We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Nearby Hotels
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$240
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,277
803
92
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,277
803
92
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quartercathedral squarerooftop poolgreat locationfree walking tourside streetbarri goticgood sizequiet streetshort walkmodern hotella ramblaexcellent hotelwould definitely stay here againcentral locationtea and coffeeel born
Filter
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Located within a stones throw of the main city cathedral and within strolling distance of La Rambla and Plaza Real. The modern interior is as smooth as whipped cream and tasty as a chorizo with a rooftop pool for a late afternoon cool down. The rooms are spacious with smart bathrooms but room furniture a little less funcional. Our bedside 'table' was a section of tree, too small and low. That said we had a better room than in the Hostel opposite!
All staff very helpful (reception helped when our airport transfer did not arrive, don't use Resorthoppa.com). Breackfast excellent including hot made to order from kitchen.
Reception has computers with free internet use, not sure about wifi.
There are lower cost places to stay, but when time is limited and you want good service, just go for

Room Tip: First floor room on front street was fine, street bins empted 2am! Lift is like being in a sardine tin
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased.to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and that you recomend us.
We really look foward on welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. We had 2 rooms, and both were very nice. You first step in off the very busy Catedral area into a very lovely peaceful lobby. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The rooms are very tasteful and somewhat minimalist in décor. Nothing flashy, just soft grey, white and tan with exceptionally comfortable beds. Everything was in top notch condition. Despite being in a busy neighborhood, the hotel is quiet. Barcelona is a lively city with a lot to do and see. You can get nearly everywhere on the Metro, and the hotel staff will help you with directions and map to the nearby station and tips on which lines you need to use to get to your destination. The neighborhood is very walkable. The Barcelona Cathedral is just around the corner and there are wonderful restaurants within a few blocks. The Barri Gotic neighborhood is a great place to stay. There is so much more I want to see in Barcelona, and I will definitely stay again at Hotel Barcelona Catedral if I get the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for take your time sharing your experience in our hotel with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to please your stay.
We hope of welcoming you back again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I am very surprised by the "Terrible Hotel" review by Lulu (and even wonder if she has it confused with another hotel- there are others in Barcelona with a similar name)! That is the complete opposite of our recent experience! We stayed here the second week of June and were VERY pleased. All of the front desk employees spoke excellent English and were very helpful. They provided maps, electrical adapters, and printed our boarding passes for us. I found them to be very courteous and professional. I am very picky about hotels, and this was one was immaculate. Very clean and so nicely furnished- very modern and new. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The hardwood floors are lovely, and so much cleaner than carpet! We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. We did initially have trouble figuring out how to use the air conditioner, but a maid on the floor came in and quickly showed us how to use it. When I realized we had not brought the correct adapters, the front desk provided them to us right away. I do agree with another commenter who mentioned lack of storage/counter space for toiletries, but that was a minor detail for me and really was more a factor of the modern minimalist style. The location of this hotel is perfect! Right near the Cathedral and square, and in the heart of the Gothic district. The streets in this area are really lovely. We found numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. It is really a beautiful area- safe, clean, and walkable. As far as getting from the airport to the hotel, it was really very inexpensive and easy. We decided to grab the bus that picks up right outside the airport front door. You just buy your ticket at a machine and hop on. The bus was air conditioned, clean, a very nice way to travel. It was a fairly short ride (25 minutes) with only two or three stops and only cost us 10 euros for both of us. We got off at the end of the line (Plaza Catalunya)and walked a few blocks to the hotel. It was so easy, we skipped the return taxi and just hopped the bus again for our return. I really have no complaints about this hotel at all, and would definitely stay again. Superb customer service; English-speaking courteous front staff; clean, comfortable, quiet, stylish rooms; excellent location. Room & hotel looks just like their website pictures. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We really would like to thank you for you review, and first of and the most important thing for us is that your stay was great, and we are really happy on it.
Due that we are really focus on guest service we are very fond of the "Terrible Hotel review" we think it is a confusion of hotel, because it is not our way and not the athmosphere that we work on. We have marked as blackmail to tripadvisor, in order to find out, and due that that guest has only two comments done on the same day and attacks directly to myself, and we thought that it is a bit suspicius, and what is really important for us is the vacation of our guests.
We would like to repeat that what is important for us is that your stay was good, and THANK YOU for your review!!!
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked a basic room for 6 nights in June 2014. Staff were very polite, spoke excellent English and even the most basic room was a decent size with tasteful furnishings and a massive double bed. The roof terrace is a real bonus - catches the sun all day & rarely seems over-populated. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food - there are some excellent bars & cafes close by - but have heard good things about the restaurant. The best thing about the hotel, however, is its location; just a few paces from the cathedral, it is in the heart of the most interesting and attractive area of Barcelona.

The only down points we experienced were that the bar is expensive - €9 as opposed to €3.50 in the bar over the road; I'd recommend going out for a drink rather than staying in! We were also charged for something we never took from the minibar, but only realised after checking out. It was only a couple of euros, so not worth kicking up a fuss over, but something to look out for.

On the whole, an excellent experience & highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one overlooking the internal courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would like to thank you for your review, and we are very glad that you highly recommend us.
We really look forward on having the opportunity of welcoming you back in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived late at night having requested a room with 3 beds on the first floor. We arrived to a man who spoke little English who said they would put us on the third floor. When we entered our room, it was terrible. The whole floor stank of smoke and there was a dog constantly yapping from someone else's door. We hardly slept that night and our room began to smell of the smoke of someone else smoking. We asked to speak to the manager the next day and he wasn't available. We had to push to finally be allowed to speak to him, and he was so unhelpful and rude. Terrible small breakfast as well, dark and dank hotel. The customer service at this hotel was appalling, we moved out of the hotel after that first night and found a better one right next door. Smoking and a yappy dog, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lulu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We think you have mistaken the hotel.

My name is Alex Vilallonga and I am the manager of the hotel Barcelona Catedral and I have not had the pleasure to meet you.

As you have reviewed your stay was done in January this year in a triple room.
You menthion your check in was done late at night.

We have checked and we have no triple rooms on the third floor check in later than 6 pm, and no British citizens in the room.

We are also very surprised that you only have two review done, and both done on the same day.

Our review was from a stay on January 2014, where you explain that you went to the hotel next door

In the next door hotel review done by you on the same day, you describe that you are travelling a lot to Barcelona, and that you have been more than five times in the city and that you always go to that hotel that you personally know the staff, then I don't undersatand why we do not have any incidence with any stay, and now we receive your review.

Our staff is well trained and speak a good level of english, and we are very focused on guest service.

We are really surprised with this review that for sure is not ours.

Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews