We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Emilia
Ranked #37 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely clean rooms with tasteful modern decor, fantastic bathroom with walk-in shower, great self-service breakfast, and nice tapas in the evening too. A brisk 15 minute walk to Plaza Catalunya (at the top of La Rambla). Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation about the hotel. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future! Don't hesitate to follow us in Facebook to know What happen at the hotel along the year.
Best regards from all the team at Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    638
    112
    22
    16
See reviews for
267
1,412
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Villa Emillia professes to be a four star boutique. It cerainly is boutique and has a lot going for it.
I stayed for a number of days and therefore got a good impression. On the good side, this small hotel has an intimacy, brightness and friendliness. Reception is very welcoming. Unfortunately in its enthusiasm to be trendy and boutique it fails the test of several basic hospitality issues.The hotel is boutique but the locality is not. I tended to eat at night in restaurants close to the hotel.The cleaning arrangements were less than satisfactory. Each day the room was not serviced and cleaned until after 4.30 pm. 3.The bathroom arrangements are annoying. The shower is open at one end which makes showering difficult. It often means you create a flood at one end of the shower.4.The constant and noise shattering of slamming doors was a hindrance late at night. In summary, A little more attention to the basics and this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. We had the room on the first floor. This is close to the bar beneath so sometimes there was some noice. But in the evenings we didn't had any problems with that. We missed a bathtub in the bathroom.

The location of the hotel is good, close to metro station and possible to walk to the interesting points in Barcelona.

The breakfast was also nice with a lot of choice. But it wasn't included in our price, i didn't noticed that with my reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanVanuytven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your stay at our hotel as it will undoubtedly be very useful to other travelers. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We also were here last year and because of the good situation, great ambiance and the very nice staff we returned. Walking distance from Plaza d espanya, parque joan miro, different museums, Plaza catalunya, ramblas,.... Really great and friendly staff! Nice and very clean rooms! Breakfast loaded with local products and cava. We also tried the a la carte restaurant in the evening and the rooftop bbq on thursday. These good value for money! We hooe to return in november this year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We appreciate your review of our hotel. We hope you visit us always you come back to Barcelona. It is really a pleasure to hear or read positive comments about the great moments that you spent with us in Barcelona. Please receive a warm salutation from all of us here at Hotel Villa Emilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel well placed for exploring Barcelona. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from The Ramblas. There is a metro station at the top of the road, so very convenient for getting about. The hotel is modern and our room was lovely. A very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, efficient and quiet air conditioning. We found it very quiet at night. The food in the Zinc bar is good and reasonably priced and the rooftop bar is great for summer evening drinks. The buffet breakfast was particularly good with lots of choice. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 4th floor which was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It is always wonderful to read positive comments from the people who stayed in the hotel. We are really happy about your great experience here in the Villa Emilia. We appreciate your feedback about those aspects of your stay which you were completely satisfied with. We hope to see you again soon in Barcelona. Sending you the sunniest and warmest of regards,

All of Us at Hotel Villa Emilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My trip to Barcelona was unplanned having stepped in fairly last minute for a friend who was unable to go. With enough time to read the reviews before we went I was confident my friend had good taste and I would enjoy my trip. Prior to arrival I emailed the hotel for the best route from the airport. They provided me with details of all the options from Aerobus, train to private transfer. We travelled by Aerobus and was shocked at how quickly we arrived at the Placa Espana and from there it was a five minute walk to the hotel. On arrival I was very impressed with the reception staff and their offer of any assistance we required during our stay. The room was furnished well with plenty of hanging and shelf space. Would have been handy to have more hangers and I am sure if we asked reception it could have been organised but as a chronic overpacked its a little embarassing to admit how much you have brought for a long weekend. The bathroom was well designed with only a shower and not a bath but with counter top space beside the sink, a corner shelf in the shower and three hooks for hanging towels and clothes on beside the shower. Plus there was an additional wooden bench under the sink. For two women with lots of toiletries it was very handy. Our room over looked gardens and roofs to the back of the property not the prettiest of views but very quiet and with quiet aircon it meant we slept well. Unlike other reviews I prefer a firm mattress and pillows so they worked well for me.The roof top terassa was very nice and we had a lovely evening there on our first night. It was not our intention to stay in the hotel that evening but after a hectic work week and travelling it was perfect. Be warned the bar staff are lovely but will try to persuade you to have one more drink and in such a perfect setting it is hard to resist. I think the layout of the breakfast buffet could be improved to improve the flow of people but having said that there was a good selection. It was an ideal location for exploring the city both on foot and by public transport. It is a 5 minute walk to Placa Espana and 12 minutes in the other direction to Placa Catalunya. Roquefort metro station is within a few minutes walk of the hotel and offers easy access to the metro network. We had a fantastic time in Barcelona and the next time I come I would love to stay at the Villa Emilia again unless of course I win the lottery then I may have to buy my own apartment.

Room Tip: Very quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate your extensive review of our hotel. It is very important for us to know the kind of inconvenients that the costumers have found and all those aspects of their stay wich they were completely satisfied with. It helps us to review our work every day. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future!
Wishing you all the best

Regards

Hotel Villa Emilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and stayed here for two nights last week during a short visit to Barcelona. The location is good as it is about a 20 min. walk to La Rambla and a bit farther to Segrada Familia and other Gaudi buildings. Cabs are easy to hail and plentiful. Our room was spacious, but as other reviewers commented, I did find the bed and pillows a bit hard. The bathroom was large and had nice amenities. The buffet breakfast included in the room price was simply outstanding! The fruits, jams, yogurts, breads, etc. were delicious and fresh, the juices freshly-squeezed. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet and good for sleeping. There is a very cool rooftop bar/barbeque that on Saturday night was really crowded and festive.The Zinc Bar at the front entrance is a hip place for a drink and tapas.

This hotel is a great choice at a reasonable price when visiting the great city of Barcelona. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,090 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#12 of 512 in Barcelona
697 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Emilia

Property: Hotel Villa Emilia
Address: Calabria, 115, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing