We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull hotel, amazing staff!!”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #76 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed here for three nights at the end of February, got the Ryanair flight so didn't arrive until about 11.30 to the hotel. When we arrived we just went upstairs got changed and then said we would ask the receptionist, Alessio, for a recommendation for somewhere to eat, he was so helpful and recommended the perfect place, a ten minute walk with beautiful tapas and a great atmosphere. We were delighted it was just what we wanted.
During the daytime, we walked from the hotel every morning, it was the perfect location to everywhere and the metro is just outside the door.
Every night of our stay we asked Alessio at reception to recommend a restaurant, and every night he had the perfect place, he was just so helpful, couldn't have been nicer. He pretty much made our stay as good as it was!
I would definatly recommend this hotel, our room was not noisy at all because it was at the back and it was in a great location, but the best part of the hotel was the brilliant helpful staff, especially Alessio!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

We are currently at the hotel SOHO. It´s location on the Gran Via is very easy to explore the city, and a metro stop is next to the hotel.
The room is modern and OK. We have an urban room on the street side is quite noisy.
The breakfast is OK, not a very huge assortment, but what they serve is OK, however despite all other reviews, we don´t find the breakfast staff very helpful... Even so for the reception staff, some are friendly and helpful, but not all of them...
The only big minus is the so called ´lounge´... Nothing too see at all, only a little menu, and you need to make a phonecall for service. Lots of room for improvement there...

I would recommend this hotel to friends because it good location and price, but I think I´ll stay somewhere else next time...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

8 minute walk to Passage de Gracia and Rambla de Catalunya so its positon is perfect. The rooms are modern, stylish, comfortable and good value.

The best thing about the stay was the helpfulness of the staff. They provided tips on the best places to eat and drink as well as being very accomodating in helping us move rooms as the one we stayed in was a little noisy.

If you are looking for a hotel as a base rather than one that you will be spending a lot of time in (i.e. as opposed to those with restaurants, spas and gyms) then this place is excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliotjackson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

A modern and cozy place to stay. The staff is great, and the breakfast is just right. The location is very convenient and metro station is also nearby.
On the downside, it can be a bit noisy (it is located on a central avenue), and I would like to have better lighting in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George73Greek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed for two nights on a double room on the 6th floor facing the back of the hotel.
With free wireless internet (not that functional thow, just enough for the basic stuff)
The room was spacious and very well decorated, with a minimalist very actual and stylish look, very architectural and with cool design stuff!
Located just a couple steps to the metro and 5 min.walk to all the action.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbmolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We visited this hotel with 33 persons from the Holland Casino Business School and have enjoyed it very much. The staff is great and the Hotel very special: modern and comfortable with a lot of extras on a excellent location with the Aérobus and metro right in front. Although the Gran Vía is a busy way you practically don't hear nothing because the rooms are very well isolated. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband and I spent four nights at the Soho and thought it was just great.

The location is really nice. The Urgell stop on the Aerobus is just a couple of blocks away so it's easy to get to from the airport. Unfortunately, the bus does not stop there on the return trip so you would have to get to another stop or take a taxi. A taxi costs 25-30 Euros. It is close enough to walk to many attractions, but the Urgell Metro stop is right outside so you can also catch the train anywhere. I loved that it was so close to everything, but far enough away that you aren't constantly surrounded by crowds.

The rooms are a bit dark, but they are a good size and comfortable. The bathroom was fully stocked with toiletries and housekeeping was good about replacing everything. There is no alarm clock, but the front desk is reliable for wake up calls. The Do not Disturb sign is actually a button next to the door...it's kind of funny.

We were in an Urban room at the back on the 6th floor and although we could hear street noise during the day, it was very quiet at night.

There are two computer terminals with internet that guests can use for free and there is also free Wi-Fi if you have your own computer. There is a very cool looking lounge and pool on the roof, but it's not heated so we didn't get to use it.

The staff spoke perfect English and was very accomodating.

I would absolutely go back to the Soho and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedylarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,296 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#86 of 515 in Barcelona
968 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 515 in Barcelona
2,134 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#80 of 515 in Barcelona
2,166 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#45 of 515 in Barcelona
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $74 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing