We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #50 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had one small issue when arriving (room with A/C not working). The front desk however was VERY responsive and helpful and found us another room quickly. They turned a negative into a positive with good service. The staff was very helpful and welcoming recommending things to do in the area (we were there pre-cruise for a few days). The room was your typical European room, a bit small, but very clean and the amenities in the bathroom were excellent. Very nice rooftop pool. Nice area, very close to Las Ramblas and the cathedral plaza was spacious and relaxing. We did not have the breakfast. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you found our hotel up to the standards your expected.
We are very glad to know that you highly recommend us.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a good hotel marked by its very convenient location for walking round many of the attractions of the city, and by the friendly, efficient staff. Plpus a pool to cool off in, and spa/massage if you want. We'd go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor communtiy.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel convenient, and we are glad to know that if y ou come back to Barcelona you will stay again in the hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you again.
Best regards!! :)
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As with many other reviewers, we originally selected this hotel based on Trip advisor reviews and were very glad we did so. The absolute best location within the Gothic quarter. With the exception of a few attractions, we were able to walk to most of the places on our “must see list.” For the others, the hotel has bicycles you can reserve for the day at no charge. The staff was always smiling and greeted us with a cheerful “hola” every time we entered the hotel. Many have mentioned the room sizes are small; however since we didn't do much more than sleep, shower and change, we found them to be just fine. The only minor complaint at all is that the air conditioners do not cool the room sufficiently during the daytime, granted we were here in the start of the summer, so perhaps this is not a problem most of the year. We would definitely stay at Hotel Catedral again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you had a nice experience in our hotel, that you found our team smiling all the time, and that our location is convenient.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our free bikes and we hope you did our free walking tour for our guests. We will check the air on the room you stayed to arrange it if it is not working propertly.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After years of staying at the great Condes Barcelona Hotel, I decided to take a risk and switch hotels. Big mistake. The first 3 rooms that we were shown had broken windows, air conditining that either did not work at all, or was so loud as to be unbearable. I addition, despite promises, there was absolutly no WiFi in this hotel. We never even unpacked our bags, and switched to the Condes that same afternoon. Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Faustodinapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Sir,
We very much regret to read your opinion that we do not think it is fair.
If you have not stayed in our hotel you may not write opions about it.
Our windows work propertly and when on is not working we fix it, as well our air condioning works correctly.
We really very much regret to read your words.
Yours faithfully,
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My niece and I recently spent five nights at this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews. If you take the aerobus from the airport to Placa Catalunya, (which you should), on exiting the bus, the street to the hotel (Portal de l’Angel) is directly behind the bus stop and will take you to the hotel. Do not walk the entire Placa Catalunya looking for Portal de l’Angel like I did, it is the street directly BEHIND the aerobus stop.

Just turn around and start walking AWAY from behind the bus, cross the street, and the street directly in front of you is Portal de l’Angel . 100 yards down, the street splits into a Y, walk to the left (the side with the Desigual store) and at the end of that street, turn left and the hotel is on the first street to the left with a building with the sign EXACT CHANGE facing you at the top of Capellans 4. If you get lost, ask anyone for the front of the Barcelona cathedral. From the cathedral you could throw a stone and hit the hotel, so do not venture too far from the cathedral square if you get lost. Look for the corner with the EXACT CHANGE sign, next to the Pharmacia and that is the top of Capellans 4 with the hotel down the street next to the Chocolate bar

Hotel has super friendly staff that gave directions to the market, suggestions for day trips, flamenco and restaurants for dinner. I am sorry that I did not get the name of the young men at the front desk because they were always very helpful and spoke good English. I never had breakfast at the hotel, but the market at Las Ramblas (Boqueria) is all you need for breakfast with endless choices and supply a variety of fruits and fruit juices. One visit to Las Ramblas and the Boqueria and you will return each and every day! The hotel is smack in the middle of the City but with a quiet atmosphere, and next to a Chocolate Bar (yum yum) We went on the hotel’s free walking tour on the Wednesday night, and the tour guide was full of fun facts and led us through areas of the old city that we would not ordinarily have ventured.

The Barcelona cathedral hotel is delightful, with pleasant front desk staff, fast Pc’s in the lobby area, and good working wifi in the rooms. If I am ever fortunate to revisit Barcelona, I would definitely stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapodillabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the trip advisor community.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you found it convenient.
We are glad that you did our walking tour and you enjoyed!!1
We will be waiting on welcoming you for your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away near the gothic quarter , very handy location, nice roof top pool, boutique type hotel. Rooms fairly basic but lean and have free wifi. Location is brilliant for strolling around the city centre, taxi drivers sometimes struggle to find it so make sure you hAve the address handy . Stayed 2 nights but didn't try the food, thought it was cheaper to eat breakfast in the bars that litter the area

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanRobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users sharing the opinion of your recent stay.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We lookd forward on welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms air works with a card inserted. Took me a hour to figure out the shower and I travel a ton and this confused me for some reason their is a roll away bed also in my room ? And the bathroom widow was wide open when I got their also the bar in the lobby closes early but because of the location their are plenty of bars close by also a lot of people speak English

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crashzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing yuor coments.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are very sorry for the difficulty that you had with the way of working with the shower and with the ac.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you in your future stays in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,351 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
2,002 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#72 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,545 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $133 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing