We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Ally's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ally's Guest House
Ranked #90 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here fro 2 nights in early October in a lovely twin room in Ally's guesthouse I. The room was fairly basic but comfortable and very clean. There was ample choice for breakfast and it was all tasty. The owner was really helpful and the location is very central is great for walking aound the city or for using public transport - very near a metro station. Had a great time and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    142
    58
    19
    8
See reviews for
95
175
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here two nights because it was a busy weekend in Barcelona and hotel rates were outrageous. We were in the small Calvet room in Ally's Guest House III. The woman who manages it is very nice and kept things very clean. The room was a bit spartan and the bed a little soft, but everything was adequate. The shared bathrooms were clean, but there was a bit of a line to use one of the showers the first morning I was there. Breakfast was basic - mostly some packaged pasteries, yogurt, meats and cheeses. It was a nice place and conveniently located and is a reasonable value.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dctravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ally's guest house was a lovely place to stay; clean, friendly, safe and very well priced. The location is perfect for a city break as we were able to walk to all central locations easily. The owner is very kind and helpful - she gave us a map and helped us with public transport and where to go. Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety (perfect for the price). There are two shared bathrooms, both clean with goods showers. Beds comfortable and our room had a great view. I recommend Ally's with confidence and I would definitely stay there again. Enjoy-Barcelona is great place to visit xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lozface1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is perfectly located near to Passeig d Gracia and 2 metro stations. It is not in the middle of the Ramblas which is GOOD but its close to it. The area is very SAFE, you can walk in the middle of the night anywhere around.

Very CLEAN and cute .... The flat is very well kept, although the building is old everything is clean and has a very french feel to it. Rosa the host is very nice and accommodating.

A bit noisy ... On the other hand, it is a Guest House, so you can hear every single thing that goes on in the flat after 6am. So wake up early and go see Barcelona !!
Also ask for a room with a WINDOW. Ours didn't have one and was a bit claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarvar, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The accomodation is in a central place. Every sight is easily accessible. The subway L5 (Blue Verdaguer Station, exit: Bailen) is a few minute walk. The Sagrada Familia is also 10 minutes on foot. Supermarkets, restaurants are near. The public transport in Barcelona is perfect and easy to use.
I spent 7 nights here. Its safe, very clean, nice area, wide room. Ally's Guesthouse II. Room: Picasso. The disadvantage of the room is that it has a view of the busy Diagonal street, so its quite loud day and night, and the beds are narrow. You might want to ask about other rooms too.
The host Rosa can speak only a little bit of English, but is very helpful and friendly.
You may press the "SEGON" button in the elevator (2nd floor. Ground floor is "PLANTA")

The breakfast is served a bit late at 8:30 AM, but it is served sooner if requested. Toast, bread, fresh fruit, compote, butter, jam, cheese, colds, coffee, tea, fruit juice. During the day theres juice in the fridge, nescaffee, tea. You can also use the kitchen, microwave, refridgerator etc. The common rooms (toilet) are suitable and well equipped. Internet is for free and there's Wifi available. Everything is really comfortable. I can bravely advise this, but you might want to choose an other room if you get easily disturbed by noise.

Tip: It's a good idea to buy a T10 card, a subway ticket is 2 Euro, with the T10 you can travel 10 times, and it's also valid for the Renfe train from the airport to the city, and back. It's scheduled to depart every half an hour. Between the airport terminals the bus transfer is free.
Getting to the Ally's Guest House is easy: Train R2 (Terminal 2) until Sants Station – change to Metro L5 (blue line) get down at Verdaguer Station – exit: Bailen.
The best is the Gothic quarter and the La Boqueria market that can be found here.
For those who like to visit a peaceful beach, should take the Renfe train to outside the city, to the shore.
It doesn't matter if the queue is long at the Sagrada Familia, it advances fast, you don't have to wait a lot.
In Barcelona not too many people speak English, but everyone is very helpful.
Have fun, it's a cool city!

Room Tip: Picasso room is noisy ! You might want to ask about other rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hi everybody!
Just want to shear my experiance with everyone of you staying in Ally's Guest House, while me and my friend was on our 1st trip to Barcelona for holiday.
It was such an fantastic opportunity to stay over night in this lovely Bed and Breakfast house, very close to any direction wherever you would like to get.
Every morning we have been served nice, fresh breakfast, no matter if we must shear bathroom with few other rooms in our floor, there wasn't any queuing up either in the morning or evening, and bathroom always was left clean and tidy. We had a room with small balcony, where we could spend late evening hours sitting outside, having glass of wine and looking,how world pass by! We was lucky, that air temperature even at the beggining was +30C every day, during night,the temperature didn't drop down so much, but in the room, because of air condicioner kept us cool during sleep!

Room Tip: Batllo Room, Principal floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited Barcelona and stayed at Ally's Guest House in May for 5 nights. From the beginning Graziela (the host) was very friendly and helpful. We traveled with 2 small kids (four and two years of age) and we had a blast. The location was PERFECT, 100m (5 min walk) from the subway station. We can't wait to go back to Barcelona and Ally's Guest House will be our first option for accommodation. The breakfast was good and plenty as well.
Claudiu, Canada

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clau79y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#79 of 307 in Barcelona
44 reviews
Eixample
Casa Maca Guest House
Casa Maca Guest House
#130 of 307 in Barcelona
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#49 of 307 in Barcelona
341 reviews
Blanc Guesthouse
#38 of 307 in Barcelona
359 reviews
Albergue Studio
#94 of 307 in Barcelona
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ally's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ally's Guest House

Property: Ally's Guest House
Address: Bruc Street n 150 | Corner Diagonal Av, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ally's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allys Guest House Barcelona bed and breakfast is charming and elegant yet affordable, with spectacular views of Barcelona. Centrally located close to the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ally's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ally`s Guest House Hotel Barcelona
Ally's Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing