We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hip hotel in the heart of Barcelona.”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #80 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here on the days before NYE as the weather in Madrid was so bitterly cold we decided to take the AVE to Barcelona to enjoy a milder climate. Weather was sunny and around 13-16C. The hotel has an incredible location in Barcelona's Gran Via and even though it's smallish it's very hip and truly comfy. I've stayed in many places in BCN (Silken, B-Hotel) and given the city's abundance of fantastic contemporary hotels we chose SoHo for its convenient location. The hotel's deco is chic and trendy although given the hotel's age (I believe it's only 4 years old) the fittings and features of the room are starting to look tatty in places. Some walls were dirty and damp stains where present in various places but that's the only bad point I can think of. The hotel is a little gem. The lighting in the rooms can be changed depending on your mood, they have a very cool lounge where you have access to computers (in addition to free wifi on the rooms) and the roof terrace has nice views and a adequate pool so you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMartinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

Great hotel.Location only 10 minutes walk from las ramblas and boutiques.Room was clean comfortable and just perfect.Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. And price for the hotel was reasonable. As our flight was late in the evening they put our luggage into a luggage room which was excellent as we were able to enjoy our last few hours sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINHUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The hotel is located within three min walk to Airport buses and about 15 to Las Ramblas. Getting the bus is easy and saves a lot on taxi fares, I'd highly recommend it. The staff are helpful and friendly. The lighting gadgets in the rooms were enjoyed by my oh and the bathroom design with see-through glass (can be blocked by blinds) is cool. The room is spacious and modern but if you can, ask for a room at the back because the front of the hotel is very noisy. We live in a city but still found the sirens and street noise woke us a lot. The free internet access is useful and the in-room safe is handy. The only downside was the breakfast which my oh found lacking; enjoying sweet breads etc for breakfast is my thing and he would have appreciated some cereals. Overall though it was a good stay and I'd recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed in the Soho in late October. On checking in we were given an upgrade by Alessio. The room was modern & comfortable with mood lighting and a balcony . . Air conditioning worked very well and was quiet. Our room was at the back and generally was quiet. The breakfast was varied and was good. We found the staff friendly and helpful I woul definitely stay there again. Montserrat is breathtaking

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Excellent hotel for the price- very clean; very comfortable; plentiful breakfast; helpful, polite staff (esp. Erica who gave us lots of advice on our first morning).
Media lounge was great for checking emails etc.
Pool on the roof was small but very pleasant.
Close to metro, and several cafes and convenience shops.
A 15 min walk from the Placa de la Catalunya but only 2 stops on the metro.
We were very pleased with the Soho and would definitely stay there again, and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KABLancs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Finally getting around to writing reviews about our 3 week honeymoon in Spain - First stop was 6 nights in Barcelona at the SOHO Hotel. I read the reviews on SOHO, perfectly within our price range (mid-priced), super close to the metro (Urgell, red line), nice rooms, etc. The only hesitation is that it's not in the middle of of everything... but close enough, and that was good enough for us (we're not afraid of a little walking).

We had a very clean street facing room during our stay; Queen bed; very cool/sexy see-though modern bathroom; flat screen TV; free WIFI. There was only once during our stay that street noise even bothered us - the local Bombers (Firemen dept) were having a protest/march down Gran Via, setting off flash-bombs. What a way to wake-up! We actually laugh about it now, for we originally thought it was a parade for the La Mercè festival. Of course there is nothing that the hotel could've done about this.

The Positive:
— Perfect amount of breakfast to get your day started; eggs, yogurt, cheeses, jamon, fresh fruit, coffee, juice selection, cereals, breads.
— Great roof top view & very inviting-looking pool (it was too cold outside to use)
— Modern/sexy hotel room
— Fun decor throughout the hotel
— Location - we felt safe in the area around SOHO and Gran Via, but we're also big-city folks.
— Metro is right there!
— Staff was always helpful and nice, even with our butchered Spanish.
— It was raining for 2 days straight while we were in Barcelona, and SOHO lent us an XL umbrella to keep dry. That 1 small gesture sealed our LOVE of SOHO.

The Negative:
— Their hi-tech push button "Do Not Disturb" did not work in our room. Or we're too stupid to figure out how it worked.
— No iron in hotel room. We had to call the front desk and ask for one. Then they only brought us the iron board. Miscommunication?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillelectrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Our four night stay at the Soho was very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable. Based on the recommendation of a previous post, we requested a corner room at the back of the building. It was a good choice as the road works were still happening at the front along the Gran Via. The corner rooms are more spacious and overlook a large interior courtyard, which was full of children playing and local residents chatting everyday from 5 to 7 p.m.

The hotel is very modern, sleek and stylish. We loved the touch lighting, electronic blinds, vinyl flooring, the simplicity of design. The beds were very comfortable and the shower had ample hot water and pressure. Except for a few dusty spotlights, the housekeeping was excellent.

Some might prefer to stay within the atmospheric yet tourist-mobbed Gothic Quarter, but Soho's location was perfect for us. El Raval and Las Ramblas were 15 minutes by foot, a metro stop was a half-block away, and the great restaurants and bars of L'Eixample were at our doorstop. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 517 in Barcelona
2,331 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#68 of 517 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#87 of 517 in Barcelona
989 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#85 of 517 in Barcelona
2,027 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#94 of 517 in Barcelona
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $78 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing