We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barcelona”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #86 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“barcelona”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Overall this is a good hotel we stayed in a plus room which was very nice but lighting is very dull owing to windows having fixed blind effect on them and subdued lighting in room! This hotel is just a 5 min walk from the Metro and is in easy walking distance to La Rambla and only about a 20 min walk to the harbour and beach! So easy to get around using either the Metro or by foot!! Found café in La Rambla area very expensive charging 6 euros for a coke!!! Be careful when eating or drinking in this area!! One downful of the hotel is that the room service doesn't offer a pot of tea??!! You have to go down to reception to purchase tea bags the continue down to basement to use the hot water in coffee machine which wasn't at all convenient!! Have never stayed in a hotel before that does not serve tea in your room and they do offer room service too??!! Didn"t have breakfast at hotel went opposite to Enscribe bakery which is excellent and has an amazing selection of cakes! The hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful and know the area well. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: if choosing a plus room make sure that it looks out to the garden courtyard and not the inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We’re pleased you to read the Reception Staff provided an excellent standard of customer service, and that you found the rooms to be suitable for your needs.

A Nespresso machine for coffee and tea is set in the basement and it’s possible to use it 24hours.

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, your feedback is very much appreciated.

All the best,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    838
    130
    35
    18
See reviews for
184
1,397
96
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pros:
- the location is very good – very close to the visiting spots, in a nice area right near a subway station and the aerobus stations (Urgell)
- helpful and friendly staff
- the room was pretty big and always clean; we also liked the design and the diffrent lighting settings
- the bad was very comfortable


Cons:
- the breakfast seemed to be overpriced, as the offer was a limited one. We had breakfast there four days in a row, and the changes made in the offer were minor (one hot dish consisting of rice, pasta and something else was changed regularly, and the types of sausages). The fifth day I couldn't eat there anymore, because I was bored of the menu.
- the lighting in the bathroom should be improved as it is almost impossible to apply make-up on
- the sliding bathroom door to the toilet should be replaced with a normal one (had the same kind of bathroom at a hotel in Vienna, but with a regular door for the toilet area). The sliding doors do not fully close (there is a stopper of about 2 cm) and it seems like you share the bathroom with your partner. For me, that is way too much intimacy.

If it weren't for the major problem of the bathroom door, I would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pffyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Soho Hotel Barcelona.

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding the Reception staff and the Housekeeping team that have impeccable standards and maintain the hotel with meticulous cleaning.

The buffet breakfast is enjoyed by many of our guests, who appreciate the range of options from healthy cereals, fruits, fresh orange juices, yoghurts, sausages, rice, pasta, bacon, sweet breads, fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs, a selection of pastries, choices of teas, coffees and hot chocolates, etc.

All the bathrooms can be closed by 2 sliding doors instead of 1, to maintain the privacy of every couple.

We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the near future. We would be thrilled to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and the room was nice and clean. (What you would expect) the staff were very nice and helpful. The only downsides was its on quite a busy road and there was some really bright lights between the blinds and the windows and when the lights in the room were off these lights stayed on and lit up the room. The other was the walls are really thin and the couple with the baby next door were very kind and let there baby cry for hours on end.....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chazghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We use all comments as guidelines to help us on the daily development of the experiences provided by our hotel.

We're truly sorry that you were disturbed in your room but something that we never can resolve it are the normal circumstances like when a baby next door is crying.

We hope that you give us the pleasure of staying with us again in your next trip to Barcelona.

With kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed in Soho for 3 nights and It was a bit disappointing. I think for the prices that this hotel has, should be a lot cleaner, the breakfast was a disaster: - an egg omelette served on a plate, and not in a closed heater, after 20 minute was all dried up and hat they did was, they threw it away and made a new one??? I found this a bit too much. I have nothing positive regarding the breakfast.
The bathroom was very dark, with sliding doors that couldn't have been properly closed. I addressed the problem to one of the staff members, he told me it was a safety issues, but was himself not really sure. True there was a stopper for the door, but the problem was that when you've closed the door the distance between the door and the stopper was 3 cm. He couldn't help me, so I gave up.
The limescale in the bathroom was not a pretty site.
The bed-sheets were clean, the floors so-so.
Don't get me wrong, all this wouldn't matter to me, but it was a birthday present for ma partner and I wanted to be great, so I wanted to book I nicer hotel. It was my first time in Barcelona, so
I'm not really sure, what kind of standards the hotels have.
The thing that I really liked was the design of the hotel and I hope that the management will do something about the bathrooms, because all that nice stainless steel faucets will not hold on for long with limescale of that kind.
Also the staff at the reception was really great, nice and spoke great english and german.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view on the main street, not o loud but you'll have good light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel!

We’re surprised at your comments on breakfast. We have recently done a lot of work on our offering and have continued to receive very positive feedback. We will re check at the hot items and ensure that any product will be dry.

We’re pleased to note that you found the team warm and friendly, which is something we all pride ourselves on!

We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the near future. We would be thrilled to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Plusses:
+ an ok-sized room (not too big), clean
+ the staff was always very friendly and helpful.
+ good location, in-between sights: you walk 10-15 min to rambla, montjuic and the gaudi houses, less than half an hour to the harbour or sagrada famiglia.

Cons:
- the smell in our room was foul a couple of times, apparently the sewer was the cause. They tried to do something about it but with little success.
- it's, unfortunately, quite noisy. We're used to noise and had our earplugs on, but were still awakened a couple of times a night.
- the bed was a bit hard

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenCarrot_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel Soho Barcelona on Tripadvisor.

We do everything we can to minimize the inconvenience to our guests; however, things did not go as planned in your case.

We take your comments very seriously and want to make that during your next visit all will be in order!

All the best,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We slept for 4 nights in the SOHO Hotel in Barcelona.
The hotel is on a perfect spot in the centre of Barcelona, near all the shops and metro stations. The people of the hotel are really kind and they don't mind to help you with any question and are willing to explain everything in English. Our minibar in the room was not working, we told the reception and within 10 minutes, we got a whole new minibar in our room, without any problem.
Our room was really clean and also romantic for a couple to stay. If i go back to barcelona, i would defenitly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisapompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. It is very rewarding for all our team to read such kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming back again one day soon!

With kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Was given a free upgrade. The room was more like an apartment, windows on 2 sides, for which I initially paid just over €60/night. Staff was patient and helpful. Super clean. Very quiet, very good huge bed.
Central, especially if you use the clean, prompt and frequent Barcelona buses and Metro.

Only the breakfast seemed overpriced at €14, but there are lots of breakfast places nearby.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when you boobk ahead. Mine was 5. Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you opinion on Tripadvisor.

We pleased that your visit to Barcelona was overall a pleasant experience.

We very much appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,841 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,049 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Property: Soho Hotel
Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing