We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. No problems at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #46 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location. No problems at all.”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just back from Barcelona. This hotel was a great choice. We had no problems with staff at all. We were able to check in early. Got a room on the smoking floor and we are non smokers but we were told it would be no problem to change us but they were confident it did not smell. And the room and the floor did not smell of tobacco at all. Perfect spot for a weekend as close to all the tourist sights or well connected Metro. The only thing is that I would have preferred more light in the room and a full length mirror in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    697
    78
    13
    13
See reviews for
351
1,016
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Excellent location if you are interested for city tour (close to the Barcelona official city tour by bus) and shopping. Close to the shore and Rambla Street. Friendly faces in the restaurant and reception and rooms are very clean. If I go for the second time in Barcelona I want to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed two nights and couldn't have picked a better location. It is placed within the heart of the othic Quarter, which is one of the most charming, walkable districts in Barcelona. It is on a quiet side street, so noise is no problem, yet all the major sites and squares are just a short walk away, include the (hectic) Las Ramblas. Be sure to try the tapas places on the square in front of the Catedral, but you might want to steer clear of the daily specials combos - they tend to be not the best offerings, despite the bargain prices. We did enjoy the regular "ala carte" tapas selections very much, tho, not to mention the wonderful wines! The hotel itself was very modern, clean and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. Room sizes are not huge, but more than adequate. Restaurant breakfast was expensive - probably better deals to be had elsewhere unless it is included in your package. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamasue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel lives up to its 4* rating, nicely fitted out with comfortably rooms. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic for sightseeing and walking about in an evening. Even though you are centrally based it wasn't too noisy at night. Breakfast was good quality and there is lots to choose from but try and get it included in your hotel deal as E18.50 is a little steep. Small roof top terrace good for a bit of relalaxtion at the end of a busy day, pool small but functional one tiny problem - its freezing! Take your own teabags so you can use kettle in room without having to pay E1.50 a day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and the bathroom had everything we needed (shampoo, hair-dryer, new towels every day etc.). The bed was a little hard, but that is the only negative comment we have. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. The location is perfect, close to the Cathedral and the Rambla, and still very quiet. We had a room facing the back, but the font of the hotel also seems quiet compared to other hotels in the same area. Taxi from the airport cost about 30 euros.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Check-in is at 2pm and when we arrived at 3pm our room was not available. After receiving a complimentary drink at the bar while we waited for our room, we entered a very very warm small room. The room requires a room key to activate the electricity so we waited for 30 minutes before calling the front desk about the AC. We asked for another room thinking the AC wasn't working but they sent the maintenance man instead. He stuck a thermometer in the AC vent and waited 10 minutes before telling us the AC was working fine. We're very experienced travelers and yes the AC in Europe very often is not like the AC at home. However, the AC in this room was barely working. Too tired to make a scene, we took a nap.

We woke to hear music from the hotel lounge below. With the window closed, we could hear the music in the morning, afternoon, and evening. Strangely, we could also hear the toilet flush from another room. The room was small; no lounge chair just footstools and a desk chair. The room was clean and mattress average/hard. The lighting in our room was very dark; there was no overhead fixture. Just spot lights above the bed and a desk light. If we hadn't been exhausted from touring around, sleeping would have been a problem between the lack of AC and noise.

There was one front desk attendant that was very helpful, the others not so much. Breakfast was yummy; a nice selection of breads, good coffee, and the option to order anything from the menu was incuded as well as the buffet items. The hotel location is very central; around the corner from the old Cathedral, 5 minutes from Rambalas, 10 minutes to Catalunya Plaza. The pool was the saving grace; a roof top escape.

Only one of the four computers worked in the business center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Mom0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeam, Director General at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Sir,

I'm sorry for the inconveniences you found and the communications misunderstanding.

Yes our air-conditioning system is working only when guests are in the room, most of our guests consider that this is a positive issue.

The room you had has 25,80 Sqm, what is a nice size for a 4* hotel.

I'm sorry regarding the lounge music, usually it plays very low, not only for hotel guests but also for our neighbours, and we usually do not have complains about it.

Thank you very much for your compliments regarding breakfast, and once more be sure that we will take into consideration all your comments in order to improve our service.

Best regards from Barcelona

Anna Castan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Barcelona so we picked this hotel for it's location which was perfect for getting to all parts of the city and easy to walk to if you get the bus from the airport. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly the room was well modernised and very clean. The hotel had bikes which you could use free of charge to explore the city which seems to be a very popular way to explore. I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lally63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 521 in Barcelona
1,259 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
319 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#61 of 521 in Barcelona
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
1,964 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#79 of 521 in Barcelona
1,831 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing