We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location looks far from downtown, but it isn't!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #125 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

When I went in Miramar I was a little bit reluctant, all my data showing that the distance from downtown is big, 4-5 Kilometers. But after a day, I was enthusiastic. Being in a very active outdoor activity part of my life I really enjoyed that fact. The hotel is up to a hill, facing the Barcelonetta marina on one side, an all the city on the other side. Great pics all day. I reached the main shopping area in 20 minutes by foot. All the way is downhill, so no big effort. Walking (or running) around its also a great possibility, because Miramar is surrounded by public gardens. A touristic bus stop is outside the hotel, and a taxi will cost you 6-7 euros to La Ramblas. What else to add? Outdoor pool, spa, gym, and some restaurants ( I didn't check the quality). Downsize? Maybe the staff, which is very nice, but a little bit slow. But that's Spain, don't take it personal!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dan_Andronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

i have spent 3 nights and was very very happy with everything.
large room with a great fancy bath just in front of a great window so you can take in the view, great big shower, a long bed (i am 6.6"), a privet balcony, free WiFi all around, staff is very helpful and happy to make your stay pleasant, nice breakfast, lovely swimming pool, great view and a short walking distance to the city center (take a cab coming back as it is a steep climb).
one of the best hotels i ever been to!
even the prices at the bar are reasonable considering how fancy the hotel is, not cheap but reasonable.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almalik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Attended a conference so didn't get time to make use of all the facilities but the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the food of good quality. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Miramar is on a hill, which means we will need to walk up and down the hill to get to the metro station . However if you are a beach lover, you can take the cable car at the back of the hotel straight to the beach in 8 mins! This is the coolest thing of the hotel!

The hotel has been built a long time ago, but I guess they had renovated it fairly recently to keep it look modern. We stayed at the premium room , overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, which is superb! However the facilities of the room are not so good. The door to the balcony can't open properly because the gap with the floor is too small, so it made funny sound when we tried to open with force. The doors of the wardrobe also can't be shut well unless both doors are shut at the same time.
However the bed and shower were good. There is separate shower compartment and toilet compartment.

There is only just a semi transparent striped curtain between the bed and the bathroom, it will not be convenient if you are traveling with a not so close friend.

The pool was the smallest I have seen for any 5 star hotel. And seagulls kept stopping over for a dip and swim. There is a spa with sauna but the sauna was not on and you have to wait for around half an hour before it is heated up, so we gave up.

The most annoying thing was there was no electric heater nor tea bags nor coffee powder mix! This should be the standard even in smaller hotels in Europe!

The good views of the sea made up a lot of the good points I gave to the hotels. However it also lost a lot of points from the lack of attention to details.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resortbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here back in March, the hotel on arrival looks very luxurious followed by a warm and helpful welcome. All the staff speak many languages and are happy to answer any questions. One night we asked them to book us a table at a recommended restaurant and organise taxi etc... which they did and the restaurant was an excellent choice.

The cable car is right outside the back of the hotel and is a great way to get down into the coast.

The spa/pool area has a smallish sized pool, gym (both unisex) and steam room, sauna and jacuzzi which are single sex. My partner noticed a couple in the male facilities so for the rest of our stay we both went into the males area.

If you go to La Rambla (which i recommend you do!) keep your handbag and belongings close to you! As like in a lot of cities you will come across pickpockets.

Overall a great stay, beautiful city full of friendly locals and we are planning on going back August!!

P.s the restaurant serves lovely food with the bar offering nice cocktails with friendly service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend in may. Hotel was in a great position overlooking Barcelona. A real escape from the crowded city centre. Drinks very expensive as was the food but would recommend for a lovely romantic stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davrosdalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the W for 4 nights, then switched to the Miramar with a Premium room booking and was wowed, because of the quality of room and huge private terrace (!!). Think romantic relaxation vs. clubby atmosphere of W. There are pros and cons of both hotels; one being a mass chain, the other being more boutique, so you can't compare apples to apples.

Overall, if it's your 1st visit to Barcelona, then stay at the W. But if its your 2nd or 3rd visit, or near the end of your stay, and you're exhausted from traipsing around the city, do yourself a favor and switch to the Miramar (often less expensive than W too): The cool, chic atmosphere, the nice touches (complimentary gourmet marshmallows and candies in the glass apothecary jars at the bar), and the hilltop views of the water. You get a more for the money and it feels a lot more romantic than the W.

Here are my comparisons:

Miramar Premium Room

PROS:
-situated mountain top with harbor view overlooking public fountain plaza and ocean
-private terrace/balcony that spans the ENTIRE length of the room - super spacious! you could have a party up there, that's how big it is.
-separate tub (i'm a bath fanatic)
-super cool and design-y outdoor pool area
-free use of indoor pool, sauna
-boutique feel (only 75 rooms), never overcrowded
-free wifi

CONS:
-service is good (has a Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence), but not as internationally finessed as W
-need a 5 minute cab ride into city (nothing around it since you're on a winding road to the top)

W Hotel (standard double room)
PROS:
-beach view
-excellent W service
-easy, enjoyable walk into the city

CONS
-no separate tub
-no terrace or outside balcony
-must pay for wifi
-often overcrowded and feels "mass"

Room Tip: ask for premium room overlooking the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toasty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 517 in Barcelona
2,488 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#206 of 517 in Barcelona
1,239 reviews
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#180 of 517 in Barcelona
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#113 of 517 in Barcelona
1,018 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 517 in Barcelona
6,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $190 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing