We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #29 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Emilia, besides a great location. The hotel is very trendy, with lovely attention to detail. The reception is very friendly and welcoming. The bar and restaurant serve amazing food and drinks. Would have happily spent days here and not need to leave the hotel. Next time I'm in Barcelona I'm staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    586
    98
    20
    14
See reviews for
220
1,289
53
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We flew to Barcelona from Madrid for a one-night stay before our cruise. What drew us to this hotel was the rooftop terrace bar and restaurant. The hotel is on a corner with small discreet signage. The lobby is tiny, but off to one side is a very nice bar and continuing "around the corner" is a restaurant area with a very complete and delicious breakfast buffet. Our room was new and very nice, with a view of a neighboring backyard. The rooftop turned out to be a real gem. We were there on a Friday night and they were doing a bar-b-que. There also was a marvelous Brazilian band that began at 8 p.m. For us older folks, this was a real treat as we miss so much in Spain with their 10 p.m. start-times. We ended up spending 3 hours enjoying the music, fine wine, excellent food, and a terrific wait staff. We were most pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Villa Emilia may not be the largest hotel around but what they do with what they have is incredible! The staff need to be mentioned first as they could not have been more helpful nor friendly. The entire hotel and its rooms are very nicely decorated and ours was always kept very clean. Breakfast though understandably limited was clearly of good quality. Its also conveniently located within a 5-10 minute walk of a metro station which is very handy. The room even came with the added bonus of a complementary bottle of wine and free welcome drinks down in the snazzy bar! No hesitation about returning there or recommending it to anyone visiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lxglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a delightful place to stay in Barcelona. I only booked for one night but as soon as I walked in, I knew I wanted to stay longer. This small boutique type hotel has all the comfort you need and excellent staff as well. One word, superb!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngePascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent the nights of Nov 13 and 14 in this lovely boutique hotel. The staff was always courteous and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable although a bit noisy. Next time I'll ask for a room in the rear and on a higher floor. As a solo traveler I really liked having a restaurant in the lobby so I didn't have to venture out at night by myself. I enjoyed 3 delicious meals there where the service was as good as the food. The only thing I found lacking was the Wi-Fi service. It was extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel. Comfortable and friendly staff. Reasonable rates and free wifi.
While it is right near the metro and close to the placa espanya, there isn't much else around. In other European cities I traveled through, I was able to get lost in the neighborhood and find restaurants and cafes to stop into and try. Hotel Vila Emilia didn't have too many interesting eateries within walking distance. But, like I said, it's easy to take the metro anywhere from the hotel.
The only other negative thing I had an issue with was the strong scent throughout the room and lobby. Like other reviewers reiterated, they need to turn down the perfume smell. It's a bit harsh. We were just glad we were able to open the balcony window for fresh air.
Overall, i would reccommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at hotel villa emilia for 3 nights19 nov to 22 nov 2012 and loved our stay. Couldn't have been more comfortable & happy. The hotel is very fancy with welcoming & friendly staff. Rooms were clean and modern. 10/10 to the staff...right from the person behind the counter, bar staff, waiters, room cleaners...everyone were superb and soo friendly. We had a 17 month old son with us and was wondering if it would be comfortable for all of us at such fancy hotel. But have to say the staff was very helpful and proactive. Would recommended this hotel to everyone. Loved our stay at the hotel & barcelona ofcourse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swapnali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Villa Emilia and for describing its atmosphere and your impressions in a such elaborated and lovely way.
This kind of comments invite us to improve further. Our hotel works hard to make our guests experiences pleasant and worthy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#26 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#28 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#39 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Primero Primera
#9 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#64 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing