We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab boutique hotel in fab city”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #79 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at the Soho hotel for 3 nights in late 2012 had a lovely modern room (Soho plus) overlooking the Gran Via, with a fab balcony to relax on and have a glass of wine or two! The hotel is well looked after and very clean, not to busy and all in all a great choice for Barcelona.
Very friendly and helpful reception staff and hotel is perfectly situated to visit Las Ramblas and the rest of Barcelona city. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the food was ample and very good. Can't find fault with the hotel. Barcelona is a great city for a long weekend break and we found some great bars and restaurants along Las Ramblas. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Gran Via are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spritzerr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an excellent and delightfully quirky hotel. The best feature is the staff, who could not have been more friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to have a room upgrade, with a king-size bed and an "interesting" lighting system. The "see-into" shower with venetian blinds between two sheets of glass was also rather fun, although my wife spoiled it by finding the controls to close the blinds.

It's in a good location, a little away from the main tourist areas, but only about 10 minutes walk away from the Placa de Catalunya and the Ramblas. Don't bother with breakfast in the hotel, but go to the Escriba café across the street, which is excellent.

I only have one quibble -- the WIFI. It had a weak signal and was VERY slow and unreliable. If you need Internet access in the hotel for business or personal use, this could be a problem. For this reason, I have downgraded my overall rating to 4, but in every other respect it would be 5. Hotel Soho, this is 2013. You need to get this technology sorted out.

Room Tip: Some people have said that rooms on the Gran Via side are noisy, but we were on the 5th floor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywilson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was the third time I stayed at this hotel. Booked a terrace room on-street this time. The room and the terrace were just AMAZING. Very big, extremely clean, nice staff. Location is just wonderful. Breakfast is also great, with good choice and good fruit. Booked again for end of June and hope to get the on-street terrace room again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed in last year so this review is based on our experiences then. We couldn't fault the hotel, room or service received whilst there at all. Its located centrally to the Ramblas, which is a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Its also very close to the drop off point for the bus service that runs from the airport which takes out all the hassle of getting trains or taxis. We would have no hesitation in staying here again when we visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garethvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pros
- Room: They were quite stunning for a boutique hotel. Loved the color combination and how the room had been decorated. Very clean from our bed to the bathrooms. We never heard any noises as some people complained. If you close the balcony door at night, you should be able to eliminate the noise.
- Food: We never got a chance to try out the breakfast there. However, I will recommend the desert store across the hotel. The deserts, drinks and especially the chocolate was to die for.
- WiFi: It worked perfectly fine for us.
- Staff: They were absolutely amazing. Everyone was so helpful when we needed help finding a restaurant, metro stop or any sightseeing area. The staff at the reception spent good 10-15 minutes showing us each location we would ask every morning :).
- Transportation: There is a metro of 2 minute walking distance. We took a taxi from the airport which came to about 30 euros.

Cons
- Location: I found the hotel to be a distant from the main hub of attractions. This is from a first time tourist perspective to Barcelona. As for our first time, I would've preferred to stay in las ramblas neighborhood which is where all the restaurants, attractions were. We had to take the metro(s) to all the restaurants and attractions. It takes about 30 minutes to walk to las ramblas or a 30 minute walk to la pedrera.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tari_Nef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at SOHO Barcelona for 4 nights in the middle of June, and loved it! The staff were all so friendly at all hours of the day. Not just friendly, but always happy and keen to go the further mile to improve my visit to Barcelona when out and about. The rooms were immaculate, clean and just so cool/trendy. The pool was amazing too, had a great time there especially helped by the excellent weather while I was there. I will definitely be staying at SOHO Barcelona next time I go there! Thank you to all the staff :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at soho hotel a few years ago and still remember it from time to time. The roof pool is stunning, the location in Gran Via is convenient, the staff was sooo friendly, my room was beautiful with lot of natural light, the bed was super comfy, the bathroom was huge and minimalistic, omg the breakfast in the backyard...seriously one of the best hotels I've ever been, 120 % recommended. I go to barcelona like twice a year but I stay at my boyfriend's familyhouse, they are lovely people, but sometimes Iam tempted to stay at Soho instead :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4,198 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 519 in Barcelona
2,342 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#69 of 519 in Barcelona
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#65 of 519 in Barcelona
1,714 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#99 of 519 in Barcelona
1,748 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $89 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing