We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legless in Barcelona!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #45 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Legless in Barcelona!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

After a busy day's sightseeing we came back to our room for a siesta. As I laid back on the bed I felt the bed move. Then I heard a crack. The leg at the top of the bed capsized causing the bed to drop sharply at one side. It was a definite YBF moment, if only it had been filmed!

I looked under the bed and the leg that had fallen off had some tape attached to it- which didn't inspire me with confidence.

We called down to reception to explain what had happened. They were apologetic and immediately arranged for us to get another room, offering to help us move.

The new room was nice but overlooked the street. Unfortunately for us it was the night for the refuse pick-up from the surrounding streets and the noise of the vehicles kept me awake until about half past one.

The next morning we spoke to reception. We asked for a
quieter room, and they duly obliged. They also gave us a voucher for a free glass of Cava.

We moved again to our third room. That afternoon, again after a day's sightseeing, we came back to our room for a nap. My partner sat on the bed and unbelievably the bed gave way!!

Looking under the bed we noticed that the leg hadn't buckled. It just wasn't there!!

I have to add here that although we do enjoy our food, including the fabulous tapas from the small but excellent bar behind the hotel, we are not hugely overweight.

We phoned reception again. Once more they apologised and sent someone up to see the bed for themselves.

We were given an upgrade to a fabulous corner room on the fifth floor-room 512. Again we were offered help to move, and another voucher for another glass of Cava.

The following morning reception phoned and invited us to have complimentary breakfasts in the hotel. We'd looked at having breakfast in the hotel but thought that it wasn't great value for money. However it was excellent. I had freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, a selection pastries, and a freshly prepared dish of smoked salmon. Cereal and cakes were also included.

As we were eating, the manager- Alex- introduced himself and apologised for our inconvenience. He said he'd get in touch with his housekeeping staff to find out how a leg could go missing from a bed, and to ensure that all the beds had all their legs.

I was impressed with Alex. He also took the time to come and see us just as we were heading off, to further apologise for our inconvenience.

All in all, this is a lovely, clean, and modern hotel in an enviable location seconds walk from the old cathedral and the fantastic shops and bars of the Gothic area.

We would certainly consider staying here again. Bad things did happen, but the actions of Alex and his staff to remedy
them made all the difference to our lasting impression of our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrShirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
It was a really pleasure being able to meet you, and s we spoke during your stay it was a very unusual situation, that happened to you.
We have checked into the second time that was the leg broken and the room maid did not advice of the lack of it. We really present our more sincere apologie for it, as I told you, and we really would like to have the oportunity of welcoming you back in order to be able to show you that our hotel can cover your expectations.
We look forward to meet you again.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    691
    76
    13
    12
See reviews for
348
1,000
43
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with 5 other friends, celebrating the groups 50th birthdays, the hotel was excellent, friendly staff. The rooms were beautiful with very comfortable bed. There was air-con if required, tea and coffee making facilities, it was very clean. Breakfast at 18 euros was delicious and the hot menu was all freshly cooked.
The hotel has a brilliant location, just around the corner to the Cathedral and situated in the heart of the Gothic quarter and within reach of Le Ramblas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyde your stay.
We hope of welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

on arriving in Barcelona for a short break we turned up at the hotel I thought I had booked (and where we had stayed before), only to be told it wasn't there! Turns out it was Barcelona Catedral (rather that Catalonia Catedral). We were a bit apprehensive on turning up at the hotel. However, we were really pleased with the welcome, the staff and the facilities. The hotel is really in a fantasic location, in the Gothic quarter, and within walking distance of most places you would want to visit. One particular benefit of this hotel was the walking tour. We took part in the Wednesday night tour and, although having been in Barcelona on a number of occasions, this was really insightful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toosoondeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know as we read, that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that even you realized that this was not the hotel you thought you had reserved, that we did cover all your expectations.
We look foward of welcoming you in your next break to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a very good location - 5 minute walk to Placa de Catalunya, with its numerous transport links, as well as enjoy the shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were brilliant throughout our stay and a special thank you to manager Alex who met us as we left to ensure everything was okay - very kind gesture. Rooms very spacious and packed full of amenities; we loved the iPod docking system! Breakfast also excellent with loads of choice (both hot and cold) to cater for all nationalities. Lovely to leave our suitcases once checked out for collection later that day for our return flight. Absolutely faultless - would definitely return when next in Barcelona and will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor community.
It was very nice to meet you, I personally like to talk when am able to with our guests in order to know their satisfaction.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you recomend us.
We really look forward of welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned from a lovely short break in Barcelona made all the better by a very comfortable stay in this great hotel. Located right in the heart of the Gothic quarter, almost directly opposite the cathedral, the Hotel Barcelona Catedral is an excellent choice for anyone wanting a mid-price hotel with all the facilities you would expect from a quality hotel with town-centre location.

The staff were very efficient and spoke good English (very helpful as our Spanish vocab is shamefully limited!) We arrived earlier than the 2pm check-in but were able to leave our luggage in a secure room. The hotel provides free walking tours one evening each week but we were all walked out that night so gave this a miss. Maybe next time!

Our room on the 1st floor was a nice size, well designed and decorated and very clean. The bathroom was a good size and nicely fitted out with good lighting, mirrors in the right places etc. Room facilities were good - even including an i-pod doc which was a nice touch. Tea and coffee facilities, tv, hairdryer and free Wi-Fi (with good connection speed) also all included. The bed was extremely large and very comfortable.

The hotel has a nice rooftop area with pool and decking overlooking the rooftops of Barcelona. Sadly the weather was a little too cold for me to consider using the pool but I did use the gym located next to the pool. This was small but equipped with a running machine, cross trainer, bike and some weights - again with a nice view of the rooftops.

Barcelona is a magnificent city with plenty to see and do and having a comfortable hotel to return to is very important to us. The location of Hotel Barcelona Catedral was key to our decision to book as it is so close to many of the major sights so we were able to walk just about everywhere. For anything a bit further away, the metro system is very good and there are two stops (Jaume 1 and Liceu) very close by.

We had a great stay and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizzie-Lizzie-GBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Barcelona Catedral as your hotel to stay in Barcelona.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel in a good location with a good service.
We also are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our walking tour that we offer to our guests, twice a week, one on wednesday afternoon and on sunday morning.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Situated in the Gothi quarter, and not to be confused wtih the Hotel Catalonia Catedral, which I did originally, went to the wrong hotel! Luckily it is just around the corner. Ideally situated for shopping if that is what you require and a five minute walk from Place de Catalunlya, leading on to "the Rambles". Just off the square of the church.
The hotel could not do enough to help us. Even before we arrived, the hotel arranged that we would have an accessible room and a room next to it.
They were just as helpful when we there. They booked tickets for the Barcelona v Celta Vigo game for us, and they were at the reception desk waiting for us the next day. Although you do have to pay cash for these, so be prepared.
Also they booked our tickets for the tour bus, which does an east and west tour, which we did in a day, probably better to do it in two, if you have time.
Nice rooms, clean, the beds are huge, and there was a fridge in our room, so think there is one in every room. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Barcelona

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and that you found our hotel confortable.
We hope you had the opportunity of participating in the free walking tour that we offer to our guests on wednesday and on sunday discovering the legends of the gothic quartier of Barcelona.
We hope on having the oportunity of welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

As title says 8 mins walk from Aerobus drop off. They will look after your suitcase if you have to check out for last day as we did. Easy walk to get bus, restaurants. Very central location ,staff lovely. The room not one bit of dust hair to be seen. Complimentary tea kettle. Yes I recommend highly. Faultless can't think of any bad thing to say at all.

Room Tip: Specify ie double bed and non smoking. Our room overlooked the street and we never found it noisey o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear GUest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay and that you recomend us.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#83 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing