We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing modern hotel right in the heart of Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #47 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing modern hotel right in the heart of Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were a little concerned about staying so close to Las Ramblas as we had heard all the mugging and pick-pocketing horror stories, however when we arrived, we realised we had nothing to worry about. The hotel is in a very safe and convinient location within Barcelona, its not on a main road, so its very quiet. A short walk to many shops cafes and restraunts. We felt at ease walking around at night near the hotel.
The staff here were very helpful with all of our requests.
Our room was very spacious, including a huge bathroom and huge comfy king size bed.
Our room did not include breakfast but there is a cute cafe next to the cathedral, about 50m from the hotel with a great breakfast.
The rooftop pool was great, after walking around in the heat all morning it was so nice to relax and take a dip, but to get a sunbed or table, you have to get there by 3pm (this could have been because it was high season - August)
The hotel also has a cute courtyard restraunt area to eat or have drinks, but I highly reccomend eating and drinking down near the port/beach area at sunset as there are heaps of gorgeous restraunts and bars right near the sand.
If I was to come back to Barcelona I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harris2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    699
    78
    13
    13
See reviews for
351
1,022
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a recent trip to Barcelona. I picked this hotel over some of the bigger chain hotels (Barcelo, Hisperia etc) even though it's in the same price range. In terms of location, it was perfect. Right by the main Cathedral (as you'd expect given the hotel's name) and in the centre of the old town.

The hotel itself is very modern. It's very comfortable and was immaculately clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helped us with maps and suggestions.

Unfortunately, the room was a little smaller than I would have liked - but it didn't really bother us. If you're someone who likes a very large spacious room then you might not have been so comfortable. The roof terrace was nice, but it wasn't possible to swim in the pool as it was freezing cold (in fact, so cold that 3 pigeons were drinking the water when we arrived!). I think the most frustrating issue was that the hotel charged for tea and coffee in the rooms. I stay in a lot of hotels (usually the big chains) for work and have never once been charged for making myself a cup of coffee in the room. In my opinion, this cheapens the hotel - why would you ask your guests who are paying 150 EUR a night to pay an additional 1.50 EUR for coffee in their room?

All in all, a good hotel (that has the potential to be a fantastic hotel) but I hope the manager takes note of the little things that really do make a difference.

Adam

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

My family and I recently stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. We had two communicating rooms and a third room. The rooms were very comfortable with large modern bathrooms. The breakfasts which were included were very good - part buffet and part service.
The location of the hotel, on a small side street in the old city just off the Cathedral Square was excellent. Quiet but within minutes of Catyluna Square, the Ramblas,and St Jamie Square. The hotel has a small swimming pool at the roof level which was ideal for relaxing with teenagers after a busy day sightseeing. Also an attractive modern lounge area on the ground floor. The free use of computers on the ground floor was very convenient.
We have stayed at a lot more expensive hotels that were not as good value as this one!!!

On our next trip to Barcelona we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aalberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, Norfolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Room was modern and clean, king size bed, average comfort, barthroom with constant hot water, and complmentary toiletries.
Tea making facility provided, but no complimentary tea, coffee, milk or sugar, which was a bit of a let down on their side, however the hotel did provide a small comlimentary bottle of water, although not enough for two people. Mini bar extortionate prices.
For a 4 star hotel I didn't expect to find the wardrobe door held together with masking tape.
Breakfast was very good, with a menu choice, waitress was an asset to the Hotel.
Dissapointed with reception staff on arrival, no offer to take luggage to the room, or give imformation on hotel facilities, meal times etc.
A very good location near the Cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereham_NorfolkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTeam, General Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive comments.

The three points mentioned that did not satisfy you, just to say, that:

I totally agree that reception team should have help you with the luggage, and give you all detail regarding hotel services. We have taken the actions to improve reception service.

The tape on the wardrobe, was something punctual due to maintenance work and that had to stay on for 24 hours to be efective

Coffee & tea facilities are at a symbolic price of 1,50 € for two coffees & two teas. Minibar prices are below rates appliyed in most of other 4* hotels (one coke 3,50 € VAT included).

Again I would like to thank you for your comments and your time, since they help us to improve.

Best regards from Barcelona

Anna Castan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed in Catedral Barcelona for 2 nights in late August. The hotel has a very modern yet also welcoming feel to it. We arrived an hour or so earlier than the check in time of 2pm but were quickly checked in and were allowed to our room straight away. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is second to none, right in the centre of lots of hustle and bustle, only a 5 minute walk to El Born, 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas and plently of shops, bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. Very close to Jaume 1 and Liceu metro stations also. The room was contemporary, and clean although once we had unpacked it did feel a little cramped but not the smallest we have stayed in. The bed was larger than usual and the pillows were very comfortable and to be honest we didn't want to get up in the morning they were that good! The rooftop pool is a very nice addition - very welcome after a hot day shopping and sightseeing. We didn't use the bar facilities or eat at the hotel so cannot comment. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others because the location is a winner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesjabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after disembarking our cruise ship in Barcelona. It was easy to get to via taxi from the port--about a 10-15 minute drive on a Sunday morning. The hotel was modern looking but comfortable and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We checked in early but the room was not ready until 2pm so the hotel stored our bags while we went on a complimentary walking tour sponsored by the hotel. The walking tour was short, but very nice and pointed out a few things we would not have learned on our own. The hotel also offers free internet access and a complimentary drink in the bar. There is also a pool, however, we did not use it so I can't comment on it. This hotel is in a great location--right near the Cathedral, very near metro stops, and we could walk easily to most sights. We also walked to dinner from the hotel--it was very manageable. There was even a concert in the plaza next to the hotel that night. The only bad part was that we had to get up early to catch our flight and the concert went on until after midnight and could be heard rather loudly in the room, even with the windows closed and shades drawn. This seemed to bother my husband more than me, but wasn't a deal breaker for us. The room itself was rather large for a European hotel room and very comfortable. The bathroom was generously sized with amenities. We requested a taxi the next morning to get to the airport and it arrived promptly. The transport to the airport was approximately $40 euros and took about 20-30 minutes. We would definitely stay here again, it was very pleasant, good location and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keekeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Fantastic place to stay, location was great, staff went overboard to help where they could, they even printed directions if you wanted somewhere to go. They also had 3 pcs with free internet access open 24/7 which was extremely helpful too. We did not eat there so i cannot comment on food. Room very clean and had everything we needed, only thing i could fault was there was no mirror over the dressing table area (where you would be doing your hair) the only other negative was there were not enough sun beds around the pool other than that excellent

One prob we did have which is not the hotels fault was our last night was a very sleepless one as it was their 'festival of fire' which consisted of constant fireworks all night! So if you are going to barcelona and want sleep check when these festivals are

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing