We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #84 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

So many choices in Barcelona. Fantastic city, great restaurants, great bars, great people, great architecture......you get the point. This hotel is just another "great" to go along with the rest of the city. For the price, it's a bargain. The room was very stylish and "Soho" is a fitting name for such a cool atmosphere. But that aside, the staff here are truly professionals and not just "workers". This review is 5 months late but i'm sure it is still accurate. From the moment we arrived, we knew we made the right decision. The location is right on the Metro line, easy access from airport. Beautiful and comfortable neighborhood and on a lovely, tree lined street. All the "action" of the city is within easy reach by transit, on foot, or taxi....the choice is yours. Some great places to eat and drink very nearby and you mustn't miss the famous Escriba chocolatier and Cafe, directly across the street from the Soho. It is a landmark in it's own right.
I've saved the best for last. I already mentioned the professionalism of the staff. They were all wonderful. Even the cleaning staff would greet you with a genuine smile in the hallways and wish you a "buenos dias!". The concierges outdid themselves all the time. After only a day or two, most of them already knew you by name and would greet you personally as you walked into the lobby and handed you your keys without you having to remind them which room you were staying in. Though all the staff were outstanding, a special shout out and honorable mention must go out to the concierge Alessio. He was without doubt the best concierge i have dealt with, including some of the "real" 5-star hotels and resorts i have been lucky enough to stay in. He was a true professional and did his job like it wasn't a job. It was like being shown around the city by a good friend or relative who truly loved their city and wanted you to truly love it as well. You can't pay enough for that kind of service. This man deserves all the accolades that i can think of. Hopefully for people reading this review, he is still working there. If he isn't, i would want to stay at a hotel where he is presently. That's how good he is at what he does!
To sum it up, i'd say there are many great hotels in Barcelona and you can't go wrong with many of them and this place falls in that category. Just book it and enjoy.
-Alessandro and Ellina

Room Tip: Ask Alessio for some recommendations....he steered us in all the right places, everytime. Our favour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuceoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Alessandro and Ellina,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience about the Soho with the Trip Advisor Community.

It is a real pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Your very good and detailed feedback is most important for us and was of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

Please be assured that, should your plans bring you back soon to Barcelona, we will be really pleased to welcome you to the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Reception staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    838
    130
    35
    18
See reviews for
184
1,397
96
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent five nights at this hotel in October and overall, it was a comfortable stay for me. I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again or one of the hotel's sister properties if I ever return to Barcelona. See my pros and cons below (from my perspective), as well as my photos. Note that the hotel is approximately six floors high and the rooms either face the Gran Via (in the front) or a small city park (in the back).

Pros:
1) Great location.
2) Modern-styled hotel. Very cool design even though the rooms were on the small size.
3) Clean hotel/rooms and comfortable bed.
3) Helpful and accommodating staff, particularly Jonas and BOTH breakfast attendants.
4) Good breakfast despite the high cost.
5) Great room service.
6) Cool roof-top deck with pool, but air temperature was too cool to use.

Cons:
1) Noise: Windows are not double-pane. Even though I had a room facing the city park in the back of the hotel (on the 5th floor), I could hear the kids playing even when the windows were closed. However, it was not that big of an issue during the night.

2) Lighting: Dark bathrooms, and the furniture (chairs and lamps) were not situated to allow for upright reading. Also, confusing buttons to operate the room's lights and it was very difficult (for me) to open/close the room's door. I actually helped another guest get into her room one day.

3) Over-priced breakfast.

4) Lounge was never open during my five night stay.

5) One mini soap in the bathroom, which was wrapped in a plastic wrapper that I could not open without scissors.

6) In-room safe in a very awkward location--difficult to see and input numbers.

7) Limited space to store your clothing.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue for you, ask for a room in the back facing the park (as high up as possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstantTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is close to everything yet apart from the bustle. The Plaza Catalonia is an easy walk. The Metro stop is steps from the hotel. The staff is excellent. Very helpful with anything you ask. The airport bus stops a couple of blocks from the hotel. Lots of restaurants in the area. Great place to stay. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer_WilliamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The last stop of our trip. Very helpful staff, assisted us in trying to book tickets for the football. Rooms are very modern and clean. We never had breakfast at the hotel because its 11€ and I think that is not worth the price when there are lots of great and more interesting options close by (bakery across the road, brunch options a 15 min walk). Very close to metro. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlBrissie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Have a delightful day,

Kind regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good clean hotel in a good location. Short 10-15 minute walk to La Rambla or 50 feet from the metro. Taxi from terminal 1 was 28 Euros. Staff were helpful and check in was nice and easy. The room was good but would say that it lacked storage, no draws or cupboards only a rail and a couple of shelves. This is OK if you are only there a couple of days but we stayed 5 nights so would have welcomed a bit more in terms of shelf space. Lighting deactivated at one point but a quick visit to reception sorted it out, lighting was a bit dark in the bathroom though. We didn’t eat breakfast in the hotel, there is a cafe over the road that does a decent enough breakfast and a bit cheaper too. The pool was good but only 6 loungers and always occupied but it’s a small area. There is no bar in the hotel but enough places in the surrounding area. There is a cash machine 2 doors down from the hotel and about 4 others just over the street. We usually walk everywhere on a city break but the metro was cheap, clean and efficient and as mentioned hotel is very close to a metro station and you can be at all the tourist hotspots in minutes. Get a T10 card as it works out cheaper. Ticket machines have an English language option and easy to use. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After countless hours poring through websites and agonizing about location, price, and amenities, I finally decided on the Soho Hotel in Barcelona for our trip in the fall of last year. I won’t even bother posting pictures of the room because they wouldn’t do it justice… the hotel really does look like the pictures on the site (shocking, I know).

What I liked about this hotel was the fact that it’s relatively new, the location is convenient to practically everything in the city, the décor and amenities are clean and modern, the service is friendly, and the price tag was surprisingly affordable. I would highly recommend it to travelers with a moderate budget who want a comfortable, attractive place to stay. The metro station is just a block or two from the front door.

If you arrive in Terminal 1 of the airport, get some cash at the ATM (usually much cheaper than exchanging dollars at the kiosks). Take the Aerobus A1 to Gran-Via Urgell (about 5 Euros per person), and request a stop near the Soho Hotel, which is number 543-545. It's quick, easy, and cheap.
(Actual travel date was October 2011)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venesueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay! We are pleased to hear that your time spent in the hotel was satisfactory and that you enjoyed so many aspects of the property.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Barcelona!

Kind regards!

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for a few night break at the end of October. We can not fault anything with the hotel. It is not a central hotel but is only a short walk to Plaza Catalonia and La Rambla where much of the local action happens. The hotel is very modern and up to date with rooms of a fairly standard. Staff very helpful and all spoke fluent English. Some people have moaned about the bathroom having the see-through wall. There is a button near the sink to close the blinds within the glass wall making this room no different to any other bathroom. We didn't use any hotel facilities, however the pool on the roof terrace would be inviting during the summer season and the room service is not particularly over priced.

We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel. Instead we went to Bellapan, a small, very spanish cafe a few doors down from the hotel (turn left out of front door). Here we paid around 6 euros for 2 drinks and 2 filled croissants. We were warned about the amount of pick pockets around the main tourist areas but as long as you are aware and keep an eye on your belongings, you will be fine. We never saw anything to worry us. I would highly recommend the restaurant 'Taller de Tapas' on La Ramblas. Obviously a tapas restaurant, but fantastic food, good service and a reasonable price. As long as you don't mind walking, it is a nice walk down to the beach front and the marina.

We did not realise that our last day there was a public holiday and therefore all the shops and the market were closed, so just a tip to check for these days before you travel!

Overall we had a good few days in Barcelona and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
2,170 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,835 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,043 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,225 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Property: Soho Hotel
Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing