We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #45 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best location and superb hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had the triple room and it was perfect for us. Huge bathroom. Location was the best, right in cathedral square. Wifi worked alk the time. Had no issues at all. Would definately recommend to anyone. Thanks hotel catedral for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benman1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your coments with the rest of the tripavisor users.
We are very glad that you found our hotel superb and that we are very happy to know that wifi was working propertly, due that we were having problems before for external reasons and we did made up a stronger wifi system in order to improve, and we see that is working correctly.
We look forward of having the oportunity of welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    727
    82
    13
    14
See reviews for
368
1,086
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel has what I would consider the best location in the city. Most sites are walking distance, or the train station is right there. My favorite thing was just roaming around and ducking into cool cafes and shops. The hotel itself was a great deal for the price. The rooms were great size and the bathroom showers were really nice. Service was great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jbev_262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the ripadvior users.
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you found our hotel in a perfect location and that our service was up to your expectations.
We hope of welcoming you soon.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We've been in Barcelona the second weekend of march and spent two night at the Cathedral Hotel.
Ideally located into the Gothic district, close to rambla, la boqueria... this hotel is offering nice room well refreshed. The bed is really comfortable and the room does offer the full service expected. The room could offer more quiet atmosphere, but you are in the down town so i would say it's not so bad :). The swimming pool located on the roof of the hotel is nice and could offer relaxing end of day after shopping and city tour - so prefer the spring period (may). The staff is very friendly and professional. So i would strongly recommend this hotel for his location and global nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of write your experience in our hotel, and share it with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
we are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel excellent and that you found the service expected by you.
Thank you for being our guests and we hope of welcoming you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just returned from three nights at this hotel in Barcelona. It has a brilliant location right in the heart of the Gothic quarter and just a short distance from Las Ramblas. There are lots of restaurants, bars and shops close by and it is so convenient for tour and airport bus stops.
The hotel is very pleasant. The rooms are contemporary, comfortable and ours was very quiet. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Staff were helpful and pleasant. We would recommend this hotel as a perfect base for visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team service was up to what your expect.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just spent two nights for a work related trip, and I was fortunate to discover this place and get a good price. This is the sixth trip to Barcelona and the best hoteldeal so far. In a city with a lot of options, it can be hard for find what you want and at a good price. Exceptional location, very friendly service, nice modern rooms with unexpected details like a shoehorn for my new shoes! Pool on top, too cold to use this time, but we had a nice drink up there at least. Nice and chic design.

I forgot my iPhone charger and they responded very quickly by mail and will shipp it to me for free!

Room Tip: Inside rooms around the atrium are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your review.
we are very pleased to know that you had a nice experience.
We look forward on welcoming you again.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel doesn't understand the concept of customer service or customer satisfaction.

We requested a quite room and we were put up right in front of an elevator and next to a busy street with loud noises. Next morning, we went up to the front desk asking for a cancellation, they wouldn't do it. They say we have to pay for the next night as well as per their policy.

I understand the policies and rules at these hotels. Beyond these rules, there is something called 'putting your customers interests at the front'. This hotel doesn't have that.

Btw, we paid 359 euro per night (unfortunately, yes) and we end up with crappy service....and as per their 'policy', we were charged another 359 euro for a room we didn't use.

I have been to many hotels in Europe, US and Asia. I spend about 2 months living in hotels every year. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Location is great. Service is crap. They definitely don't understand the concept of customer service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank rajuvegesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much regret to read your comments, we can understand that you got unhappy to pay the cancellation policy that we have and we are terribly sorry for it.

The price you paid is because your stay was in the highest period of the year with the stronger cancellation policies, and we would like to clarify that you were informed about the rate and the policies while you were doing your reservation.

We also would like to explain that we do put the guest interests in front of the policies, but when we try our best trying to give the solution and solve the problem to the guest, and the guest doesn't understand, and was staying strong in the way that he wanted to leave the hotel, and not to try the solution, then is when we have to apply the policy.

As you know during that week we had a very high occupancy and your request at the beginning to move rooms due that you did not like the room you had. Your request was a high room in twin-bedded and non smoking. We show you a non smoking room double bedded room and your denied the change due that you needed a twin-bedded room.

We also tried to exchange the beds in order to have the twin room but you had already decided to leave but you did not accept the proposal.

We really sorry for the inconveniences and that we did not please your stay.

Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Somewhat delayed this as we stayed in Oct/Nov, but I had to come and write a review as this was one of our best hotel experiences. I'll keep it brief as the existing reviews cover what you need to know well. The room was not the best we've ever stayed in (we didn't upgrade), but it was very good and crucially not overly hot, with some free bottled water and was very quiet.

However, the hotel is made by its fantastic staff who were friendly and helpful from start to finish. We arrived a bit early, but it was easy to leave luggage and head straight out to enjoy the city. Whenever we asked for advice or tips, they were delighted to help and enthusiastic about their home city and recommending the best way to enjoy it. This really made our trip so much enjoyable. The only bit of feedback I'd have for the hotel would be to consider some other breakfast options at a lower price as they would keep a few more guests eating in the hotel. There are plenty of breakfast options nearby however so this is not a big issue if you're considering staying. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The standard room had an internal (i.e. now view) but was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartb3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very happy to know that we did please your expectations and that you ha a pleasant stay.
We really look forward on welcoming you again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
1,930 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 512 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,160 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing