We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #41 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Villa Emilia and honestly can't find fault with anything about the hotel or the service. Right from the moment you walk through the doors to be greeted by the most wonderful smell, akin to Jasmine, the experience was pretty much perfect.
Location wise, the Rocafort metro station is 20 yards away, and 20 minutes gentle walk will see you at either the Plaza Espanya or the top of Las Ramblas. Great starting point for a day exploring the city in any direction.
Thanks to all the staff for helping make a fantastic weekend in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are glad that your stay in Barcelona turned out to be a memorable experience. We would like to thank you for having chosen Villa Emilia hotel during your visit to our wonderful city. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    624
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
248
1,378
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at Villa Emilia in April. Location is quite convenient and staff is helpful and pleasant. - bar staff are good fun, great Mojitos ! Rooms are a little on the small side and the beds too firm for my liking. Ask for an extra mattress pad. Recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very much for highlighting our hotel’s location and its staff’s kindness, as well as other aspects which you decided to share with other travellers. Concerning the rooms of the Villa Emilia hotel, they have a standard size, between 23 and 27 m2. It is true that we don’t have Junior Suites or Suites. However, in Barcelona standard rooms are typically larger compared with what is considered normal in most European destinations. We also appreciate you recommending an extra mattress pad, given that, above all, we care for our clients’ comfort, and try to satisfy those aspects which can vary from one client to another. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a couple of days at Villa Emilia and the service by the entire team was awesome. Being a bit picky it's hard to please us but they were all very personal and attentionate while being very professional and following things through. The rooms were well appointed with all that was needed . It's a great trendy option in the middle of the Eixample district while being close to attractions and activities. Best cafe is right across the road, Copasetic which offers amazing gluten free and organic food and drinks. Cool district to be in for a real experience of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Visit the Terraza upstairs for an afternoon drink while watching the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We appreciate the personal description of your stay in our hotel and the recommendations to other travellers. We are glad to see that we have been a good choice for your stay in Barcelona. Best regards from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights over Easter. The hotel was generally very good. Our room was on the small side, but this is not unusual for city centre hotels. Staff were helpful and we used the roof terrace on one sunny afternoon/evening which was very pleasant. In retrospect we would have preferred a hotel closer to the city centre as, although the metro is very efficient and the station is very close to the hotel, we found it a bit of a drag using it 4 times a day to go in and out of the centre. We walked in on our first morning and it took us 20 minutes. Had dinner in the hotel one evening before going to see the magic fountains and this was very good value, although quite a limited choice of dishes. I would recommend the hotel if you don't mind the walk or using the metro.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Villa Emilia hotel during your visit to Barcelona. It’s true that the hotel is far from the main tourist areas, but Plaça Catalunya is just three metro stops away. From there you can walk down Passeig de Gràcia, el Portal de l’Àngel, la Plaça del Pi, the area of the Cathedral, and walk down la Via Laietana till you reach Argenteria Street and el Born, just to mention one of the possible itineraries. If it gets late, you can always catch a taxi back to the hotel. We appreciate your honesty and we hope you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmoral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything from the service at reception when we arrived to the dining was great. The food was lovely and the English was quite good. No complaints on anything.
Very helpful team.
The room was good. It was not in the city but close enough.

Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalmoralSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is a little far away from the visitor areas of the city but this is not a problem. The facilities are great - and the staff even better. There is nothing that my daughter or I could think of that wasn't catered for.
The bar is wonderful with a fantastic range of drinks and good ambience. The roof terrace was lovely and sunny, even in April and so relaxing after a day sightseeing. Thank you Villa Emelia, we will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelfordHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are really happy to hear from your great experience during your stay at hotel Villa Emilia. The best gift for all of us is making your stay in Barcelona an unforgettable memory. Thank you for sharing your opinion with the rest of travellers. We hope we can offer you our services once more in the future. Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had an incredible experience in this hotel. I spent three nights there and i have no complaints about it. Since the first moment I entered in this hotel, I felt a great atmosphere. People were so nice and gently that it welcomes you to have a drink and some delicious tapas at the Zinc Bar. Moreover, I also had a lunch there and their menu was really good and affordable for so good products (cheesecake is deliciooooous). Rooms are spacious and cosy, it was also really clean everywhere. Finally, the terrase is a typical Barcelonese rooft bar with music and good cocktails but relaxing during the day. Totally recomendable, do not hesitate :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria187529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing