We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid for 4 nights - stayed none”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #40 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My rating is solely based on customer service.

I made reservations at Villa Emilia and accidentally selected the wrong 4 dates. I sent an email and called the hotel to try to correct my error. It turned out that of the 4 nights I actually needed my reservation, they could only accommodate 2 of the nights and those 2 nights were in the middle of the trip. I'd have to stay somewhere else the first night, switch to their hotel for two and then stay somewhere else the last night. Obviously, that would be highly inconvenient.

After multiple email, multiple calls and multiple conversations with multiple people over multiple days... I got the short end of the stick, entirely. I understood their policy of no refunds so I didn't ask for a full refund. I kindly asked if they would graciously refund me just 2 of the nights I paid for since I would obviously need to make reservations and pay for 4 nights stay elsewhere. They refused. It was a huge disappointment, as I truly looked forward to staying there and it was a terrible loss of of over $800 dollars.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank AfroTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hotel. Smells lovely and clean when you walk in, front desk staff is so pleasant and helpful. The location is not in the middle of all the touristy stuff, which is great and it's also very accessible to all areas either by foot or by metro. Has a very pretty rooftop bar--not too much of a view, but was a great place for a quick cocktail before a night out. Rooms are very nice and modern, comfy beds and pillows. Very chic and boutiquey. Also i thought the price was great for what you get..i think we booked through kayak and paid about 170 a night. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We appreciate your feedback as it will undoubtedly be very useful to other travelers. We are always happy to hear from our guests' great experience, because the best gift for all of us is making your stay in Barcelona an unforgettable memory. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It was an easy fifteen minute walk from the center of town so it was quiet but very accessible...one block from the metro. Some of the other reviews made us a bit nervous about the staff but with one exception, the staff was very helpful and friendly. One staff member at the front desk made it clear she was not inviting more questions, but other than her, all were very good. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxgeorge1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in central Barcelona, nice decor, good beds and bathroom. Superb breakfast and all very reasonably priced. Really superb are the staff, friendly, knowledgable, good English and.... The terrace on the top floor.... A hit

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Syrah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, modern, clean, has free wi-fi. There is a nice bar downstairs and a terrace too. The breakfast was great, we had a promotion for it - 10 euro instead of 14, it was worth it I think. The staff was English speaking and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you kindly for sharing your opinion. Remember, you've always got a home away from home with us here at Hotel Villa Emilia! Warm salutations from sunny Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel had been recommended to us by my friend, who had stayed there on a recent vacation. We loved everything about this hotel, free wi-fi and coffe break at 17 hr free. Would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: room 58 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind recommendation about the hotel. It is always wonderful to check that guests felt happy with us here at Villa Emilia. We hope to see you again soon in Barcelona. Sending you the sunniest and warmest of regards,

All of Us at Hotel Villa Emilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely clean rooms with tasteful modern decor, fantastic bathroom with walk-in shower, great self-service breakfast, and nice tapas in the evening too. A brisk 15 minute walk to Plaza Catalunya (at the top of La Rambla). Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your recommendation about the hotel. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future! Don't hesitate to follow us in Facebook to know What happen at the hotel along the year.
Best regards from all the team at Hotel Villa Emilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#22 of 520 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 520 in Barcelona
4,194 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 520 in Barcelona
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#68 of 520 in Barcelona
3,279 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#56 of 520 in Barcelona
418 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 520 in Barcelona
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $96 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing