We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a nice hotel”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #154 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and a nice hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night on business. It was a Shame that i wasn't able to use the spa or pool. Downside to being in a good hotel on business. The location is excellent and you can easily explore Ramblas, Boqueria, the old town and the port. The staff were pleasant and professional. Breakfast is expensive but varied and if you enjoy a big breakfast it's worth it. Hope to go back here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 97sienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    556
    156
    56
    56
See reviews for
342
538
55
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is close to the cruise port, bus stops for sightseeing and getting to the airport. The service was overall very good, nice people working there. The negative for me, was no ice buckets or ice machines available on any floor. You had to go down to the lobby bar and pay a couple Euro for it. Maybe that is the norm in Europe, I don't know, as this was my first time. The rooms were very clean and modern, nice bedding, very good quality, made for a good sleep. As for wash clothes, that was another thing the rooms did not have. I am used to those in any hotel room. For what we paid, I expect the ice and the wash clothes. Overall the stay was comfortable,and I recommend the hotel, but shop around for best price, as I saw many hotels in this prime location of Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moneil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My hopes with the hotel were not high, as during my previous visit to Barcelona I have stayed in another 4 starts hotel which was total crap. This one was much better; the room looked as newly refurbished although kind of impersonal. I have not had time to use much of their services, so I cannot rate those (not even the free wi-fi in the room), but the check-in/check-out were speedy and the breakfast quite rich. The location of the hotel is great, close to the stop of the Aerobus (cheapest fast connection with the airport), close to Raval and old city, good for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Catalonia Ramblas for 2 nights after a cruise from SOuthampton to Barcelona. It was great for us because the cruise transfer dropped us in the Piazza de Catalonya and this was a minute whe hotel. We were not able to check in (only 10:00 am) but left our luggage and went straight out on to Las Ramblas which is round the corner from the hotel. These two locations are key areas in Barcelona - the piazza is the main stop for the open top bus tours (all of them!) and the tourist infromation, whilst Las Ramblas is the nightlife centre for Barcelona with loads of bars, restaurants, shops, stalls, street entertainers and more.

We stayed in room 701 which was a suite. Had an issue with the lift as this only goes to 6th floor so you have to walk up two flights of stairs (with our luggage!) but it was worth it. Our room was very large - a huge bathroom with double sinks, bath and shower; a small vestibule with mini bar, wardrobes and coffee maker; a big bedroom with massive double bed, lounger and desk/dressing table; but the best bit was the terrace which had two chairs and table, two loungers and a pool/jacuzzi. The views from here looking out over Las Ramblas to the cruise port and over to the olympic park were amazing as this was the tallest building around. We were staying on the eve of the festival of Sant Juan (23rd April) and it was great watching all the fireworks going off round this area. But when the doors were closed, it was not too noisy (loads of bangers going off) and we slept really well in a very comfortable room.

The hotel is very modern and has a pool, a gym, restaurant and bar, but to be honest we didn't use any of them, we wanted to be out getting the most from Barcelona. But coming back in the evening after eating it was great to sit on that terrace and enjoy the view.

MY ONLY ISSUE WAS THAT WE HAD TO PAY FOR A BUCKET OF ICE. wE COLLECTED IT OURSELVES FROM THE BAR, BUT WE HAD TO PAY 2 EURO, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BIT OF CHEEK REALLY FOR A VERY BASIC REQUEST.

But overall really enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly and helpful and we had no problem checking in or out.

Room Tip: Rooms 701 and 702 are on the roof and both have terrace and swimming pool. Those on level 6 are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank battersby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Myself and my partner came to BCN for 3 days. We stayed at this Hotel. Room was very nice. Pool is pretty OK. Position is great for all tourist stuff. Hotel was let down by complete lack of staff, the internet does not work at all (regardless how much the staff insist it does - we tried it on 3 different devices, it doesn't), our room was also street facing so ear plugs were necessary. I would consider staying at this Hotel again but I am sure there is a better option as its not cheap. Also - the gym was not up to scratch for a 4 start hotel. 1 running machine that is half broken and 2 old bikes does not constitute a gym!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice, before boarding our cruise and afterwards for 3 nights. The rooms were quite different, with the first being much larger with a large, separate rain shower and toilet. The second room was a little smaller and the bathroom facilities were adequate but not as good as before. Both rooms had excellent air-con, and offered nice touches such as fruit, mineral water and chocolates. However, this hotel offers a wonderful location close to two Metro stations, Las Ramblas and Plaza de Catalunya.
The front desk staff were excellent, spoke good English and made great recommendations for places to see, dinner and regarding directions. The hotel has extensive amenities, including pool, fitness centre, spa and bar. Wi-fi was free and worked perfectly throughout our stay in all areas of the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here on another visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for room with separate shower and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owl4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
596 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and were very pleased. The rooms are larger than most with beds that are comfortable. We also had a coffee pot for coffee or tea, the only hotel that had that on our entire trip. The bathroom is large with a HUGE shower.

TV worked well with several English stations. Wifi also worked well with no problems. AC worked fine in the day but got warm at night. Not sure why.

Breakfast room was very large with a better-than-normal buffet. They had a chef to cook eggs to order as well as omelettes. Plenty of fruit, bread, pastries, cereal, cheese, etc. There were several choices of juice as well as a coffee machine where you brew your own cup of espresso, coffee (variations), etc. Nice.

The location was great with just a few minutes walk to Las Ramblas and its many restaurants, shops, and entertaining characters along the way. If you walk all the way to the end, you will be at the water. Makes for a nice walk.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
1,688 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#156 of 513 in Barcelona
1,443 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Property: Catalonia Ramblas
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing