We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, bad air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #49 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small room, bad air conditioning”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The room was small.
The worst part is that there was no air conditioning in the bathroom.
We needed to refresh the air of the bathroom from the room window every day.
Also there was a continuous bad food smell coming to our room when we opened the window.
The room door was not sound proof.When the guys staying next door closed or opened their doors I woke up every time.I do not think of staying there again.

Room Tip: Your room should have a front view.It should not look to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quasimodo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We very much regret to know that we did not give you the expected holiday that you expected and we really would like to present you our more sincere apologyie for it.
We know that now is late but if we had know so during your stay we would have found you a different room in order to solve the problem with the smell of food.
Not as a excuse, but we would like to explain you that I had been after this problem last month because it has been a temporary problem with the extraction of next door restaurant, not from the hotel.
We really apologie and we are terribly sorry about it.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in order to be able to show you that we have a good hotel and our purpose is service to please the guests.
We would like to with you a very charmy Christmas and a great 2014.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    710
    79
    13
    13
See reviews for
355
1,041
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff , good central location .
Only point of concern would be when we returned to hotel after midnight on two occasions we weren't asked or stopped to check if we were residents even though a security man was present.
But overall would and will return for another stay .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank berminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you found our staff friendly.
We note your comment about that you were not asked after midnight to show your card, and we will improve with it.
Looking forward on welcoming you again we remain.
Best regards

Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent location surrounded by restaurants, shops and bars. Large room and bathroom with very nice toiletries and thick soft white towels. Very quiet even though it was full. Breakfast was first class and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if visiting Barcelona

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you will recommend our hotel.
we hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Hotel has a fantastic location only metres from the Barcelona Catedral in the Gothic Quarter in Barcelona. Our room was roomy with a nice bathroom. The outside of the Hotel is original but the inside is modern with a great pool on the roof. The staff are friendly and efficient and breakfast is all that you would want, although a little pricey. Restaurant choices nearby are endless, as is the shopping. The best thing of all in our stay was chancing on being in the square in front of the Catedral on a Saturday about 7pm and seeing the locals form themselves into impromptu circles of dancers performing the traditional La Sardana dance - it is a magical moment that we absolutely loved - one of the highlights of our time in Spain.We would totally recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had the opportunity of staying in our hotel and that you had a nice stay, and that you had the opportunity of being part of our culture, sharing our traditions.
We really hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regars
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel close to the old quarter. Excellent quality facilities coupled with attentive staff made for a great break. Well located within walking distance of most sights. Cathedral a few steps away and seafront only 15 minutes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ashleypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and that you found our hotel in a good location.
We really look forward to welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early October. The hotel was very central, close to the Cathedral and La Rambla. Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were all very helpful. The dining room opened early for us on the day we were going to Montserrat so that we didn't miss our bus. Although restaurant isn't open for dinner there were a lot of cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments witht the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great central location. Lots to see within a short walking distance. Just around the corner from the Cathedral and only a couple of blocks from La Rambla. Close to many dining options. We arrived about 11 am and our room was ready so we checked in early. Cool and quiet room with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. Front desk staff were very nice and helpful and didn't laugh at my Spanish! Beautiful rooftop deck and swimming pool. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed y our stay in our hotel.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#59 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing