We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here ever again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Ranked #140 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not stay here ever again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms are too small for 4star, it was very stuffy and quite warm but we could not use our air conditioning because the hotel had turned it off for winter( despite the website displaying climate control available we could not cool down) nor were we offered any other alternative! To make it worse we had to sleep with the window open and had to listen to the rubbish collection trucks and party people making noise till 4am!! The beds are too hard as well and Internet is terrible! When we told the person at the front desk on Saturday morning we would like to check out and cancel the remainder of our stay we were told wait until Monday as there was no manager!! Un believable and worst hotel I have stayed in!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goschumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your comments as they help us to improve our services and facilities. I would to say that our rooms comply with the measures imposed in size. I've been reviewing complaints during the dates of your stay and we have no relation whatsoever to the air conditioning, ventilation or booking cancellation, so I think you didn't forward the complaint to our front desk, who I'm sure would have been glad to help, as we always work to make our guests feel at home.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    585
    228
    107
    76
See reviews for
538
496
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location, in an old house in the middle of the Ramblas. Ideal starting point for nice walks (close to the harbour, close to the opera, very close to a metro station.

You can choose between street facing rooms with a risk of noise (since there's an english pub in front of the hotel). If you can choose the non-street facing rooms. Try to stay on a higher floor (3 or more) that way you minimize a bit the noise risk. We stayed there in september 2012 for 4 days in a street facing room. Only the first night we had some noise (broken bottles and some screamin "Oy mate !" ;-)).
We stayed there (2 adults and 1 child (7)). No children actity in this hotel.

The hotel needs some freshening up. The corridors are very dark, no windows and black paint. The pictures on the site of the hotel are too flattering.

Breakfast is OK, especially when it's not raining, you can sit outside (breakfast is always at the promotional tariff of 8 euros instead of 16). Internet is for free and you can as many interbnet vouchers as you want at the hotel reception.

Beds are not so good, you sleep on a matrass on a piece of wood but I didn't sleep to bad, the matrasses were OK.

Overall an OK hotel for a city trip, a bit too pricy for what they are offering. Helpfull personnel.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing and stay at least on the third floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, as I always do, I would like to thank you for chosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for your feedback, as they help us to improve our facilities and services. As you say, the hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the city, close to Las Ramblas. We take note of all your suggestions in design. We will be glad to welcome you again in any of our High Tech & Petit Palace Hotels in Barcelona, Madrid, Sevilla, Valencia, Malaga, Salamanca, Bilbao and Getxo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted, right off las ramblas and definitely request a courtyard room to cut out the noise. The rooms when first completed would have been fantastic however the white walls are now looking a little grey and need a good clean or lick of paint. The ensuite is a great size however the bathroom door does not shut or even have a latch mechanism to close this?!?! The reception staff were very helpful and I would return based on location, however a good clean and a functional bathroom door would make all the difference!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlou909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Petit Palace Opera Garden during your stay in Barcelona and I would like to thank you also for for commenting your impressions about your stay with us. Comments like yours help us to improve and become better day by day.
One of our main targets is making our guests feel always welcomed, I really appreciate your positive comments about your experience during your stay at the Petit Palace Opera Graden.
Concerning your comments about the standard room I would like to inform you that we have just started a very important works’ phase of which the greatest target will be the improvement of the rooms and their facilities quality.


Best regards

Alexandre Puig Cartes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent hotel on the whole, well appointed rooms, decent breakfasts. Though staff on breakfast duty were harried. Free wi-fi. Fantastic central location, nice terrace.
However, no hot water for most of the day on our first day and no recompence offered.Not even an apology! Staff on the whole lovely, but standard of customer service depended on who was on duty. a couple were quite surly and unfriendly. for a four star hotel, you would expect consistency.

Room Tip: Room 204 was spot on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Petit Palace Opera Garden during your stay in Barcelona and I would like to thank you also for for commenting your impressions about your stay with us. Comments like yours help us to improve and become better day by day.
Concerning the hot water issue, I would like to let you know that we had some problems with the heat that had been solve on the same day and I would like to apologize for these inconvenience.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Petit Palace Opera Garden

Best regards

Alexandre Puig Cartes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything went smoothly but without the California friendliness that I enjoy at home. The room was small but well supplied and we were happy to have a laptop that worked just fine, even for Skype. I think the "high tech" aspect of this hotel is the brand name, not the services in the hotel itself.

Convenient location and no need to pay the 15 Euros for breakfast at the hotel because we could step out the door and have a choice of 5-10 places for coffee and pastry. The hotel was quiet enough, given that it is one minute off the Ramblas. We took a cab from the airport and wish we had known you can get there easily by airport bus. As for staying on the Ramblas--well it is the center tourist area and an easy way to get a start in Barcelona but we would probably stay in another neighborhood next time.

We were quite surprised to see this hotel had four stars. There is nothing luxurious about it. And in fact for our second stay, we stepped across the street to Hotel Ingles which was one or two star, about half the price and we had a big old style room with modern appointments (but no computer) Remember hotels which provide restaurants always charge more for the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room there are many nooks and crannies that presumably give different views and diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. As you indicate you have good computer, wifi, and other High Tech services as power showers, king size bed, balcony rooms, business centre services in public areas, indoor garden, ride bike rental, luggage, daily newspaper, national and international, fax and copier, parking next to the hotel, laundry and ironing service among others. We will be glad to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel in September 2012. The location of the hotel was perfect – just off the Rambla and only a minute’s walk from the Liceu Opera House. The hotel could have also been perfect were it not for a few little glitches. My room (2101) was very small and you needed to be a contortionist to get past the wall mounted television to the doors that opened onto a small but very pleasant private terrace. The sides of the bath were alarmingly high which, combined with the glass shower screen and limited space made it dangerous getting in and out of. There was a laptop provided in the room but the left mouse key did not work thus rendering it pretty useless. Additionally there was no desk for the laptop (no space available) so it was very difficult for me to use my own laptop. Fortunately I am a good sleeper as otherwise I might have been kept awake by the slamming of the outer door to the part of the hotel in which my room was located. In fairness I should mention that my colleague’s room (2103) had none of these problems and was a much better room. Breakfast was not bad, although unless you got there at the right time – just after they had been delivered to the hot cabinet - the scrambled eggs were pretty poor (not at all bad at the right time!).
I was rather disappointed to discover that the hotel had no bar, although there was plenty of space for one.
The staff were helpful enough but did not seem to really care enough about helping the guests, although there were of course exceptions to this. On balance I liked the hotel but it does rather need to sharpen up its act. Would I stay there again? Probably yes if I was in Barcelona to visit the Opera House.

Room Tip: Room 2101 is very small and may not suit light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalanBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Petit Palace Opera Garden during your stay in Barcelona and I would like to thank you also for for commenting your impressions about your stay with us. Comments like yours help us to improve and become better day by day.
Concerning the size of your room, I would like to let you know that we have just started a works phase of which the greatest target has been the improvement of the the rooms and their facilities quality.
We would like to thank you as well for your suggestions about the bar service, we promise you to take them into account face to the future works’ phase that we are going to carry out in this area.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Petit Palace Opera Garden

Best regards

Alexandre Puig Cartes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Petit Palace Boqueria calls itself a 4 Star hotel. It is located just off La Rambla about a 15 minute walk from the harbour. We were fortunate to get an upgrade from the family room we booked to an apartment. The unit had a king bed and bunk beds with kitchenette on the main floor and a separate king bed in a loft. Both levels have their own full bath. This is a high tech facility with a free laptop and internet in all rooms. The bathrooms had ultra modern upgrades and the unit was clean and comfortable. The real advantage was the location central to all the action and a short walk to markets, shops and public transit. The rate was 170 Euro per night for the first night and 205 Euro for the second night as it was a holiday weekend. We would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#107 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#113 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#217 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
El Raval
Hesperia Ramblas
Hesperia Ramblas
#155 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#108 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Boqueria Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Boqueria Garden

Property: Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Address: C/ La Boqueria 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Boqueria Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel is a hotel in Boquería of Barcelona with a unique accommodation offer for families and executives and with exclusive services such as iPads, Wi-Fi, cots, bicycles and accommodation for pets, everything for free. The new Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel, which is the result of the union of the Petit Palace Opera Garden Hotel and the Petit Palace Boquería Hotel, is a hotel with garden in Ramblas of Barcelona, a hundred-year nook protected for its special value, and with an outdoor terrace perfect for living special moments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Boqueria Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing