We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Friendly Staff. Extremely comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Ranked #121 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value. Friendly Staff. Extremely comfortable room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Excellent place to stay! We booked the room for a significant savings on Expedia the night prior to arrival. My wife and I were spontaneously travelling throughout Spain for our honeymoon. We were given an upgrade to a deluxe room with a seaview terrace. The room was very clean, quiet, and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Location was great. Walking distance to Port Olimpic. where there are fabulous restaurants and bars. Our favorite restaurant was La Fonda for Sunday lunch. Amazing lunch experience. Trust me....go there. Excellent paella and amazing seafood. Hotel was close taxi ride to Parque Guell and La Sagrada Familia. The hotel staff was very helpful, professional, and friendly. On the downside, the room A/C was weak and the wifi connection was weaker. But those things were meaningless on our vacation. We will return here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRSOMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    792
    215
    60
    30
See reviews for
317
1,034
98
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Skipper for 3 nights as my partner had a conference in Barcelona. What a disappointment. The hotel building itself is very new and has a beautiful pool courtyard and a view of the ocean, a rooftop pool with bar (which I never saw open) and very modern rooms (with balconies). However there were various aspects that just do not live up to their 5-star rating.

The chambermaids were rude and would knock and immediately open the door twice catching me in a state of undress - instead of apologising and leaving immediately on one occasion she stood with the door open and kept asking when I was going to leave so she could make up the room! On another occasion a maid opened the door and when I shouted that the do not disturb was on I had to deal with 3 maids holding up the do not disturb saying I had it the wrong way around... this didn't make sense as on both sides it indicated that they should not enter and there was a separate card for "Please make up my room".

The bathroom was quite spacious and very modern. The only downside was that the shower and WC shared a common sliding door, which meant if one was in use the other could not be used. It also meant that once you had finished showering the water would run down the door and soak the floor.

The breakfast was very disappointing. There was a decent selection of hot items but the pastries were a letdown. Overall the quality of the food didn't live up to expectations.

The TV system in this hotel is not fit for purpose. The menu system is buggy and slow. On selecting a channel from the menu it would take you to another. A lot of channels were missing (just fuzzy/no signal), those channels we did have would 'skip' and the audio would chirp and pop making them unwatchable. Some channels were just not available (Sky News) - when I asked maintenance they just said it wasn't working and made no attempt to fix it. Most channels were German/Spanish.

We were given complimentary WiFi but I do not know if this was due to the corporate booking. A username and password must be entered every time you connect which is annoying.

The gym was abysmal. It's my understanding that it is being refurbished and so it's currently split over two guest rooms. It comprised of 1 set of rusty dumbells, one chest press, one leg extension, 2 benches, 2 treadmills (one out of order), one 'magnetic' cross trainer (no working display but useable), 4 bikes (all with broken or unchangeable seats making them unuseable). All of the machines had a home gym quality and were not what you would expect in a professional gym. Hopefully the new gym will be better.

The hotel has a decent little business centre with 4 PCs, a Colour LaserJet, and Scanner. Printing is complimentary which was useful. As the hotel is on a busy road with only a small area for 2 cars to stop I found it very difficult to get taxis.

Overall I didn't enjoy my stay at this hotel and would probably book into The W next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twogwailos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Stayed a single night on business and as my title says, i and my clients were very impressed.

I normally stay at The Arts, but on this occasion, due to lack of availability, the "club class" rooms were a little pricey. I always prefer to be close to Port Olimpico and the Pullman came up as a good option in the area.
Due to some confusion with the booking agent we were all given upgraded deluxe rooms which were roomy, modern, spotlessly clean and well accommodated.
Exceptionally comfortable bed and ultra modern bathroom, with a very strange sliding door that forms either a shower wall or a toilet wall / door. The only problem is that once you have had your shower and the door slides back, the water drips onto the floor in the toilet....but that really is only a small point.

The reception is very bright and airy with very helpful staff and also a very pleasant outside seating area for breakfast.
This hotel is literally around the corner to The Arts and minutes from the port and Barcelonetta.
I shall definitely re-visit the Pullman for future business and personal trips to Barcelona

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

This is a very nice hotel located right next to the beach -- it's kind of like the poor relation of the Hotel des Arts. I have stayed here twice, under different management, and both times have been struck by minor deficiencies that took away from the general positives of the place. Examples include just one soap for both sink and shower, a leaking shower (both times in different rooms), a broken hair dryer, and no clock/alarm in the room. The cumulative effect is of a less than five-start hotel. A second major downside, as others have noted, is that it's a bit of a hike to the rest of the city, although there is a metro stop very close by.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Hotel

This is a bizzarely named stylish hotel in the Port Olimpic Area. It has a business slant to it but would also be good for people holidaying as well.

Getting There

The cheapest way is to get a T10 ticket at the RENFE station (Spanish Rail) at the airport. This entitles you to 10 journeys of up to 1 hour 15 minutes on the train, metro and bus and any combination of those. You can also use it for more than one person, you just need to time stamp it for however many people you are using it for. It costs 7.30 Euros and available from the metro stations. A Barcelona Card also entitles you to free public transport and can therefore use the RENFE to get to the town.

After landing pick up you bags and follow the signs for RENFE, then get the train to Passieg de Gracia. Trains run every half hour and journey takes 30 minutes. Transfer on to Line 4 to La Pau and get off at Cituadella del Villa Olimpic (about 4 stops).
The metro isn't particularly lugagge friendly and the transfer to the metro involves a walk of about 10 minutes with some stairs.

Exit the metro then look for the two big towers (these are very useful for finding the hotel). Head towards the tower on the right (Hotel Arts), and the Hotel Pullman Skipper is 50m to the right. The whole journey takes about 1 hour.

Other options to get there from airport by public transport are the Aerobus (which is not included in a T10 ticket or Barcelona card)which will drop you off in Placa Catalunya and the regular bus service.

The Room

We booked through Expedia and got a special deal on a Superior room, however we were intially put in a Classic Room. The Classic Rooms have a 'city view' (i.e. the Ring Road) and no balcony. The hotel explained that the expedia bookings come through to them as a booking for a Classic Room so be aware of this. They were happy to change our room when we showed our booking.

I would definately recommend the Superior Rooms. We staying in one that faced the sea and which meant the balcony got a lot of sun in the morning. In the hotter months it might be better to stay in the east facing rooms as their balconies were shaded.
The sea facing rooms were numbered 27-45 and the east facing 1-26. You'll only see the sea if you're on the fourth floor or above and the hotel has six floors.

The grounds are very stylish and a pleasure to look at from the balcony.

The bathroom was clean and spacious with a separate shower and large bath.
A Flat Screen TV with some English channels and DVD player that will also play CDs are provided. The TV can be played through speakers in the bathroom.

The Hotel also has a DVD rental facility.

Location

It is located in the Port Olimipic area about 100m from the beach. There are plenty of trendy bars/clubs around which double up as fancy restaurants e.g. Shoko, the ICE bar, Opium bar and CDLC as well as the more cheesy row of bars/clubs/restaurants in the port itself.

The old town is about 15 mins walk away if you take the direct route past the gasnatural (butterfly) tower and a leisurely 30 minute stroll if you walk along the seafront and through Barcelonetta.

All the main tourist attractions in Barcelona are spread evenly throughout the city and can be accessed easily by bus/metro but I recommend walking if you have the time. Check out the Parc de la Cituadella. The Zoo there is also worth a visit.

The metro stop (Cituadella del Villa Olimpic) is 5 mins walk away and is on the line to barcelonetta (if you're lazy).

A supermarket can be found in a shopping centre about 10 mins walk away in "El Centro de la Villa" on Google Maps.

There is a cafe next door to the hotel which does breakfasts + sandwiches etc.

Other facilities in the Hotel

It has a gym and spa (which weren't open when we stayed, check the hotel website for more details) and 2 pools, one on the roof which is open all year round and slightly heated. There's also a jacuzzi on the roof. The main pool in the centre of the hotel is outdoor and open in the summer.

The Syrah restaurant is open all day and is where you have your breakfast. Breakfast is good but nothing particularly special. We didn't eat there for lunch/dinner but reviews suggest the food good but the atmosphere is lacking.

The bar is expensive for spirits (12 euros a time ouch) but you can get a beer for 4.50 and a glass of cava for 4.50. Room service has a minimum 5 euro charge as well.

Wireless internet is also free throughout the hotel and is reasonably speedy

Overall

Would definately stay at this hotel again. Top notch.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimiSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I was lucky with my room being on the 6th floor and with sea view. The location is a bit remote, walking distance to south/west end of La Rambla is a good 15 minutes and you can easily walk/drive by since it's as charming as a parking garage.

Breakfast is certainly not worth 25 Euro, unemotional atmosphere and scarce buffet,
let alone present staff being rather absent.

When I learned internet access was free I was the more surprised that, lacking ice-machines, they charge 5 Euro for bringing Ice to the room. Asking for ice at the lobby bar is rather useless, only after showing my 45 magnum they would give me a glass full and not charge for it. Anyone I spoke to in service did not want to comment on that ridiculous policy.

Finally I was asking for late check-out, at midnight on a Saturday, and was asked to check back on Sunday, my day of departure. Well, I had better get up early anyway, not to miss the ample desayuno.

I guess Accor just doesn't do it for me, nice try, but I better spend just a little more than 150 Euro a night and get something real.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at the Skipper Pullman four nights over the New Year Period. The hotel is located along Passeig Litoral Mar and right in front of the pedestrianised beach area which is littered with little eateries and bars. At a mere 200 m from the entrance of the hotel is the Ciutadella-Vila Olimpica metro stop of line 4 giving you direct quick access to the more central parts of the city (passeig de gracia, gothic quarter, ...). The hotel is flanked by the Arts hotel on one side and by the Barcelona biomedical research center on the other side. The neighbourhood is very safe and pleasant to walk through. The rooms of the hotel are comfortable with high-quality linnen and upholstery in the rooms. The bathrooms are spatious and equiped with all modern amenities. The rooms also have a second (inner) door that provides extra insulation from possible corridor noises. The rooms basically come in two varieties : the exterior ones that face the streetside have no terraces and generally less light. Windows can't be opened either. The interior rooms face the garden/pool area of the hotel and give either a frontal sea view of sideway sea view. These rooms have terraces and have larger windows that can be opened. The breakfast is of a good standard. Staff is polite but does not ooze with personality or with attentiveness. Wifi is free and available everywhere in the hotel. The business center is likewise free of charge and available 24/24. All in all this is a very nice hotel of the Accor group that offers value for money. One default in the design of the rooms was the shower door which does allow a trickle of water to escape onto the bathroom floor when taking a shower. This could be easily remedied in my opinion though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,978 reviews
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#168 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#184 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#31 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Barcelona Skipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Barcelona Skipper

Property: Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Address: Avinguda Litoral 10, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Barcelona Skipper 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona, Port Olímpic, only 50 metres from the beach.An ideal location next to the beach and an excellent starting point, no matter what your reason for visiting Barcelona.Our prime location features fast connections to the airport and the main roads leading into the city. Taxis, the underground metro, buses and trams are just a few meters away from the hotel... plus a relaxing stroll alongside Barcelona's beautiful beaches will bring you to the world-famous Rambles. A 20-minute walk in the opposite direction will lead you to the new Diagonal Mar district with its famous Barcelona Forum Convention Centre, the flagship of the new Barcelona.All rooms are touched with contemporary design and are fully furnished and fitted to provide optimal comfort. The hotel's extensive common areas are filled with natural Mediterranean light and offer a luxurious view of our private interior garden.Our personalised service and commitment thrives on meeting your needs so that you can make the most of your stay in Barcelona.Pullman Barcelona Skipper is the ideal hotel that combines business and leisure, creating a product that can offer you the best in services and technology to ensure success, combined with premium recreation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Barcelona Skipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Barcelona Skipper Hotel Barcelona
Ab Skipper Barcelona
Hotel Ab Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing