We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #49 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a clean , modern hotel in an excellent location. Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights in July. The room was a good size and well appointed and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, with excellent English.
The location was excellent and within walking distance of most major attractions. The Wednesday night complimentary walking tour was well worth doing and was interesting and informative. Had a great stay.

Room Tip: Further away from the square the quieter it will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased.to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and that you recomend us, and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed one of our two free special walking tours that we held on wednesday's night and on sunday mornings.
We really look foward on welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    710
    79
    13
    13
See reviews for
355
1,041
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week for 3 nights with my husband and i was not disappointed. (Was very surprised by the previous review of terrible and can only assume they have the wrong hotel). Fantastic location a stones throw from the cathedral. Within walking distance of port/beach/ramblas shops, bars and restaurants. Rooms were a good size, modern with air conditioning. Hotel pool was just what you needed after a day site seeing and was an added bonus. We had breakfast included in our package and were not disappointed, although maybe a bit pricey 18 euros if purchasing on a daily rate. Hotel staff were polite and friendly and spoke excellent english and were very accomodating when needed. Will definately be returning had a fantastic stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased.to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and that you recomend us, and that we have done your stay even better than expected.
We really look foward on welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Located within a stones throw of the main city cathedral and within strolling distance of La Rambla and Plaza Real. The modern interior is as smooth as whipped cream and tasty as a chorizo with a rooftop pool for a late afternoon cool down. The rooms are spacious with smart bathrooms but room furniture a little less funcional. Our bedside 'table' was a section of tree, too small and low. That said we had a better room than in the Hostel opposite!
All staff very helpful (reception helped when our airport transfer did not arrive, don't use Resorthoppa.com). Breackfast excellent including hot made to order from kitchen.
Reception has computers with free internet use, not sure about wifi.
There are lower cost places to stay, but when time is limited and you want good service, just go for

Room Tip: First floor room on front street was fine, street bins empted 2am! Lift is like being in a sardine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased.to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and that you recomend us.
We really look foward on welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. We had 2 rooms, and both were very nice. You first step in off the very busy Catedral area into a very lovely peaceful lobby. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The rooms are very tasteful and somewhat minimalist in décor. Nothing flashy, just soft grey, white and tan with exceptionally comfortable beds. Everything was in top notch condition. Despite being in a busy neighborhood, the hotel is quiet. Barcelona is a lively city with a lot to do and see. You can get nearly everywhere on the Metro, and the hotel staff will help you with directions and map to the nearby station and tips on which lines you need to use to get to your destination. The neighborhood is very walkable. The Barcelona Cathedral is just around the corner and there are wonderful restaurants within a few blocks. The Barri Gotic neighborhood is a great place to stay. There is so much more I want to see in Barcelona, and I will definitely stay again at Hotel Barcelona Catedral if I get the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for take your time sharing your experience in our hotel with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to please your stay.
We hope of welcoming you back again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I am very surprised by the "Terrible Hotel" review by Lulu (and even wonder if she has it confused with another hotel- there are others in Barcelona with a similar name)! That is the complete opposite of our recent experience! We stayed here the second week of June and were VERY pleased. All of the front desk employees spoke excellent English and were very helpful. They provided maps, electrical adapters, and printed our boarding passes for us. I found them to be very courteous and professional. I am very picky about hotels, and this was one was immaculate. Very clean and so nicely furnished- very modern and new. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The hardwood floors are lovely, and so much cleaner than carpet! We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. We did initially have trouble figuring out how to use the air conditioner, but a maid on the floor came in and quickly showed us how to use it. When I realized we had not brought the correct adapters, the front desk provided them to us right away. I do agree with another commenter who mentioned lack of storage/counter space for toiletries, but that was a minor detail for me and really was more a factor of the modern minimalist style. The location of this hotel is perfect! Right near the Cathedral and square, and in the heart of the Gothic district. The streets in this area are really lovely. We found numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. It is really a beautiful area- safe, clean, and walkable. As far as getting from the airport to the hotel, it was really very inexpensive and easy. We decided to grab the bus that picks up right outside the airport front door. You just buy your ticket at a machine and hop on. The bus was air conditioned, clean, a very nice way to travel. It was a fairly short ride (25 minutes) with only two or three stops and only cost us 10 euros for both of us. We got off at the end of the line (Plaza Catalunya)and walked a few blocks to the hotel. It was so easy, we skipped the return taxi and just hopped the bus again for our return. I really have no complaints about this hotel at all, and would definitely stay again. Superb customer service; English-speaking courteous front staff; clean, comfortable, quiet, stylish rooms; excellent location. Room & hotel looks just like their website pictures. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We really would like to thank you for you review, and first of and the most important thing for us is that your stay was great, and we are really happy on it.
Due that we are really focus on guest service we are very fond of the "Terrible Hotel review" we think it is a confusion of hotel, because it is not our way and not the athmosphere that we work on. We have marked as blackmail to tripadvisor, in order to find out, and due that that guest has only two comments done on the same day and attacks directly to myself, and we thought that it is a bit suspicius, and what is really important for us is the vacation of our guests.
We would like to repeat that what is important for us is that your stay was good, and THANK YOU for your review!!!
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked a basic room for 6 nights in June 2014. Staff were very polite, spoke excellent English and even the most basic room was a decent size with tasteful furnishings and a massive double bed. The roof terrace is a real bonus - catches the sun all day & rarely seems over-populated. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food - there are some excellent bars & cafes close by - but have heard good things about the restaurant. The best thing about the hotel, however, is its location; just a few paces from the cathedral, it is in the heart of the most interesting and attractive area of Barcelona.

The only down points we experienced were that the bar is expensive - €9 as opposed to €3.50 in the bar over the road; I'd recommend going out for a drink rather than staying in! We were also charged for something we never took from the minibar, but only realised after checking out. It was only a couple of euros, so not worth kicking up a fuss over, but something to look out for.

On the whole, an excellent experience & highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one overlooking the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would like to thank you for your review, and we are very glad that you highly recommend us.
We really look forward on having the opportunity of welcoming you back in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived late at night having requested a room with 3 beds on the first floor. We arrived to a man who spoke little English who said they would put us on the third floor. When we entered our room, it was terrible. The whole floor stank of smoke and there was a dog constantly yapping from someone else's door. We hardly slept that night and our room began to smell of the smoke of someone else smoking. We asked to speak to the manager the next day and he wasn't available. We had to push to finally be allowed to speak to him, and he was so unhelpful and rude. Terrible small breakfast as well, dark and dank hotel. The customer service at this hotel was appalling, we moved out of the hotel after that first night and found a better one right next door. Smoking and a yappy dog, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lulu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We think you have mistaken the hotel.

My name is Alex Vilallonga and I am the manager of the hotel Barcelona Catedral and I have not had the pleasure to meet you.

As you have reviewed your stay was done in January this year in a triple room.
You menthion your check in was done late at night.

We have checked and we have no triple rooms on the third floor check in later than 6 pm, and no British citizens in the room.

We are also very surprised that you only have two review done, and both done on the same day.

Our review was from a stay on January 2014, where you explain that you went to the hotel next door

In the next door hotel review done by you on the same day, you describe that you are travelling a lot to Barcelona, and that you have been more than five times in the city and that you always go to that hotel that you personally know the staff, then I don't undersatand why we do not have any incidence with any stay, and now we receive your review.

Our staff is well trained and speak a good level of english, and we are very focused on guest service.

We are really surprised with this review that for sure is not ours.

Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#59 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing