We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place in Barcelona city centre”
Review of Vrabac Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrabac Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice & small Guesthouse, more looking like a boutique hotel than a guesthouse
Each room with its own design, our was facing a little courtyard, so that it was very quiet there and could sleep with open windows
the owner (Nicolas) is very nice and take great care of the guests, indicating nice places to eat
location is very convenient to visit the old city, and easy to reach from the airport (direct VIP buses)

Room Tip: we had the luxury room (en suite), I think it is the largest and nicest of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 244 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

It looks amazing, feels peaceful and you cant get more central than this.
Great breakfast, but wifi didnt work and the showerhead of the communal bathroom was broken off.
It is a seven stairs climb, no problem for us, but if you're not up for that choose an other b&b. Also our window was on a busy shopping street so from early in the morning ( streetcleaners ) to late at night (pubcrawlers) you'll have noise. Ofcourse you're in central barcelona so it is what you can expect but again if you're looking for quiet dont stay near the ramblas.

Room Tip: dont choose this b&b if you dont want to walk 7 stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmie_Burki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I were on a European trip and had just come from a fancy hotel in Paris. We weren't very familiar with Barcelona, and since we booked on a hostel site, we weren't sure what to expect with Vrabac Guesthouse.
When we arrived the airport, we took the Aerobus to Plaza Catalyana. It was about a 5 minute walk to the guesthouse. A little difficult to find at first, as Barcelona's streets are like mazes. Once we found it, it felt really comfortable to be in. The person who checked us in was very nice and helpful, providing a map and giving us information on different popular locations. Our room was on the 2nd floor, with no elevator. There are also no toiletries provided, so remember to bring your own!
What they do have is an amazing breakfast. The community room is so beautiful and comfortable, and they provide breakfast from 9-11am. The food was so good; cheeses, meats, bread, juice, cereal, etc.
For a really comfortable stay in Barcelona, I would recommend Vrabac to anyone. Located on Las Ramblas, where all the tourists are, you definitely don't feel like it when you're in here.

Room Tip: On hostelworld.com, we chose the room with a private bathroom. The best room, large bathroom and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenK748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have just come back from a lovely relaxing stay in Barcelona... Vrabac was perfect, the staff were so accommodating (considering I had accidently booked for the wrong weekend!). Our breakfast was delicious, the location was perfect, and the interior decor was stunning! Will be recommending to all family and friends... and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

-Excellent location in Gothic Quarter on a fairly busy street just off Las Ramblas.
-stayed in deluxe room which was very spacious and clean
-very good breakfast which included a good selection of cheese, meats and breads/cakes and juices
-friendly staff who were happy to provide recommendations
-cost of mini bar was very reasonable
-fresh flowers in the room was a fabulous touch
-I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisGaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Vrabac is a cool little place right in the heart of the Barri Gotic. A beautiful apartment with some lovely original features. It feels like being in your own house. Comprising a number of floors in an apartment building we stayed on the same floor as breakfast and hardly saw another person during the 3 days. The room was front facing to the street and was stunningly gorgeous albeit a little noisy from the street. Great value and so much more fun that a hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Vrabac is a good choice for a stay in Barcelona if you are looking for a very central location. It is one short block from La Rambla, one block from the Boqueria Market and two short blocks to the Barcelona Cathedral. It is within 3 blocks of different starting points for local walking and tapas tours and shopping is just out the door.

My husband and myself stayed 5 nights and found the map provided by Nicolas to be very easy to follow with great suggestions on the back side.

Breakfast in the morning was fresh and of good quality including the house made yoghurt. Our room was one of the larger ones in the back of the Vrabac with a veranda that had two large windows that could be opened during the day and closed if we wanted more quiet. Whenever we returned to the room after being out in the city it seemed like a haven to us.

Recommendations from Nicolas and on the web site sent us out on two walking tours with Runner Bean Tours. Would highly recommend both the City tour and the Gaudi Tour...taking the City one first if possible. His recommendation of the restaurant La Vinateria del Call was so good and the staff so helpful that we went back a second night to try other tapas dishes. We went on the Barcelona Taste tour and enjoyed the information regarding tapas and the enjoyed all 4 of the restaurants on the tour.

The web site advises that there is no elevator as this is a historic building so be prepared to carry your own luggage....There is laundry service available by the B and B staff for 6E for a very large load and it came back, folded and placed on our bed....a bargain....

The wifi connection was great and when we wanted next day tickets to the Sagrada Familia....Nicolas ordered and printed the ticket for us in his office.

A great stay for our first time in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Upstairs back suite with veranda was very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#30 of 516 in Barcelona
4,656 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#111 of 308 in Barcelona
48 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrabac Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrabac Guesthouse

Address: Calle Portaferrisa, 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vrabac Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For further information contact us ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vrabac Guesthouse Hotel Barcelona
Vrabac Guesthouse Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing