We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Villa Emilia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #41 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Villa Emilia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. The reviews were spot on.. the staff especially Iker and Monica is very professional and helpful. We arrived too early to check in and I was so hungry after 14 hours on a plane from SFO. The breakfast was amazing, Cava,cafe con leche, must have every day...smoked salmon, delicious melons, pineapple, breads to die for. A pureed tomato with olive oil spread for the open faced sandwich was delish. The eggs that you boil yourself were perfect.The rooms were lovely and clean each day. The Zinc bar was cute and the atmosphere was almost artsy.Proximity to Las Ramblas 15 minute walk, and The Arena shopping area was great. Not too close so that you don't get the noise of Las Ramblas. Nice quiet street. Casanovas deli next door was a godsend. Great Spanish food, wonderful wines reasonable prices for your in room picnic. Rocafort Metro station just down the street allowed access to great transportation anywhere. Cera 23 restaurant close by is a must go to for great food and Blueberry mojito.. My only gripe was that the breakfast promo was not fully explained upon check-in and caused a minor disagreement upon check out. Fabrizio the manager was more that accommodating. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 62 overlooks the street and my wife loved the tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richm0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Villa Emilia on your visit to Barcelona. We truly appreciate your exhaustive review about our staff, breakfast, rooms, Zinc Bar and location. We will take your comments strongly into consideration and will do the best to provide an even better service in the future. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    624
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
248
1,378
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel, My daughter (age 21 and I) had an absolutely GREAT experience. We loved everything about it. The staff was so welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was so lovely and I highly recommend this. Cafe con Leche in the afternoon, amazing. Rooftop bar, lovely. But the staff was just great! Recommending the restaurant Cera 23 was also a highlight of our visit to Barcelona. We were able to walk everywhere from this location. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myerskmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to write this wonderful review. We also thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience and for describing your impressions in a such lovely way. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Emilia in August 2013 and absolutely loved it! I have travelled to Europe both in 2012 and 2013 and out of all the hotels I stayed at this was by far the best!

What set Villa Emilia apart was its outstanding service. Fabrizio and the team at the front desk were warm, hospitable and friendly and always willing to help.

The rooftop bar, Zinc, is amazing!! We could return for that alone nearly! The bar staff, particularly Rui and Amauri were so friendly and fun to chat to.... Not to mention they make THE best mojitos ever. It is the perfect relaxed atmosphere to have a drink and unwind after a long day of site seeing.

We also had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, it was delicious. Artesan breads, soft boiled eggs, cheeses, hams and meats, cereals, yoghurts, sweet baked goods, and good espressos/cappuccinos made for a great start to the day. I would look forward to breakfast each morning, and the staff there were also so lovely and friendly.

The hotel is a boutique hotel and is lovingly maintained with beautiful touches, particularly in the downstairs foyer and restaurant area.

Logistically, Villa Emilia was about a 2 min walk to Rocafort metro station which was 10-15 min from anywhere we wanted to go.
The neighborhood felt safe and I'm glad we stayed here as it was out of the busy and touristy areas of central Barcelona.

I did have my wallet pick pocketed in Barca which was upsetting and tainted my experience of Barcelona, but the fantastic experience at this hotel is enough to make me want to come back :)

In summary- Fabrizio & team, thank you for your hospitality and friendliness, we had an amazing time at your hotel and will definitely return next time we come back to Barca!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Greetings! We are always happy to hear from our guests’great experience, because the best gift for all of us is making your stay in Barcelona an unforgettable memory. We wanted to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing how you felt during your stay at our hotel with other travelers. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Villa Emilia. The reception is friendly and helpful and speak good English. The public rooms are quite classy with interesting decor. The Zinc Bar is comfortable and elegant with very good professional service - the excellent continental-style breakfast buffet is also served here. Meals in the restaurant were mostly tapas-style in the evening we went but with some main dishes. There is also a roof-terrace bar with comfortable seating and a pleasant ambiance.

A small point which usually goes unnoticed - the lifts are fast and efficient, no hassle going back to your room if you've forgotten your book! There's free and reasonably fast wifi - but you need to know that it works for only one gadget per room per stay - laptop or phone but not both, however they gave us extra codes when we asked, without fuss.
The bedrooms are reasonably sized, well equipped, fully air-conditioned and spotlessly clean - and as others have noted, there is little or no traffic noise audible outside which is great for a city hotel.

This is an excellent, friendly, well-run hotel albeit not central but conveniently located only a couple of minutes walk from Rochfort metro station which is about midway between Espania and Catalunya. (It's about 20 mins walk to the Ramblas so probably easier just to take the metro).

Top Tip 1: buy the T10 metro card for travel - it's basically an electronic version of the Paris Carnet and is excellent value for money. The USP is that you can also share it among other members of your party and you can continue by bus or tram on the same journey.

Top Tip 2: Get a taxi to and from the airport - if there 3 or more in your party it works out cheaper than the aerobus and far quicker! Avoid going by train/metro from the airport, it's just not worth the hassle! (although to be fair in a couple of years the new metro line will be completed so this option may be better)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voxish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We appreciate your extensive review of our hotel and we thank you for your recommendations to other travellers. We also thank you for describing your impressions in a such lovely way. We send you our warmest regards from all our staff! Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on a recent trip to Barcelona. This is a newer, stylish boutique hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were a little small but very well designed. Quiet at night which seemed to be rare in Spanish accomodations. The location absolutely can not be beat. The attractions are spread out so it would be hard to have a hotel close to all of the attractions you wanted to visit but the metro station is just down the street and can get you pretty well anywhere. Plaza Cataluña was only about a 15 -20 minute walk. There were hotels nearby. We ate the first night on the roof terrace. The menu was a little limited but the service and food outstanding. The pastries and drinks in the late afternoon on the terrace was an unexpected treat. The staff were friendly and helpful. The $10 Euro breakfast was incredible - the reviewer who noted there was a small selection was obviously not at the hotel when we were.

A few quibbles however. When we arrived early - not expecting to be able to check in early - our room was not ready and we left our bags. We were basically then left on our own. When we came back a few hours later to check in, we were shown a map of Barcelona and given an orientation. That would have been nice to have had when we arrived. The Wi Fi worked very well when it worked - but was constantly either down or slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your extensive review of our hotel and we thank you for choosing the hotel Villa Emilia on your visit to Barcelona. We are sorry for those aspects of your stay which you were not completely satisfied with. We will do our best to provide an even better service in the future. Thank you for your comments: we will take them strongly into consideration. Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel deserves every bit of the positive feedback it receives. From the moment we arrived until check out (4 nights), we were struck with how friendly and helpful staff were (from the front desk, bartenders and waitstaff downstairs and on the roof bar, porters and housekeeping staff). They were really flexible and accommodating.
It's a very clean hotel with a great ambiance - a cross between hip, modern Mediterranean to classic. Relaxing indeed.
Beds are comfortable and it's quiet at night. The location is one block from a Metro and if you're a walker, you can hit up surrounding neighborhoods easily enough.
We enjoyed the place so much that we made sure to grab our coffee downstairs before we'd head out in the mornings, and we'd stop at the roof top bar for a drink each day, either for happy hour or after getting in from dinner (the cocktails are amazing). They offer an outdoor bbq twice per week. It's not really a casual bbq as you might think... there's a set menu and you're served dinner style, but the food is fantastic and the grillmaster knows his stuff.
We'd recommend this hotel to everyone and plan to visit again on our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience and for describing your impressions in a such lovely way. We appreciate your feedback as it will undoubtedly be very useful to other travelers, specially concerning to the location of our hotel, its offer, ambience and staff. It would be a pleasure to receive you again. We send you our warmest regards from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Room was very nice along with bathroom and rest of hotel, staff friendly and polite and rooftop terrace and bar lovely.
Only problem I had was breakfast, I double checked that it was included and reception said yes. So went and had a coffee along with toast and on check out was charged €10 for it. Maybe just a breakdown in language barrier.
Would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stevenjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing