We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$240
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
593
211
50
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
211
50
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furnitureno liftsitting roomsingle roomtourist siteswonderful citysergiogranspainbuzzersangriaaerobus
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 893 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at L'Antic Espai in May 2011. The guys running it are great. I was actually quite sick, and so they kindly gave us a late check out at no extra charge so that I could rest more before our next destination. Great location, very friendly staff, great service. Do yourself a favour and stay here next time you're in Barca.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkwalsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The purpose of the stay was a leisurely weekend away with my mother. I thought she would enjoy the uniqueness of this hotel, quite different from the contemporary (and stale) hotels. I loved it from first sight, but my mother was not overly impressed with it - it seems she prefers the modern look However by the end of the stay, she came to love the quirkiness of it. Abel and Sergio, the owners, made our stay particularly enjoyable stay.

Pros

Abel and Sergio
Breakfast on the patio
Exceedingly comfy beds
Lovely all round unconventional ambiance

Cons - not really cons, just things to be mindful of

Access by stairs only
Space is at a premium but the hostel is a converted apartment and so to be expected
No English language channels on bedroom TVs but compensated by the range of dvds that you are free to pick and choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4RLEY85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Loved this place. The proprietors were great hosts and most helpful in every respect. The place is uniquely decorated which adds to the charm. The rooms are comfortable. The location is perfect for touring the sites and attractions in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowdoSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

After reading and hearing about the Antic Espai for the past 3 years, I finally had the chance to stay during a recent swing through Barcelona on business. It was heaven. My company Spyns runs tours to Pamplona's running of the bulls and a number of our clients stay at this luxury B&B before or after Pamplona - always giving it rave reviews. Barcelona is a large and sometimes impersonal city so it was a pleasure to stay in what feels like someone's home. It isn't easy to find the Antic Espai given its 2nd floor location on a busy street, but once inside it feels like another era. The rooms are dripping in antiques and the walls covered with art. Despite the bustling street outside, my room was cool and quiet so I slept like a baby (which can't be said for a lot of Barcelona hotels). Breakfast was excellent but what really puts things over the top were the owners. Today I sat down with Abel and over excellent Spanish "cava" (champagne) talked for hours about everything from his art collection to the painstaking work to renovate his B&B. You just don't get that anymore. If you like chain hotels, Barcelona has loads of them. If you want to experience Barcelona, stay at the Antic Espai.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We chose the Hostal L'Antic Espai for our last night of a 10-day trip to Catalonia and Basque Country. We wanted some of the "old Barcelona" flavor, which this boutique property offers in the Eixample area of the City. Sergio and Abel provided excellent service including arranging a 4 am airport transfer that was exactly on time. The hotel is on one floor of an old Eixample Building on the main drag of Gran Via and features lots of antiques and old world fixtures but also flat screen TV's. It was excellent value and a lovely way to end our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews