We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel for a Barcelona break”
Review of H10 Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Casanova
Ranked #89 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
SW London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for a Barcelona break”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We picked this hotel after reading hundreds of reviews on Tripadvisor. We chose the hotel based on the reviews and location. The best rate we found was with Expedia when they had a 10% discount.
We asked for a quiet room and were allocated a room on the 4th floor at the end of the corridor overlooking Casanova Street. The room was dark at night and very quiet. The only noise was in the morning with housekeeping accessing a cupboard. Do leave the do not disturb on your door or housekeeping will be trying to come in when you are in bed !
The room and bathroom were nicely decorated. We had an issue with the sink which was dealt with quickly. I took a travel kettle, if you do this remember to take your own cups and spoons.
All the staff at front desk were very helpful with excellent English. You can buy discounted tourist bus tickets there. We did not try the breakfast buffet as we were not able to find a good rate when booking which included this.
The location was excellent, we could walk everywhere. We used the public bus once and a few taxis, all cheap and reliable. We had great weather and found Barcelona and the beach to be extremely busy.
Our only moan at the hotel was that the rooftop bar was closed in such nice weather. One day we counted 20 people sat up there looking at an unstocked bar. We were delighted to get up the following morning to find an invitation to the opening of the rooftop bar and 2 free glasses of cava. A good job by management but only sending 1 barman was insufficient. We also got a voucher for 2 free glasses of cava when we arrived. The gym is small but all you need.
A great hotel ,would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director General at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Costumer,

Dear Daniela,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Csanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.
is a pleasure to receive comments like yours that confirms that our company policy is the right one, recognizing our customers as the foundation of our daily work.

We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

David Catà
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    643
    106
    31
    21
See reviews for
229
819
45
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

very nice hotel, modern with friendly staff and clean rooms. Its very good situated for visiting the city. We'll come back.We were given a voucher for two free glasses of cava which was nice, as well to days later for the opening of th swimming pool on the roof.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director de Recepción at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Eddy,

Dear Daniela,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Casanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.


We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

Carmen Garcia
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Good modern hotel with freindly staff and good size clean rooms. Very convient for the old town and the metro stations. Breakfast - standard fare, a bit short on variety and can run out of space at busy times. Nice roof top bar - sadly not staffed whwn we were there.

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jordi S, Director de Recepción at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Peter,

Dear Daniela,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Casanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.

We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

Carmen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived here for a 2 night stay in April 2014. We were given a room with a balcony but unfortunately it stank of smoke. As one of us is an asthma sufferer, we explained this to the reception who were quickly in sorting us out another room.
We were given a voucher for two free glasses of cava which was nice.
The roof top has a lovely view of the south of Barcelona, there is a small pool to cool down in on a hot day and a few sun beds.
The double bed was a little small by normal hotel standards but nothing to worry about.
A little dusting of the floors wouldnt go a miss either.
All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise and pollution of the Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianuk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director General at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Joanna,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Csanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.


is a pleasure to receive comments like yours that confirms that our company policy is the right one, recognizing our customers as the foundation of our daily work.

We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

David Catà
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I travel every 6 weeks for my job to Barcelona.
The last few times I have used this hotel.

This time at checking I requested a room at the backside of the hotel, which was not possible.
The aircon is only working from 10 to 20h, so not at night. The room was way too hot at night I opening up the windows was not possible as the street side is so loud! This meant that I did not have any good night rest!

In the morning the kanteen is too small for the hotel and as a result I had to wait for my table... If you have to go to work and be in the office at a certain hour this is really not an option nor acceptable!

At check out I again complained but no reaction nor any proposal from the hotel. This means that as a guest you are just a number, as a regular guest they keep on treating you the same.

I will stay next time in a different hotel where they really have a decent guest relation management.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director de Recepción at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Bjorn,

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to not cover your expectations.
We would like to inform you that during the winter we have a special timetable for the air conditioning and heating but from the last week, when the temperatures increased, we have air conditioning during all day.

In H10 Casanova Hotel try tou give the best for our guest.

I am very sorry about the incidences and I understand your unpleasent situation.
Once again thanks you for your opinion. As we belive the guest comments help us to improve.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel last December for 2 nights on a Friday/Saturday night on a short stop in Barcelona while vacationing in Germany. Having never been to Barcelona before, we chose this hotel based on other reviews and it did not disappoint! It was very easy to take the Aerobus from the airport. The front desk staff were very helpful with any of our questions - helping us reserve tickets to the Gaudi Cathedral and letting us know that we were walking distance to the fountain show. The room and the bathroom were clean and well maintained. Our window faced onto the main road, so we did get some noise at night. But overall, the location, the service and the value were excellent for our short visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksundae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director de Recepción at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Costumer,

Dear Daniela,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Csanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.

We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

David Catà
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed last October, going back in June...can't wait! The staff are amazing! So friendly and helpful. Loved the rooftop bar and we got a couple of complimentary cavas YUM, it was so chilled up there! Breakfasts are awesome too!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna-bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi S, Director General at H10 Casanova, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Joanna,

We want to thank you for choosing our H10 Csanova Hotel for your stay in Barcelona, as well as we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.
is a pleasure to receive comments like yours that confirms that our company policy is the right one, recognizing our customers as the foundation of our daily work.

We hope that in the not too far future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again between us!
Yours sincerely

David Catà
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#88 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#83 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#36 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#114 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Casanova

Property: H10 Casanova
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 559, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Casanova 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few metres from Placa Catalunya, Passeig de Gracia and Les Rambles, H10 Casanova is located in a beautifully refurbished 18th century building. The hotel’s services include the new Sky Bar terrace with views of Barcelona, bright, elegant rooms, the delightful Ona Lounge, a Despacio Spa Centre and 7 meeting rooms.​ The comfortable rooms at the H10 Casanova have very modern and functional decor and are equipped with all the amenities needed to ensure a pleasant stay. The Ona Lounge offers a selection of fusion tapas and a menu specialising in cocktails and premium gin and tonics. Weekends are party time with live DJ sessions. And on summer evenings, relax with a cocktail at our 8th floor Sky Bar, as you admire the sunset over Barcelona.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Casanova Hotel Barcelona
Casanova By Rafael Hotel
Casanova By Rafael Barcelona
H10 Casanova Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing