We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right....”
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #43 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just right....”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and found everything about the hotel just right. The location was good - away from the hustle and bustle of the more busy neighborhoods but a block away from the metro which made exploring the city easy. I've seen a few other reviews that said that Las Rambla is about a 15min walk - I found it actually closer to 25min - but that's at a vacation pace...slow, exploring and taking in the sights. The hotel room was a good size by European standards. The beds were what I've found on other travels through Europe - very firm with little to no padding. The decor is modern and very chic as others have commented. The bathroom was a good size as well but (in typical European fashion) no door! The terrace upstairs is really nice but I would recommend getting their early to try and find a seat during happy hour. The staff were helpful when asked but check-in was slow. My only negative was the overwhelming incense or air freshener that seemed to permeate the lobby area. For the price, the location is great and the hotel clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP4275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    636
    111
    22
    16
See reviews for
261
1,404
59
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Perfect location very near the metro station, 5 minutes walk to Plaza Espanya and close to many good restaurants and bars.
The staff was extremely polite and helpful.
The only negative would be that the doors close very loudly therefore, if you are a light sleeper then you will be constantly woken up by slamming doors morning and night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is really clean and I loved the room. Beautiful contemporary design. The staff here stand out. They were incredible. Love the free coffee and croissants each day, very classy touch. Location is quite good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesey351985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The service was excellent and I loved our nicely appointed contemporary room. Our king sized bedroom was a good size for 2 people and it had a very nice bathroom too. Our room rate even came with a small bottle of wine! We decided not to opt for the breakfast included rate because even though it looked good I do like exploring an area and trying out different foods. The location is great for catching a cab or for walking to the areas of interest. We of course did the tour bus, which is always a good way to see a new city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodrowsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are really happy to hear about your experience at Hotel Villa Emilia. It is always a great pleasure to read positive comments about nice moments that guests experienced with us in Barcelona. Thank you for sharing those beautiful pictures with us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Villa Emilia and the hotel is still as lovely as it was when we were last here. Very friendly staff, good location, choc boutique hotel and a good sized room. However, despite requesting a double room my husband and I had two single beds joined together. In addition, the beds were very low and the firm mattress made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NavY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the hotel Villa Emilia on your second visit to Barcelona. We wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the positive things you made mention of our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had in relation to the nights sleep, as it is very important for us to know what we can do to make improvements here at the hotel. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After 10 days touring Spain we finished with 3 nights at the Villa Em and enjoyed our stay immensely. The lobby, restaurant, and roof top patio were stylish, comfortable and teeming with friendly staff. The rooms were clean and equally stylish. While I don't mind the open showers one finds in European hotels, the design of these posh (well stocked) bathrooms created larger than usual puddles in the bathroom - i.e., the excellent strong shower head were no match for the ever-so-slightly inclined shower surface. That said, all one need was to use one towel to keep the water from spreading to throughout the bathroom. The breakfast was one of the best on our trip. The hotel, restaurant, and bar staff were the best we had anywhere. The location was also great. A little further from the touristy areas of the city, there is a subway station on the corner, the heart of the city is a beautiful 10 minute walk along the main boulevard, and one is blocks from charming neighbourhoods filled with excellent restaurants and bars. (Wi-fi was excellent.) I hope to return again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A chic, modern and stylish hotel that reflects the unique style of Barcelona. While its not in the central part of town or close to the beach, most places are a train ride or bus ride away. The metro station is just about 150 meters away from the hotel and cost of travelling by metro is quite reasonable in Barcelona.

I booked a double room on the 6th floor which was very comfortable, impressive decor and good size room. The staff are very friendly and made me feel welcome right from the time that I approached the check in desk. Check in was smooth and easy and was soon in the comfort of my room. The hotel offers continental breakfast but choice is rather limited, and becomes a bit boring after eating the same sort of food for 3 consecutive days.
One thing that stands out is how helpful, friendly, responsive,and attentive the hotel staff came across, right from the front desk, the bar staff and restaurant staff. On a certain occasion my room phone was faulty and wanted to reach the concierge, and though they could hear me speak, I wasn't able to hear the person on the other end of the phone but on both occasions, the concierge came up to my room to offer face to face assistance as they realised that I couldn't hear them speak. This was my first trip to Barcelona, the hotel staff suggested many nice places to see and pleased Barcelona is breath taking.

By the way, the Zinc bar in the hotel serves very good cocktail and opens till late. They also serve good food and had the tastiest goat cheese salad in a long while. The hotel has got a cute terrace bar where you can go and chill out in the evening.

I will certainly recommend the hotel for the personal touch, friendliness of hotel staff and ambience

Room Tip: No special view in this hotel due to its location so most rooms you book, should be pretty alright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive review of our hotel. It is always such a pleasure to hear or read positive comments concerning guests's stay here at Hotel Villa Emilia. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future! Warmest regards,

All of Us at Hotel Villa Emilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 513 in Barcelona
3,048 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,840 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing