We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice hotel”
Review of La Ciudadela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Ciudadela
Ranked #252 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We went there in 4 people, all we wanted was a clean and tidy place to sleep. the hotel was ok, well located. Staff with basic english but nice people.
Rooms were clean and quite nice, bathroom as well. We got rooms with "back windows' which ment that we couldn't really open them - the view was internal, very tiny , kind of square..... But since we just slept there it was ok. And it was very quite in the room because windows were not facing streets.
Breakfast was ok, fresh with great coffie.

If someone is looking for good place to sleep and rest I can recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicol21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 272 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at the hotel Ciudadela for 5 nights at the end of our travels through Spain. A very short subway ride from the heart of all Barcelona, this was lovely quiet destination to spend time. The staff was wonderful and the room was clean, roomy enough and had a wonderful view of Ciudadela Park and the zoological museum across the street (see photos). Also a short walk through the park to the beach. We had full internet access and while no phone in the room, the desk one was available all the time. We ate at the restaurant one night and the paella was wonderful. All in all the staff made us feel welcome. We highly recommended this hotel to our friends in Barcelona for friend and family visiting. We will plan to stay here on our next trip to Barcelona. WHAT A GREAT CITY!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Hotel La Ciudadela is an old hotel, basic and clean. It is located opposite Ciudadela parque which is very nice and its about a15min walk to Las Ramblas. We enjoyed the location being a little out of the main noisy streets. The room was basic but had everything you need and the bathroom was old but again clean. The basin drainage was poor which we reported to the cleaning staff. Most of the staff had limited English but were still very helpful and friendly. The cafe is good and I highly recommend the paella - I'd return just for this! I would stay here again. If you are looking for a basic, good value for money hotel I suggest this one but dont expect 4*.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank Roseanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

This hotel was in an okay location for Barcelona. It was about a 10-15 minute walk from Franca station, where the train from the airport terminates and 10-15 minutes in another direction for an eating area near the Santa Maria del Mar church.
Anything else was really a metro ride away, but the Arc de Triomf station is about 5 minutes pleasant walk down the avenue.

The room was small, but lovely, even though ours looked out over the busy street corner. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a lovely large shower.

The thing that disappointed me most was the staff. We arrived late (approx 11pm) and noticed that the restaurant downstairs was stil busy. We asked at check-in when the kitchen closed and was told 30 minutes. When we returned 10 minutes later we were told the kitchen was closed. So we wandered out and found a take-away for a sandwich and some chips to return approx 30 minutes later to find the hotel restaurant still taking orders and serving food. We were very disappointed.

Other than that, lovely hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Hotel was a good value for the money. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was great. It was easy to get just about anywhere from there either on foot or by bus which stopped right outside the door. Metro was a short walk away. Room was fairly basic but decent sized. About what you'd expect for this price category.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at the Ciudadela for a couple of nights at the end of September. Excellent location right next to the Gothic quarter and an easy walk to the Ramblas and the beach. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Double room a bit small but pleasant and very clean with nice en-suite. Barcelona itself is a beautiful city and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay although, as you might expect, it is very expensive! Given this Ciudadela is excellent value for money, especially considering it's location. A great little hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamBeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

stayed there in early june , my wife booked the trip as a birthday present, we found it to be ideal as a base for exploring the city. the restaurant in the hotel is an added bonus and would highly recommend having a meal there even if you do not stay in the hotel, great food, good service, and it won't break the bank!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank fhoinnaighle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#270 of 515 in Barcelona
478 reviews
Hotel Torino
#386 of 515 in Barcelona
26 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#314 of 515 in Barcelona
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#473 of 515 in Barcelona
463 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#391 of 515 in Barcelona
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciudadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciudadela

Address: Paseo Lluis Companys, 2 | Pujadas, 5, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Ciudadela 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Ciudadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciudadela Barcelona, Catalonia
La Ciudadela Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing