We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember it's a budget 'hotel'”
Review of Hostal Felipe II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Felipe II
Ranked #314 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For what we paid (3 nights accomodation and flights at a reasonable hour for £185 - bargain!) you have to expect it to be basic. we paid for two double rooms with private bathrooms, one was fine, the other was very small and although it had a private basin and shower their toilet was shared with two other rooms which wasnt good. they hostal did refund us $30 as a goodwill guesture but i would confirm with the staff what the room is actually including before you leave!
their customer service was very good, good English and very helpful for local knowledge too.
the comunal areas were a bit scary at first but you get used to it. there is a bar just next door which was really handy, seemed like a bit of a student dig but the cocktails were nice and the music was alright., nice to be able to have a drink after the metro closes without expensive transport.
all in all, it was a great break and would recomend it to anyone - just keep your expectations of a cheap hotel reasonanble!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Zoe804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

It is by far the loudest hostel i have ever been to. Sleeping till 8-9 was a luxury that was very difficult to achieve. When we arrived they told us they had some problems with our room and accomodated us in a 'cleaning cupboard' conversion with no toilet in,window in wall coming out onto a hallway. Staff was really lovely so im giving them so credit for it. Next morning we saw people moving out of room that meant to be ours-nothing like rubbing crap in customers face. It seemed like they tried to make the most out of it and divided one big room into a 3small ones. Wether you believe it or not-it was difficult to see the sky from our window as it was so close to opposite wall and we could peffectly hear other guests. I cant give it very good marks as its been run in a slight brainless way with lack of consideration about the guests. Make sure you tak ear plugs with you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguliusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we had a appartment instead of triple bedroom. It was great! NIce people!
Go to bar seven , the have great pina colada's!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank hanneke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Almost everything. After emailing ahead to confirm the price for a room for us and our young child (paid in advance) we arrived and where asked to pay an extra 150 euros by the none English speaking manageress! There was a lovely new girl working there who translated for us and was also shocked by her boss's attitude. She tried to explain the situation was unacceptable to the manager who then said "The customer is NOT always right!" then
promptly sacked her for taking our side! We ended up paying an extra 30 euros for a much smaller room with no bathroom (we had already paid for one) as it was too late to find somewhere else and our daughter was tired. The window was impossible to open as it opened over the bed and was dangerous. But the window had no view anyway as it faced on a small (3 metre square) court yard which constantly smelt of sewage. Nothing to cook with or
even make tea. Incredibly slow Wi-Fi. AVOID!!

Room Tip: avoid this horrible place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Loulou B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

i booked a room in it's mallorca's building, but then being offered another room next to barcelonetta with additional EUR10. Voila! i got a small apartment!! the room was clean and tidy, spacious, the bathroom was also clean. it's very close with the beach. the only less impressive thing is that it is quite far from the metro station and the aisle were dark. the ladies at the hotel were helpful and speaks good english.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#433 of 517 in Barcelona
166 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#340 of 517 in Barcelona
865 reviews
Hostal Sans
#366 of 517 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#24 of 308 in Barcelona
679 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#21 of 736 in Barcelona
1,603 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Felipe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Felipe II

Address: C/ Mallorca, 329 - Floor 3, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $25 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Felipe II 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A value colourful hostel in Barcelona If you're looking for welcoming, quiet and of value accommodation right in the centre of Barcelona, you've hit the jackpot with Hostal Felipe II. We are characterised by the personalised and friendly treatment we give our guests. YOU WILL FEEL AT HOME HERE! Modern, colourful and very bright, the hostel has been recently reformed. Our HOSTAL FELIPE II, is situated in the best, central and SAFEST part of the city, next to Avenida Diagonal, ten minutes walking from Paseo de Gracia and very close to La Sagrada Familia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Felipe II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Felipe II Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing