress in the bar/restaurant who was flabbergasted to hear our story and tried her best to improve our disastrous experience.
- Concierge... well don't think they know the meaning...

It is a real shame the GM (and owners) of this hotel lack a complete interest to maintain a good relationship with their guests and running a hotel with such a low service standard. We would definitely have stayed here again if it wasn’t for the complete ignorance. As mentioned, the physical aspects and the setting of the hotel are magnificent! Pity!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telMiramar, Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

Dear valuable guest. First of all please accept our deepest apologies for replying so late to your comment.

We are very sorry that you didn't feel that your stay was not what you had expected and that you left so disappointed with our service.

Concerning the Romantic package reservation, there might have been some confusion about the package itself. The Cava and strawberries are usually brought up to the room under the client's request, when it suits him better, together with the romantic bath. Our procedure is to ask at check in the client when and at what time they would like to have the Romantic bath prepared together with the Cava and strawberries, as well as the dinner time. Which is why you didn't have it in your room upon arrival.
The welcome drink is actually on the Front Desk Table, in the centre, it is a peach iced tea, that comes with a bowl of homemade cookies, available all day to any client that comes to Front Desk.
The person who checked you in asked you as a procedure when you would like to have the bath prepared, but we were indicated that you preferred to let us know about it later on. We have no information that you got back to us about is, asking for it to be prepared. It happens that clients do not want to have the bath, only the strawberries and Cava, which is why it didn't seem unusual to us and explains why we did not want to insist either.

Concerning your reservation at the restaurant, the supervisor told me that on that night they indeed have the tables booked on the terrace, which is why they couldn't offer you any table there. That was a Saturday. On sundays nights the restaurant closes, which you were informed of when you wanted to change your dinner reservation, and as an option you were offered to have dinner in the lobby area or to reschedule your dinner to the next days, Monday or Tuesday, as you were staying for a few nights.

We are aware that you got some problems with the air conditionning system in your room and as you arrived on a Saturday couldnt have it fixed up to the next Monday. I am very surprised that one of our recepcionist laughed receiving your complaint, and am sure that there is some kind of confusion about it, as we wouldn't allow such a behaviour from one of our staff, nevertheless please accept my apologies on behalf of Front Desk if you felt offended.

As for the swimming pool area, we were made aware of the problems caused by the limited number of sunchairs, and have now bought more of them, that were delivered to us on the first week of August. Unfortunately, we couldnt get them before as most of these companies close during summer time or run much more slowly.
I am again very sorry that your stay with us left you so disappointed and will take note of your comments to work on improving our service. I have forwarded your mail to all the departments concerned. Our aim is to offer our clients a pleasant and relaxing stay and your letter permits us to work on our weak points.

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#177 of 520 in Barcelona
2,325 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#202 of 520 in Barcelona
1,252 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 520 in Barcelona
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#122 of 520 in Barcelona
6,594 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#10 of 520 in Barcelona
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $178 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing