We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #61 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2010

On an annual basis we stay about 100 nights per year in the hotels and have been doing so over the past 15 years. We travel across Europa and Asia. Very rarely we have stayed in such as nice place as this. Small luxury hotels that are run by the owners are almost always very good but this one exceeds even those experiences. Here the owners go really out of their way to make your stay great. My mother, who is in her sixties, stayed for a week in Barcelona and she was a bit nervous to travel by herself (which is a very new experiences after a long marriage). But the owners of L'Antic Espai completely took her under their wings. They accompanied her on trips, took her out for dinner and lunch, showed her the antique market etc. Based on her experiences, we also decided to stay at L'Antic Espai and were similarly made feel welcome. There are lots of nice touches, like free films, endless breakfast, high quality bathroom products and we were even given some free museum tickets. Besides the basics were there too. A very comfortable bed, cleanliness fast check-in/out, airport pickup/drop, good internet, etc. All in all a fantastic place. The only thing that we do not understand is that it is still possible to get rooms here. One would expect that a place like, with just 10 rooms, this is permanently booked.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spechtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 894 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night after arriving in Barcelona on a cruise, then another night a week later after spending some time in France. From the efficiency with which they handled our booking of the rooms, to the personal transportation to the airport, and everything in between, Abel and Sergio went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to make our stay easy and enjoyable.

On our first visit, we arrived at 10 am and were allowed to check in, which we appreciated as I had a miserable cold and needed to rest for a bit. Our room (107) was filled with lovely antiques, had a little sitting room and opened to a large terrace that's accessible from several rooms (one of our neighbors was out there smoking, which was fine; she & my husband had a nice chat. We ran into her again in Collioure!). Abel made dinner reservations for us, arranged for breakfast and offered to take us to the airport early the next morning. We spent the afternoon walking to Sagrada Familia and exploring the area around the hotel. It has a great location. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotless.

On our second visit, we were given room 102, which was even better. A very large room, it has a spectacular ceiling and a private balcony overlooking the street. This could be one of our favorite hotel rooms ever. Absolutely lovely. The whole hotel has been recently, painstakingly renovated and is filled with antiques -- everything from the furniture to the teapot at morning breakfast. Absolutely exquisite.

One of our favorite moments was when we came back to the hotel with some pastries from a bakery down the street. We asked Sergio if we could have two forks to eat them with. Moments later, there he was with a footed silver tray topped with a paper doily, upon which were two antique china plates, forks and linen napkins. This small gesture is an example of how they care for their guests.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful, personal hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Abel Gonzalez (a trained physician) and Sergio de Carvalbo have poured their hearts, souls, and sweat (it took a year to renovate and create this unique hostal, with only 12 rooms, in the centrally-located l'Eixample section of Barcelona) into L'Antic Espai, and it shows. I travel a lot. And one hotel seems like another after awhile. But at the L'Antic Espai you are surrounded by a single guiding intelligence that is rare -- it is no wonder this hotel is on lots of "best" lists (like Time Out Barcelona) and has such a high Trip Advisor rating. Get the breakfast (they go to great lengths to make it a wonderful experience, and you'll meet other guests), pet the incredibly friendly dog (reminds me of Matilda the cat at the Algonquin Hotel in New York), soak in the wonderfully dramatic (yes, very Almodovar) decor, and chat it up with Abel or Sergio (they are genuinely interested in others), they have great recommendations on what to do , where to eat, and how to relax in Barcelona. These guys have found themselves with this hotel, and their blossoming fills them with a joy and gentle passion for life that is catching. The joint is one of a kind, and I plan on returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jryan911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is an excellent hotel, located on the second floor of a large building a few blocks from La Rambla. The two owners have done an amazing job in making this a beautiful little spot. Our room was clean, comfortable and cozy, with a great sun room attached (if not quite heated enough for our needs). We were able to have a good breakfast there (at a small additional charge) and one of the owners drove us to the airport (also at a reasonable charge, and very helpful and convenient).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

My wife and I booked a long weekend in Barcelona and made the decision to stay at the Antic Espai for four nights based on the reviews here. I am glad we did. This is a charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. From the welcome Cava to our departure, no effort was spared to make guests feel comfortable and at home.

Firstly this is quite a difficult hotel to find. The taxi driver who drove us there had never heard of it and missed it first time round. The sign is discreet to say the least. The best way to find it is probably to head for the Patagonia Restaurant at 660 Gran Vía Cortes Catalanes- the door to the hotel can then easily be found.

Entry is up a flight of marble stairs to the first-floor, which would possibly make the hotel unsuitable for travellers with limited mobility as there is no lift. It looks to me as if the hotel takes up a floor of an old apartment building. This is a charming hotel, ideally located with most of the main tourist attractions within easy walking distance. The owners were happy to offer assistance and local advice and would ring ahead to make reservations at restaurants as well as recommend some very good ones.

Our room was a decent size and comprised a balcony, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom. Standards are very high here and the room was kept spotless. There was no "Do not disturb" sign but we never were- despite making a couple of late starts to the day. The balcony was shared with two other rooms, which may raise privacy issues for some but wasn't a problem for us as we went during low season and kept the curtains drawn when changing. The bed was just to my liking- nice and firm- and meant that I got a good night's sleep right from the start. Breakfast is ordered the night before and served on the balcony. We didn't take advantage of this as there are a number of coffee shops in the immediate area where we preferred to take breakfast. There is a safe in the reception area where guests can store valuables rather than in the room. This isn't a large chain hotel, so does not possess some of the facilities that would normally be associated with one of those- there's no bar, restaurant, health spa or swimming pool; the rooms don't have mini-bars or tea/coffee making facilities, however L'Antic Espai more than makes up for such minor shortcomings with charm. Wi-fi internet is available as is free access to a computer. I cannot imagine a major chain hotel decorated like this. There is beautiful period furniture in the rooms, collections and display cabinets all over the hotel. I noticed that the marquetry on our bed matched that on the bedside table and the wardrobe- someone has gone to a lot of trouble furnishing the rooms to their taste. There is barely a space in the whole hotel that is not taken up by a china figurine or other collectible. It could be said that the overall effect verges on kitsch, however this is no bad thing and gives the hotel a unique character.

I have never stayed in a hotel quite like this and am very glad I chose L'Antic Espai. Both of us agree that we would happily stay there again. I was sad to leave Barcelona and L'Antic Espai and hope to return to both soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An_Irishman_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed for three nights; I didn't really take advantage of the owners' knowledge of the city, as I already knew where I wanted to go and, most of the time, how to get there. But when I did ask for information, they were very helpful. They can judge when you want to talk and when you don't. I appreciated the loan of a laptop to get online in the privacy of my room.
The problem some people mentioned about light in the corridor seemed to have been fixed, as the light came on automatically when I went in the door. I liked the fingerprint access too, Suggestions for improvement are small: make the label on the doorbell a little easier to read in the dark - for example a larger and clearer font. I ended up buzzing a neighbour (who was very patient and uncomplaining). Bring the TV screen in Room 108 down a little - I got a tired neck looking up at it! The antidote to anonymous, corporate-looking hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2009

Hello and thanks a lot for your contribution with your recommendations. It’s really a help for us to here what others peoples, like this one, said about what we can change and what really work it.
The Label on the bell we need to find a solution because is really small but is the space that is fixed on it. Maybe a little sing outside can help. The problem in this historical buildings is that for everything we want to do we need to ask for a permission because it’s historical protected. If we don’t ask for it, we get a ticket to page.
The television is height because is on the walls. Otherwise you can go again it when you move around in the room.
Our place is really a very little one and somehow your house in Barcelona, come and check yourself, we are sure that you will agree with us.
Best regards,
Abel Estévez González.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Eight of us (seniors) were at the hostal for three nights. We hated to leave our charming, intelligent hosts, Abel and Sergio, the good conversation and travel advice, the lovely antiques, cava and breakfast on the porch. Not for people who want brandname hotels, but rather for those who like the charm of boutique and personalized experiences.
Centrally located; we walked everywhere with additional recommendations from our hosts. They know the city and appreciate its many offerings. We felt like we had a good picture of Catalonia
Their is ample privacy despite its size.so group members can come and go as they wish, congregate in the comfortable 'parlor', or read in a quiet place. Do not be scared by the flight of stairs. Your baggage is carried for you, and safety is not an issue. Pickpockets do inhabit the Barcelona streets

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culturalbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,602 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#119 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 517 in Barcelona
3,894 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#212 of 517 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $69 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing